We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't believe the bad reviews”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Caulkheads

The Caulkheads
Ranked #13 of 54 Restaurants in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open 7 days a week for great home cooked food and drink. With great facilities for children including indoor ball pit and outdoor play area including a pirate ship and bouncy castle(weather permitting). Lots of space for large parties and buffets catered for.
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
“Don't believe the bad reviews”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We have visited the Isle of Wight twice a year for the past three years and have always had at least one meal in The Caulkheads on each occasion. Each and every time, every person in our party (young and old) have been very satisfied with their meal.
We have just returned from a week's stay on the island and ate in The Caulkheads twice. They offer an extensive selection of food with the option of larger portions on certain meals. We both had the chilli (with 100% beef, no horse!) on our first visit which was delicious and then fish and chips and a large scampi and chips the second time. Take a look at the photos to see how great the portions are. The children's menu is also very good. We were very pleased to see that they offered chicken nuggets that are made from fresh chicken breasts rather than the breaded kind you find elsewhere.
The staff are friendly and helpful and service always comes with a smile. The Caulkheads is a family friendly pub with plenty of seating both inside and out. There is also an indoor children's play area which includes a ball pit and slide as well as a small adventure playground in the gardens - HMS Caulkhead!
We always stay at The Fort Holiday Park when we visit the island and The Caulkheads is now owned by the same couple. When you are staying at The Fort, you receive 10% discount on meals in the pub so it's a win/win really!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank THE_ELMOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaulkheadspubSandown, Owner at The Caulkheads, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind words.
We are very lucky to have fantastic loyal staff and are revamping the menu to make it even better value.
You will be pleased that our homemade chilli and the fish are going to remain, they are also going to be enhanced with more varieties.
It is also great making our own chicken nuggets...We are just having to work out how we can keep up with demand as they are proving to be very popular.
Please on your next visit to Fort holiday park or the Isle of wight please try us again.
There will be new things to try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    116
    56
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We went to the Caulkheads to say cheerio to my son who was going traveling round the world. I have coeliac disease so need a gluten free diet. The waiting staff were very unsure which meals could be served gluten free. When prompted they went into the kitchen to ask the "chef"! I say chef in inverted commas because they eventually said I could have the roast with no gravy and the secret coating on the roast potatoes did not contain flour so was safe for mr to eat. When my meal came the meat was dry as though it had been sitting around cut for quite a while, and there was an enormous yorkshire pudding on my plate that definitely was NOT gluten free. The rest family were also disappointed in their meals. We went on a Sunday lunch time and the pub was only about a third full. Wont be going back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sparkymonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaulkheadspubSandown, Owner at The Caulkheads, responded to this review, 2 March 2013
We apologise you did not enjoy your meal.
As we eat in the pub every Sunday, If you had voiced your concerns at the time, we would have been able to address any problems.

Unfortunately, The meal you chose to have has elements of flour as its ingredients
Our gravy was changed last year to a vegetarian variation to cater for a wider customer base, however, part of the ingredient is a stock powder that states flour.
In January 2012 the law changed with regards to restaurants and gluten products the link to the government website is shown below
http://www.food.gov.uk/multimedia/pdfs/glutenfactsheet.pdf
In a recent visit by Isle of Wight environmental health we were asked to remove our information on gluten free meals as each meal would have to be sent away for individual testing (not a help at all).
We are in the process of amending our menu and are writing a new menu and a book outlining all our new meals and the risks to allergy sufferers.
Once the allergy book has been written, Staff will be fully trained on the new advice.
Hopefully this will be available by Easter as we have over 120 separate meals on our menu at present.
Being a large pub of over 120 covers, it takes a lot of people to look full all day long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Grumpy about Reservations!”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We visited on a Friday evening in January, when snow hit across the UK.

We had reserved a table for 6.30pm, but unfortunately arrived just after 7pm to find an empty pub. When we said who we were one of the bar staff complained bitterly that we were late, that we were supposed to be there at 6.30pm - and could be heard to continue moaning about this after we were seated.

Another member of the bar staff then insisted we order right away so they could close the kitchen.

We had curries which although we opted for the smaller "regular" option were alot of rice and not much curry and were exceedingly bland.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhilAndrews77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaulkheadspubSandown, Owner at The Caulkheads, responded to this review, 2 March 2013
We apologies that you did not enjoy your experience at Caulkheads,
during the winter and snow we amended our opening times as advertised to
12 till 2pm and 5pm til 9pm with the kitchen closing at 7:30
On arrival, Our staff member did ask if you were the 6:30 booking and did inform you that as we were empty due to the snow the kitchen was still going to be closing at 7:30 to allow them to get home. We are proud of all of our members of staff for their happy, cheerful and helpful nature and when questioned about the incident, The staff members were shocked because they remember it clearly and described your party as friendly and chatty to them and had no clue you were upset.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We went for lunch and had a lovely meal. In the evening they had hallowene party great if you had kids.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank babaSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaulkheadspubSandown, Owner at The Caulkheads, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed the food and we do love a great party.
We have again this year our kids halloween party, we also have 4 days of scooter fun over the August bank holiday. Chelmsford scooter club are once again supplying all the music.
plus many more fun nights throughout the season
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Return visit”
Reviewed 16 December 2012

When we first went to Caulkheads I wrote a review stating we would not return as the service not good and music too loud. However we decided to give it another try, one year later, and I have to say we really enjoyed it. The staff were friendly and gave an efficient service, the music was just right, easy listening but not intrusive, the steaks were great (would have liked chips in a seperate dish but this just personal preference) and the place really nicely decorated for Christmas. All the food we saw coming out looked good and everyone appeared to be enjoying themselves. The staff made us very welcome and were really helpful. Well done Caulkheads.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valerie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaulkheadspubSandown, Owner at The Caulkheads, responded to this review, 2 March 2013
Thank you so much for returning to Caulkheads,
If you return again and do not like the music it can easily be changed. Please just ask
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Caulkheads also viewed

Sandown, Isle of Wight
Sandown, Isle of Wight
 
Newchurch, Sandown
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Caulkheads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing