We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our 1st Shearings Coach Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Broadway Park Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
nottingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our 1st Shearings Coach Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We visited the hotel on a 3 night Shearings break 3 weeks ago. We had a brilliant time from start to finish. Firstly we must mention the coach driver Kevin. He works for Johnsons Bros at Worksop, so they must be contracted by Shearings. Kevin was marvellous, very informative on the various places we visited, all in all a great driver, despite having to deal with some very awkward passengers. Many thanks Kevin.
The hotel is a beautiful Victorian building. We didn't pay an additional supplement for a better grade bedroom, ok it did need refurbishing, new carpet etc. but it was extremely clean.
All the staff were most pleasant & very helpful. Their customer service skills were excellent, nothing was too much trouble.
The entertainment on the Saturday evening was great, a comedian, singer & fabulous alround entertainer.
The meals were very good quality, with plenty of choice. Lovely fresh vegetables!
We would definitely return here. It was our 1st ever visit to the Isle of Wight & it won't be our last.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank youngatheart096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your excellent review of your recent stay with us, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of you holiday with us and we all look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    317
    121
    25
    19
See reviews for
78
406
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Visted this Hotel on a Shearings Break. It was a bit tired all round, the lift did not work the whole time of our visit.Found our room Ok, though the bed was small and hard, the shower you struggled to get wet and the temerature was inconsistant. The small TV old and picture quality poor.
The food was nothing to write home about, though the service was good Our waitress was helpful and pleasent.
A small point ,but the grounds are not a big as they look in the pictures.
The entertainment in the evening was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn8121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We are gradually updating some of our bedrooms in our on going refurbishment programme which will address some of the issues that you raised. If you make a return visit to us in the future you may see some of the improvements which have been made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Just returned from Shearings break at Broadway Park. On first inspection we were pleased with location and setting,however on closer inspection it became apparent how dirty and grubby rooms and corridors were,the lift was out of service throughout our stay,much to the annoyance of guests.On the plus side nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the food acceptable,also the entertainment. I believe the hotel is about to be re-decorated,but surely this should have been done before the start of the season. Come on holiday companies,we may be senior citizens,but we do have standards!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. Unfortunately the lift in that part of the hotel is out of order and we are awaiting for parts to be installed to rectify the problem. We are gradually upgrading some of the bedrooms and the dining room this year with our refurbishment programme. I hope that you may in the future make a return visit to us so that you will see the improvements that have been made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from a four day coach trip to the Bay Broadway Park Hotel. I had a single room, which unfortunately the extractor fan from the kitchen was just outside my window, consequently my room smelt of stale food all the time nauseating! My friends room had the constant loud hum from the hotels freezer making it very difficult to sleep.both rooms had very stained carpets and pealing wallpaper. We did complain but no help was forthcoming.the waiting and cleaning staff were very hardworking and very pleasant. Food reasonable. The accommodation just ruined the stay neither room should have been in service. My first and last visit.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your review of you recent stay with us. The two single rooms that you were allocated were above the kitchen and unfortunately we were unable to offer you any alternative rooms as we were fully booked during your stay. I shall investigate the other issues that you raised and deal with them accordingly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

a last minute booking for this hotel on the isle of wight.self drive from south wales to lymington to the ferry across to yarmouth iow. a deliberate travel plan to take in the country and town sights down into hampshire and the drive of about 20 miles from yarmouth to sandown. relaxed trip on the ferry on to the hotel in sandown. arrived at this victorian house via a short driveway,to arrive at hotel entrance,a beautiful rose garden type relaxing area just opposite entrance,very pleasant with some small tables,chairs and parasols all looking good in the warm sun.excellent welcome from receptionist guided to our room on first floor which is down in the lift from hotel entrance. our room opposite lift,but not once did we hear the lift moving up or down.lovely room looking out via patio doors onto a grassed walk around hotel. meals in restaraunt well served and varied menu and choice. very quiet effect in hotel even though it was not in fact quiet ,quite busy for our stay.overall,quality room,quality food,quality staff,all in all a very well enjoyed couple of days that were very well enjoyed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for your review I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel is located in its own peaceful grounds just right for a relaxing weekend break. Look forward to seeing again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Cyprus
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

This Holiday was taken between the 21st of April and 25th and I was given Room 111 but found the bed to be uncomfortable as I was getting no support from it so after one night I tried turning the mattress and dicovered it to be covered in urine stains as well as other dirt together with black marks all over it, The only thing holding it together was a strong mattress cover, I complained to the hotel but they were unwilling change it during my stay. This mattress should have been thrown away months ago and must have been a health hazard and it is what i might expect from a "down-and-outs hostel and not from a hotel which was charging nearly £60 a night. Clearly a break down in management by the housekeeper because even the washable cover was not clean.Chipboard was used on top of the base to support I do not know what?
The food was indifferent being of a poor standard, Lasagne and burnt vegetables being the Chefs "Dish of the Day". Blackened parsnips should have never left the kitchen maybe this was down to the Italian waiter who was standing in for the usual waitress who was tremendous and had a good work ethic but the other person seemed in the wrong job and grunted as a means of communication and failed to bring the right first course in the evening and my cofee in the morning as well as arguing with other guests.
The Inpolite politeness of the head receptionist spoilt the whole holiday and seemed to take a dislike to me wnen all guests should be treated the same and this person would be better suited to a benefits agency office.
There is clearly something wrong with the management here who should be replaced ie Manager,Housekeepert and Chief Receptioinist. I would advise all guests staying at this hotel check their mattresses first before accepting the room. I was hold that there were improvements taking place but it was taking time which is no excuse as we the customers are paying. The room at the front of the old building was noisey with a constant hum coming from machinery below
Unfortunately Shearings Holidays used to be good value but there is clearly cost cutting here and it is not for the better.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new part are supposed to be better. Check the Mattress first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank nicktrnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay. I would like to comment on the issues that you raised. I dealt with your first enquiry over the phone when you called a week before your stay and discussed with you that you may need some assistance during your stay. I also handled any enquiries that you had during your stay. I would like to assure you that the mattress would have been checked on Monday before your stay, during your stay and on the Friday after your stay. I would like to say that the housekeeper herself cleaned your room everyday and changed all the bedding and washed your own personal belongings for you. You did pay £60 per night, for which this included your car ferry crossing, dinner, room, breakfast, sole occupancy of a double room and entertainment every night. We pride ourselves on the customer service that we provide for all of our guests, many of which return visit after visit and it is very disappointing to read that you consider that we all need replacing along with the mattresses !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We chose a 2/3 twin room. £10 pp extra for the 5 days and had a great room (341) very quiet and not overlooked. Our waitress , Natalie was a lovely girl and very helpful, Thank you Natalie..
The entertainment was good and varied and the trips organised by Shearings a great way to see the Island. We made a trip on our own to Osborne House by the local buses, this was easy to do and it made our visit to the IOW memorable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suehemingway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your review I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that Natalia in the dining room looked after you so well. We all look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#5 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Broadway Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Broadway Park Hotel

Property: Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sandown
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Broadway Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Broadway park is a former Victorian mansion house, once home to a wealthy entrepreneur. Today this handsome hotel retains many of its original features and is set within four acres of picturesque grounds. The gardens are home to a variety of wildlife including rare Isle of Wight Red Squirrels, foxes and badgers. This is the perfect setting to get away and relax and you are always assured of a warm welcome. The hotel has three comfortable lounges and a recently refurbished ballroom in which to enjoy the regular evening entertainment. The leisure facilities include an outdoor swimming pool (open from May to September) and a snooker room and there is also parking within the grounds. Whilst here you are sure to enjoy the tranquillity of the setting but it is just a 15 minute walk to the town centre and seafront where there is plenty to see and do.Please note all prices quoted for Bay Broadway Park Hotel include free ferry to and from the Isle of Wight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Broadway Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Broadway Park Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing