We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for us this time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not for us this time”
Reviewed 14 August 2010

We travelled with shearings to the Broadway Park Hotel and arrived at the Ferry half an hour late for the crossing due to traffic hold ups. Not the drivers fault, but we were kept on the ferry carpark for one and a half hours till they would give us a slot to travel across, this then made us arrive for our tea at 8.0'clock at night not leaving us much time to enjoy our first night.Our room was allocated to us after our meal and we got one without a shower just a bath,which in 2010 is not good as i would not bath everyday but i would shower, so off to reception to ask for another room.Another was given to us at the far end of the building with twin beds which we did'nt mind. The beds were full of springs which did protrude in your back most of the time but you get used to it, also the bath room was short of a decor with the bath seal off in places and the toilet cistern boxed off with the joints coming apart. The food was excelent and the waiters and waitresses were very nice and helpful.Entertainment on Monday was a duo who played for the dancers which is what we loved, the rest was to us a waste of time as it was bingo and quizies which was in my opinion boring so we went out most of the time.The pianist who was on the last night was of course one who left the room about 10.0'clock was away for nearly 25mins so we went to bed....

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caravansimmii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    325
    129
    26
    21
See reviews for
83
428
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

I travelled with Shearings and my 15 year old granddaughter for a 5 night stay. My second time at this hotel and nothing was bad. My finicky 15 year old grand daughter ate at every meal (more than she does at home). We were made welcome by all the staff and one evening at 10pm our t.v. packed up. My grand daughter went to reception thinking the batteries had gone in the remote control, within minutes the manager was at our door checked everything, replaced the t.v. and remote with good grace although we had said it could wait until the next day. Brian in the entertainment room was his old self, polite and easy going. Trips out were good, driver was good and we both enjoyed the stay so much that my grand daughter did not want to go home (from a 15 year old that says it all). Holidays at the Broadway Park are relaxing and all guests I spoke to had enjoyed themselves and not one had a complaint. Well done Broadway Park!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyn12314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2010

This hotel is a very nice hotel and there is plenty of room in the hotel and the lounges are in good condition after being refurbished and the ballroom is fearly new but brilliant. Fantastic staff and outstanding service in the dining room a variety of food and cater for every enquiry. Good out door swimming pool and really good games room and its only 3 minutes away from the town of sandown. I have already booked my 8th holiday this new years eve having going there last new year brilliant night and that is why i am going again. having been to this hotel for the 7th time it shows that the hotel carnt be beaten.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azzawba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
138 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Stayed at the Broadway Park on an 8 day Shearings Holiday. We have been on several Shearings tours and so the long journey via London Gateway was expected. We had a very good coach driver - Gary - who lives on the island and so was very knowledgeable. He was also very helpful, making sure everyone knew what was going on at all times.

The hotel is well situated, in its own grounds, and is only a short walk into Sandown - buses are also handy which can be useful for visiting other areas of the Island or simply for coming back to the hotel to save the uphill walk (get off at The Heights which is the bus stop past the hotel, so that the walk back to the hotel is then downhill and only a couple of minutes).

The hotel is typical Shearings - slightly tired, food OK (normal menu which sounds better than the food actually is but the service was good and the food hot). The dining-room is huge. We sat by the windows but the other end struck us as very gloomy and dark. There is a swimming pool (unheated and outdoors) which is nice to sit by in the sun.

The room - in one of the wings attached to the main house - was adequate. The beds had that peculiar nylon blanket over a sheet and under a bed cover that we have only come across in Shearings Hotels but the linen was clean although the towels were wearing a little thin and the bathroom had definitely seen better days with both the toilet bowl and the floor covering being stained.

As Shearings have changed their entertainment policy and now only offer 'relaxed' entertainment in their 'updated' Coast & County Hotels, we chose this Bay hotel as we had thoroughly enjoyed the dancing, bingo and quizzes which normally take place before the visiting cabaret at other Shearings Bay Hotels. We were disappointed. The Host was patently bored and stretched out bingo and a quiz until 10 o'clock on at least 4 nights and, far from encouraging people to enjoy themselves, simply put on a backing tape (the same tape 3 nights running in fact) whilst we waited for him to start selling bingo tickets. The visiting cabaret acts consisted of 2 x singers/comics = both good, a singing/musical duo = good, a local dance school troupe = OK but limited and an organist/singer = not good at all. The other nights it was bored Brian and his stretched-out bingo and quiz (he even started the same quiz twice having forgotten he had done it only two nights previously!). It seemed a waste of an entertainment room with a dance floor. After 10.00 the Host continued to put on music but again didn't encourage anyone to get up and jive or 'bop'. However, there was another lounge and bar so people could sit there if they wanted peace and quiet.
I know not everyone wants to ballroom/sequence/line-dance but, in the hotels where this is on offer BEFORE the bingo, especially where the Host is encouraging, it can add to the enjoyment of the holiday, especially as the average Shearings customer is retirement age and over and will usually go to bed after the cabaret when the livelier music for the 'younger' ones comes on.
Maybe Shearings is changing its policy re entertainment in all its hotels or maybe it is just bad luck that Host Brian is simply seeing out his time at the Broadway Park Hotel.
Anyway, much as I love the Isle of Wight, we won't be going back to the Broadway Park which is a shame.
I did notice that there were a couple of families (staying self-drive) at the hotel. I would not advise youngsters to stay at this hotel as there are no facilities for them and they must have been bored stiff.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seasidedancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

A quiet location with v well maintained gardens. Pleasant staff & v good restaurant service - although the breakfasts were somewhat limited.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cburni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

lovely hotel friendly staff' food was excellent and very efficient service,hotel is situated in a hilly position which was a bit of a problem also be warned shearings coach travel is a nightmare we left swindon at 7.15 in the morning an arrived at the hotel nearly 9 hours later which i'm afraid got our 4 day holiday off to a bad start this was not explained to us when we made the booking as a consequence we will never travel with shearings again

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coupleswindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2010

Very good food and excellent waiter service. Hotel clean. Entertainment lounge as well as other comfortable lounges for guests who require a quiet talk/read. Paid extra for larger bedroom and enjoyed extra space. Very friendly and helpful staff. Hotel in lovely, spacious grounds where one can relax (weather permitting). Would go again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,222 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
808 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
410 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 52 in Shanklin
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Broadway Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Broadway Park Hotel

Property: Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sandown
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Broadway Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Broadway park is a former Victorian mansion house, once home to a wealthy entrepreneur. Today this handsome hotel retains many of its original features and is set within four acres of picturesque grounds. The gardens are home to a variety of wildlife including rare Isle of Wight Red Squirrels, foxes and badgers. This is the perfect setting to get away and relax and you are always assured of a warm welcome. The hotel has three comfortable lounges and a recently refurbished ballroom in which to enjoy the regular evening entertainment. The leisure facilities include an outdoor swimming pool (open from May to September) and a snooker room and there is also parking within the grounds. Whilst here you are sure to enjoy the tranquillity of the setting but it is just a 15 minute walk to the town centre and seafront where there is plenty to see and do.Please note all prices quoted for Bay Broadway Park Hotel include free ferry to and from the Isle of Wight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bay Broadway Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Broadway Park Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing