We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Weekend break"”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Maria

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sandown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Maria
Ranked #17 of 30 Sandown B&B and Inns
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“"Weekend break"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Hotel maria in sandown is our second time we be here and we enjoyed the entertainment on Saturday nite our room was lovely and big for us the food was great hopefully we be coming back this year all the staff were friendly.

Room Tip: my both rooms we stay in have be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sharon459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    37
    20
    5
    7
See reviews for
12
20
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel in dire need to be brightened up especially dining room grotty green so unappealing, room was Okish you get what you pay for I suppose but worst entertainment iv endured in my life iv seen better on the rejects of x factor also something like karaoke or something to liven night up so 19 60s food was excellent can't fault that at all but very disappointed I must say if you like cheap and tacky hotel maria is for you

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandown hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Tredegar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Me and my partner stayed here in march and wasn't disappointed. The room we stayed in was very nice, it had plenty of room and had all the amenities ( kettle, tv etc). We only had two problems one was that everytime you got into bed you would knock your legs on the bed frame, also the shower head was in desperate need of repair the water didn't come out easily and you could tell it was very old. The food was good, nice variety and warm. The town is about 5 mins away and your right on the seafront. There wasn't much to do as we went a bit out of season. Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed staying at this hotel from 21st - 25th April 2014, not long enough tbh.
Food was excellent. Staff were very nice and courteous. Loved it, look forward to returning again next April.

Room Tip: Great views of the sea and coastline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Johns Wood
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We have just spent Easter at the maria with gibbons coach holidays fantastic time and excellant value lovely staff. Rooms and bathroom lovely and great entertainment and food. Thanks gibbons and hotel maria

Greta nicholls south wales

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gretanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

hotel maria in sandown definitely a must this was the second time
we have been there and definitely be more
wendy dylan and all thier staff was wonderful from when we arrived
until we left the food was excellent always prompt and hot good variety
staff always willing to help our bedrooms sea view were clean comfortable
spacious entertainment every night was good
we will be going to the maria this year we loved it

Room Tip: rooms 56 and 57 sea view was excellent small flight of stairs leading from dining room then 6 stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank molly_henry20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsmouth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Just spent 5 days 24-28th Feb staying at hotel Maria, had a brilliant time. Made welcome as soon as we got there, although there was 53 of us in our party we all got to our rooms quite quickly. The room was basic but clean, Shower, toilet and wash room was not very big but did the job. Rooms were cleaned every day, coffee and tea making facilities in the room replenished each day. Hotel is right on the sea front. The entertainment every night was good, dance floor was always full.
Andy and Phil behind the bar were very quick and friendly. There were about 120 people in the restaurant but the food was good quality and served promptly and always hot, thank you Maria our waitress. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: we were in room 3 first floor no view double bed + single
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billcoPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.1 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel
Marina Bay Hotel
#9 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
#12 of 31 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 31 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maria

Property: Hotel Maria
Address: 3-7 Culver Parade, Sandown PO36 8AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Sandown
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Hotel Maria Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing