We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“National 5 day break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Just got back from a 5 day break on the isle of wight staying at this hotel. We had a great time here, the hotel facilities are excellent, the staff were very friendly and efficient, our waiter could not do enough for us. Our room was dated, which we are used to on national holidays, but as usual was very clean with plenty of hot water etc. There was only a bath in our room with a rubber mixer tap to attach, unfortunately as soon as you turned the taps on it fell off.... They are in the process of upgrading the rooms on our floor so hopefully this will be addressed, with a proper shower. The food was good quality so no complaints there. I thought the beer was a bit overpriced, but the nightly entertainment was ok. We had good weather so the swimming pool looked very tempting!!. We would certainly be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melvyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your holiday, we are gradually upgrading some of our bedrooms and with this we are installing more showers ! The weather has been excellent the last week for a dip in the pool. Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (787)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 787 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

Just got back from this hotel with a shearings weekend break. Room was very clean but very tired.The dinner menus were not very good although the food was well cooked.Sauce on every thing. Waitress was good(Marta)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anpet63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

I was pleased to read you enjoyed you weekend break with us and thank you for posting a review, I shall pass on your comments to Marta and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Just returned from a National holiday 4 day break to the Broadway Park Hotel ,Sandown Isle of Wight.The hotel was brilliant, in its own beautiful grounds, with well kept gardens, a lovely swimming pool, and a very pleasant ballroom. The service was outstanding,especially in the restaurant,Marcin (Likes to be called Martin) our waiter was wonderful. All our meals on time, (no waiting) served piping hot,and a very good menu for everyone.Our room overlooked the swimming pool, and was neat,clean and easy to get to (2nd floor), If on a down side, the lifts were too small, but stairs were easy to manage.I asked for the loan of an ironing board, and this was delivered to our room by the time we came back from our outings,service was exceptional.Our careful driver Richard was very informative, and we thoroughly enjoyed out outings.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank motorbike_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for your review of you recent break with us, I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and we hope that you will make a return visit to us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We visited the hotel on a 3 night Shearings break 3 weeks ago. We had a brilliant time from start to finish. Firstly we must mention the coach driver Kevin. He works for Johnsons Bros at Worksop, so they must be contracted by Shearings. Kevin was marvellous, very informative on the various places we visited, all in all a great driver, despite having to deal with some very awkward passengers. Many thanks Kevin.
The hotel is a beautiful Victorian building. We didn't pay an additional supplement for a better grade bedroom, ok it did need refurbishing, new carpet etc. but it was extremely clean.
All the staff were most pleasant & very helpful. Their customer service skills were excellent, nothing was too much trouble.
The entertainment on the Saturday evening was great, a comedian, singer & fabulous alround entertainer.
The meals were very good quality, with plenty of choice. Lovely fresh vegetables!
We would definitely return here. It was our 1st ever visit to the Isle of Wight & it won't be our last.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank youngatheart096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for your excellent review of your recent stay with us, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of you holiday with us and we all look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Visted this Hotel on a Shearings Break. It was a bit tired all round, the lift did not work the whole time of our visit.Found our room Ok, though the bed was small and hard, the shower you struggled to get wet and the temerature was inconsistant. The small TV old and picture quality poor.
The food was nothing to write home about, though the service was good Our waitress was helpful and pleasent.
A small point ,but the grounds are not a big as they look in the pictures.
The entertainment in the evening was good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carolyn8121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We are gradually updating some of our bedrooms in our on going refurbishment programme which will address some of the issues that you raised. If you make a return visit to us in the future you may see some of the improvements which have been made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Just returned from Shearings break at Broadway Park. On first inspection we were pleased with location and setting,however on closer inspection it became apparent how dirty and grubby rooms and corridors were,the lift was out of service throughout our stay,much to the annoyance of guests.On the plus side nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the food acceptable,also the entertainment. I believe the hotel is about to be re-decorated,but surely this should have been done before the start of the season. Come on holiday companies,we may be senior citizens,but we do have standards!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank magflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. Unfortunately the lift in that part of the hotel is out of order and we are awaiting for parts to be installed to rectify the problem. We are gradually upgrading some of the bedrooms and the dining room this year with our refurbishment programme. I hope that you may in the future make a return visit to us so that you will see the improvements that have been made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I have just returned from a four day coach trip to the Bay Broadway Park Hotel. I had a single room, which unfortunately the extractor fan from the kitchen was just outside my window, consequently my room smelt of stale food all the time nauseating! My friends room had the constant loud hum from the hotels freezer making it very difficult to sleep.both rooms had very stained carpets and pealing wallpaper. We did complain but no help was forthcoming.the waiting and cleaning staff were very hardworking and very pleasant. Food reasonable. The accommodation just ruined the stay neither room should have been in service. My first and last visit.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for your review of you recent stay with us. The two single rooms that you were allocated were above the kitchen and unfortunately we were unable to offer you any alternative rooms as we were fully booked during your stay. I shall investigate the other issues that you raised and deal with them accordingly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
4.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
915 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
746 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#11 of 29 in Sandown
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Broadway Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Broadway Park Hotel

Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sandown
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: £61 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Broadway Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Broadway park is a former Victorian mansion house, once home to a wealthy entrepreneur. Today this handsome hotel retains many of its original features and is set within four acres of picturesque grounds. The gardens are home to a variety of wildlife including rare Isle of Wight Red Squirrels, foxes and badgers. This is the perfect setting to get away and relax and you are always assured of a warm welcome. The hotel has three comfortable lounges and a recently refurbished ballroom in which to enjoy the regular evening entertainment. The leisure facilities include an outdoor swimming pool (open from May to September) and a snooker room and there is also parking within the grounds. Whilst here you are sure to enjoy the tranquillity of the setting but it is just a 15 minute walk to the town centre and seafront where there is plenty to see and do.Please note all prices quoted for Bay Broadway Park Hotel include free ferry to and from the Isle of Wight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Broadway Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Broadway Park Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing