We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal at the ocean deck!”

The Ocean Deck Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 58 Restaurants in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Ocean Deck Bar & Restaurant is set on Sandown Bay. Boasting panoramic coastal views across the Channel it is the perfect place to eat, drink and relax. The Ocean Deck focuses on good, unpretentious, traditional food, using the freshest ingredients, sourced as close to home as possible. Whether you choose a three-course meal, a sandwich, an ice-cold beer or a bottle of wine to enjoy out on the decking, a friendly welcome will always greet you at this family run, chic-nautical themed bar and restaurant.
Reviewed 15 June 2014

After having a baby 4 months ago, I decided that I would visit the local ocean deck for my first evening out without my little one. Its lovely having such a relaxed, friendly pub so close to home with beautiful views and great food. The seafood pasta was delicious and the sticky toffee pudding with its pecan twist was the best ive had! Will be returning again and look forward to when my little one is old enough to sample the lovely child friendly menu. Brilliant :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank charpalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley S, Owner at The Ocean Deck Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your first family evening meal out at the Ocean Deck. We hope to welcome you back again soon. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

410 - 414 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner came here with my partners extremely attractive bird and had a fantastic meal. Recommend it to all. Great sea view too! X

Thank RichnLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley S, Owner at The Ocean Deck Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

We are thrilled that you, your partner and your partners extremely attractive bird had a fantastic meal with us. Thank you for the feedback, we hope to welcome you back one day :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The chef that runs this place was head chef at the Royal Hotel in Ventnor for many years. The food is well cooked & presented. I had Cajun chicken served with an excellent salad & sauté potatoes, very good! My partner had cod with new potatoes & veg she said it was excellent, we both had dessert & left full & happy with the food & service. We will return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jasper999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley S, Owner at The Ocean Deck Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

We really appreciate your kind feedback and are so pleased you enjoyed your meal. The Cajun chicken is one of my favourites too :-) All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

lovely resteraunt/bar, they do a great lobster and fab steaks. We like to sit outside at night listening to the music with a few cocktails, great cocktail menu

1  Thank Bobbly88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley S, Owner at The Ocean Deck Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Hi there, I have to agree, the Isle of Wight lobster and Isle of Wight beef are a credit to the Isle of Wight produce. Thanks for the feedback :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We visited here with the kids for dinner during our stay and were very happy.
Great food and attentive staff and all very reasonable. Highly recommended on all levels

Thank S4AVY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley S, Owner at The Ocean Deck Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Your comments are lovely and we hope you visit us again in the future :-) All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ocean Deck Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Sandown, Isle of Wight
Sandown, Isle of Wight
 
Sandown, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Ocean Deck Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing