We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went Back Twice!!!!”

The Garlic Farm Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$22
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Garlic Farm is all about garlic...We've been growing garlic on the Isle of Wight for over 30 years now and are the UK's largest specialist garlic grower. We are proud of our exceptional quality garlic which is renowned for its flavour, keeping quality and beauty. You only have to try our latest crop to see what we mean. We also travel the world to select the best possible garlic varieties to offer our customers. We sell our garlic through our farm shop, farmers' markets, our website and through specialist food retailers across the UK including farm shops and delicatessens. We welcome visitors to our farm shop and cafe on the Isle of Wight. Both have been constructed from Macrocarpa pine grown on the farm. All our garlic and farm-made products are also available on our website.
Hunter Valley, NSW
Level Contributor
402 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Went Back Twice!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We visited the Garlic Farm for the very first time recently and were so impressed with the place that we went back again to have lunch in the lovely café. Friendly service, lovely room and delicious food. This is a place we will visit every time we go to the Isle of Wight.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Freya1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garlicfarmer-iow, Manager at The Garlic Farm Cafe, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is the best compliment when people come back for more than one visit. We really hope you will continue to come back and tell your friends about us too. With very best wishes and hoping to see you soon. The Garlic Farm Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    214
    71
    19
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good food but the worst customer service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Had a lovely meal in the restaurant at The Garlic Farm...however after we finished, and went to have a look around, we went in to the tasting room. A very very rude young lady accused my 2 year old Granddaughter of messing up the children's area, as we had only just arrived in the room it was very obviously someone else, then my 4 year old daughter was in the process of asking for a piece of paper and was interrupted very rudely by said assistant and chastised for her manners before she had a chance to say please. This spoiled our experience, which is very sad as this was my 3rd and final visit here due to the staff.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 111Ruthymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garlicfarmer-iow, Manager at The Garlic Farm Cafe, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We're pleased you liked the food. It seems something went very wrong in terms of our customer service though and we're so sorry to hear that. We can't understand how this could have happened since our customers are always telling us how friendly and helpful all our staff are and they would never knowingly cause offence. We would really love to make it up to you if you would give us the opportunity. Hoping you will visit us again and we will do all we can to improve. Very best wishes, The Garlic Farm Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bembridge
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A lovely setting for a snack lunch.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We were attending the Pop up Opera last night and in the interval were given some very good refreshments of toasted garlic bread with a variety of foods to eat with it. The restaurant seemed well organised and was feeding about 50 customers.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank magalhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garlicfarmer-iow, Manager at The Garlic Farm Cafe, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We're so pleased you enjoyed eating with us during the pop up Opera and hope you will visit us again soon to try the rest of our menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandown
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What's happened ?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had some long lost cousins come and stay, so we thought we'd show off the expertise of one of my favourite Chef's.

Something has happened to the menu, it was lacking in choice, no specials for starters, the smoked mackerel not being available was a big disappointment. The main courses were also under-whelming, one cousin struggled to make a choice, not the impression we were expecting to give her.

As always the food was cooked perfectly, seasoned wonderfully and served with the usual impeccable style.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nikyates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garlicfarmer-iow, Manager at The Garlic Farm Cafe, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us. We're so pleased you enjoyed eating with us during the Pop Up Opera and hope you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Delicious food and a great setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a delicious meal here on Saturday. We were visiting the island and were taken here by my aunt and cousin who both live on the island and raved about the farms food.

It certainly lived up to expectation. Friendly staff, prompt and efficient service. Good selection of drinks. The food was just fantastic!! We all had burgers which were proper gourmet burgers with a brioche bun and some of the fantastic garlic horse radish. We also then saw the garlic farm stand at old gaffers festival on the Sunday and ended up buying the banana chutney, hot tomato salsa and garlic Mayo with chilli.

The setting at the farm is lovely, very peaceful and a beautiful garden setting to sit in whilst you eat. The peacocks also kept everyone entertained ! A great experience and will definitely visit again next time we are on the island.

Helpful?
Thank Emsi999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garlicfarmer-iow, Manager at The Garlic Farm Cafe, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you so much for writing a review for us. We're so pleased you enjoyed your burgers and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Garlic Farm Cafe also viewed

Newchurch, Sandown
Sandown, Isle of Wight
 
Sandown, Isle of Wight
Sandown, Isle of Wight
 
Bembridge, Isle of Wight
Sandown, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Garlic Farm Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing