We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd stay, loved it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This was our 2nd stay and we loved it. The Broadway Park is typical of the many Shearings hotels we have stayed in meaning that it is in the process of modernisation but still retaining its traditional appeal. The rooms are in the process of being upgraded and we had a query about our room which was quickly resolved by Louise on reception "before" our arrival so that everything ran very smoothly when checking in and throughout our stay, thank you Louise.
The food as always was excellent being well cooked and with variety and Colin our waiter for the week was excellent even when under pressure and nothing was too much trouble for him.
We went on the same trips this year as we did last year and thoroughly enjoyed them. Our driver Paul is exceptional and what he doesn't know about the IOW isn't worth knowing. (Only one little problem with Paul...........he supports Tottenham Hotspur Football Club ??)
All in all we had a great time and will definitely return to the Broadway Park for a third time.

Room Tip: Speak to hotel if have a requirement or query
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank BaznChaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you for your excellent review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and everyone looked after you so well and that you noticed some of the improvements that we are making. We all look forward to your third visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (814)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 814 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

must be good. We have seen it improve over the years and we find it comfortable, welcoming and the food is good considering it is always packed when we go. The staff in the restaurant and behind the bar are exceptional and work very hard. Rooms are clean and comfortable and we just keep going back. Yes, the entertainment is a bit hit and miss but this is all part of the entertainment!! and there is nothing wrong with bingo especially if you win. We make our own way there and travel around on our own and still enjoy it. The only thing hubby does not like is paying to park but you can't have everything can you lol. Were going back in five weeks.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoyandSuetravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for taking your time to post a review on your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and that you have noticed the improvements that we are making gradually. We all look forward to seeing you again shortly. Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Fantastic Holiday

We have just returned from the most fantastic holiday. The Hotel was superb, 1st Class. The food was amazing, especially the delicious deserts and the braised steak was mouth-watering. Special mention to Maggie our waitress, she was so efficient and very friendly as were all steff. The Shearings drivers were brilliant throughout and so informative especially Paul. The rooms were very comfortable and so clean. I would recommend this hotel to anybody. We will definitely be returning. A truly wonderful holiday. Thank You Shearings.

Dave and Linda St Helens

Room Tip: we were in room 350 which was refurbished on ground floor which suited us .It was near reception wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank linda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for your excellent review of your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read you had an enjoyable holiday and that all the staff looked after you so well, I shall pass on your comments to Maggie in the dining room and Paul the coach driver. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel some years ago and, although the staff and food were very good, the room we had was in the old building and, although clean, needed updating.
This year (July 2014) we had a few days off and looked for something reasonably priced for a quick break.
We paid a reasonable amount extra and had an upgraded room and were delighted.
Everything was very clean and modern. The surroundings are very quiet and pleasant.

Room Tip: Pay the extra £20 per 4 nights - pleasant outlook. (room 142).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank alan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your review, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and was pleased with the improvements we have made. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Firstly the hotel is situated in lovely grounds and from outside the building it looks promising, after entering that's when things go rapidly downhill. Although the staff on reception are very good it doesn't make the holiday. What makes a good holiday is your room, the food and the surrounding area. The island is very pleasant and there are some lovely sights to be had but your hotel is your base and home for the time spent there. Sadly the hotel failed with cleanliness, carpets, dining room and to a degree the food. It certainly wasn't like home. The room which we were given first was in a block that resembled a council residential home. We had to use one lift to the first floor then change lifts to get to the second floor! Although the room was spacious which we paid an extra £17.50 my view of the smallest television possible was blocked by a wall which totally obscured any viewing. In the bathroom was a 70's well used and stained olive green suite with a shower that you had to fix onto the taps!! Drawers were dropping to bits and the carpet was marked. We was given another room after complaining and this room was better as it had an over the bath shower and a white suite which had had its day but it was functional. Around the windows was black staining with a resident spider that stayed with us for the week. Carpets throughout the hotel were badly worn and badly stained. Worst of these was the dining room. I can honestly say I have never stayed in a hotel with carpets so bad, they should have been replaced years ago. It is now time that shearings look in detail at their hotels and update, decorate and replace worn out items.

Room Tip: Don't bother unless you are willing to pay a high supplement for their top of the range rooms. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for posting your review of your recent stay with us. I was sorry that you were disappointed with the first room that you were allocated, I will look into the issues that you raised, fortunately we were able to offer you an alternative room with a shower over the bath. The dining room is being refurbished this year, we hope that you may make a return visit to us in the future so that you can see the improvements that have been made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed at the Broadway Park last week on a 5 day National Holidays break. We were pleasantly surprised at the hotel and gardens, they were beautiful outside. Inside the hotel is all wood panneled and old and in keeping with the manor house that it was in bygone days. We had room 215 on the second floor (2lifts to get there if you have arthritic knees as I have) which overlooked the gardens and annexe. I believe it is one of the refurbished rooms, the bed was extremely comfortable and we both had 4 good nights sleep.the shower was extremely powerful and the water always very hot. The staff were friendly and helpful and our waitress, who was called Agnes, always had a smile. The food was good and 4 different choices were available at dinner every night. I cannot comment about the entertainment as we did not go in to watch it. I was disappointed not to see any red squirrels but that is not the fault of the hotel

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor in the refurbished part of you can, it's quiet and has a shower a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Lynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for posting an excellent review of your stay with us, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your break and that Agnes looked after you so well in the dining room. We all look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We took a self-drive option and everything went exactly to plan. Ferries were allocated and when we arrived there was no difficulty parking at the hotel. Room was adequate and clean, Dining was good - tasty food and a wide selection for both breakfast and dinner - and staff were all very friendly. The garden was well looked after and plenty of room to relax. Outside swimming pool was very clean. Entertainment every night including the brilliant Joe Scott on Wednesdays. It is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel to the seashore - a little more coming back as there is an incline. There is a park adjacent to the hotel leading to the railway station. As in my title, we found the setting excellent and the hotel relaxing and quiet and all at a very reasonable price!

Room Tip: There is a modern block
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JETodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for your excellent review I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a relaxing and peaceful holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#21 of 29 in Sandown
4 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#4 of 29 in Sandown
749 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
455 reviews
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
5.4 mi away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Broadway Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Broadway Park Hotel

Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: £48 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Broadway Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Broadway park is a former Victorian mansion house, once home to a wealthy entrepreneur. Today this handsome hotel retains many of its original features and is set within four acres of picturesque grounds. The gardens are home to a variety of wildlife including rare Isle of Wight Red Squirrels, foxes and badgers. This is the perfect setting to get away and relax and you are always assured of a warm welcome. The hotel has three comfortable lounges and a recently refurbished ballroom in which to enjoy the regular evening entertainment. The leisure facilities include an outdoor swimming pool (open from May to September) and a snooker room and there is also parking within the grounds. Whilst here you are sure to enjoy the tranquillity of the setting but it is just a 15 minute walk to the town centre and seafront where there is plenty to see and do.Please note all prices quoted for Bay Broadway Park Hotel include free ferry to and from the Isle of Wight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Bay Broadway Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Broadway Park Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing