We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but definately not wheelchair friendly”
Review of Bayshore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bayshore Hotel
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel but definately not wheelchair friendly”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I stayed here for a week in July and at first it looked a good hotel. My wife uses a wheelchair some of the time and there are steps everywhere. Steps into the hotel. Steps to our room. Steps to the bar. Steps to the dining room. Not for those with walking difficulties. Our room at the back of the hotel was extremely hot as was the corridors. No fans available. The lift was from the 1920's. To get to the shops just a few yards away is a very steep incline. Having said that, the hotel was right on the beach. It was clean and tidy and the staff, especially in the dining room, were excellent. Our Alfa driver John was superb. Certainly needs some work to bring it up to the standard many older people expect.

Room Tip: If traveling in the summer, definately get a sea view. At least you will get whatever breeze is avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LeslieHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    71
    31
    9
    4
See reviews for
31
67
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I stayed with Alfa on my own and I must say that the hotel was all in all good but not great. The rooms got cleaned every day new towels every day. Jana the bar supervisor was always lively and good however the bar was dreadful shall we say unless you want to pay alot for a bottle or want to have the worst larger going carlsberg or if you like cider theb gaymers cider then your fine. It is aaround £3.30 for tetley bitter and gaymers and around £3.70 for any bottles. I suggest going across the road to the bar in the pier scruffy jacks much cheaper and great selection on alcohol and soft drinks. Food is average service is good all the staff are great. The resort of sandown is perfect if the weather is nice if the weather isn't your day is a right off. We went to isle of Wight zoo and was extremely poor waste of money. We enjoyed all the trips apart from Osborne house it was quite stuffy and uncomfortable and boring. The vineyard was brilliant and also cows and Ryde also needles was very scenic. All in all great holiday vut please sort the bar prices and selection out its very poor if you like a drink dont go to to the bayshore but if you like what they serve and have alot of money I highly recommend it. But must say apart from the bar brilliant hotel and brilliant holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank isitme602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed on the 3rd floor with a sea view. Lets just say this is a very basic hotel in need of some TLC.. Beds are not comfortable, and the shower was in need of a good clean - hair in plug hole. A lift that can not carry more than 3 people ! . To be fair the staff do their best and are friendly, which saves this review from being lower

Room Tip: Sea view catches the breeze at night if its hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed at the Bayshore on an Alfa holiday from 21 July to 27 July.From feeder coach collection to drop off on return the holiday was first-class.This was by far the best Leisureplex hotel we have stayed in ,we have done nine!!The hotel was spotless,food was beautifully cooked and the menu was great with an excellent range of chefs' specials.The entertainment was great, and was better than the usual mediocre mix! Jana was a very entertaining bingo caller!! The only slight blemish was that a hotel with 80 bedrooms only had ONE lift taking THREE people! Having said that,we rarely had to wait long.
Thanks to all concerned for a great holiday.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bernie-skegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempten, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Spent first week of June at the Bayshore with my 87 year-old Mum. Although we asked for an easy access room, we were given a room where we had to master stairs and there was nothing to hold onto in the shower. After complaining we got a room opposite the lift with a seaview, at an extra charge, which was fine. The restaurant staff were very helpful and the menu was varied and had something to suit everyone's taste. Hotel right on sea front, but village high street up steep hill which could cause problems for some elederly. Travelled with Alfa coaches and organisation and local excursions were good.
- The Bayshore is an old hotel. My main complaint is that most people visiting the hotel are elderly and there is only one lift for 3 people which is totally inadequate

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelmadsenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Stayed at The Bayshore 6th to 13th July 2013 with Alfa Travel and had a brilliant holiday from start to finish. This is the 5th year staying at this hotel and will definitely be booking for next year. Our driver Colin (Jim Hughes Coaches) was fantastic and nothing was too much trouble he is a credit to his company The Bayshore is situated right on the seafront facing the pier and would certainly recommend paying the extra for a sea view room. The Hotel and room was lovely and clean, and food was excellent with plenty of choice (thank you to Luke our waiter for his prompt and friendly service ). Another great holiday at this Hotel and looking forward to revisiting next year.
Marilyn and Marion Loughborough

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LANCASHIRE
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed at this hotel from the 17 July 2013 for 4 nights on an Alfa coach holiday.Hotel is in an excellent location on the beachfront opposite the pier.Room spacious with comfortable bed with a shower room,complete with tea/coffee facilities.Food excellent with good choices daily.Nice evening entertainment and the young lady who did the bingo was a star.Staff all very friendly.It also has a very nice sea view lounge to relax in at the front.A great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank I.W.S.4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
1.7 mi away
Shanklin Hotel
Shanklin Hotel
#22 of 52 in Shanklin
380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
417 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
754 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel
Marina Bay Hotel
#13 of 29 in Sandown
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayshore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayshore Hotel

Property: Bayshore Hotel
Address: 12-16 Pier Street, Sandown PO36 8JX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayshore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayshore Hotel - Sandown [3 Alpha Symbol & AA 3 Star). Situated in a magnificent position on the seafront, opposite the beach and pier and close to the shopping centre. All 80 bedrooms are centrally heated with TV, hair dryer, tea/coffee making facilities and private bath or shower and WC. The hotel has a light and spacious cocktail bar and lounge area with a large dance floor where entertainment is provided most evenings. There is a sun lounge and attractive restaurant overlooking the sea and a games room and TV lounge. Lift serves all floors (a few stairs on split level floor) A Leisureplex Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bayshore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayshore Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing