We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and friendly stay at pleasant spa hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melville Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We had a good value for money stay at this lovely spa hotel which included treatments and use of the leisure suite which comprised of jacuzzi, sauna, detox box and pool.
The treatments included was a choice from facial, express facial, scalp massage, pedicure and manicure.
The room was clean and comfortable and had a spa bath (although we did not use it)
Food was good at this hotel, but could have benefited from more variety in the respect that the menu options are repeated after staying 3 nights so could therefore do with more choice for those that stay longer. Their was always a vegetarian option available.
Reception staff were always friendly and helpful.
All in all a good break, would definately return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Topcat32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,052 - 1,058 of 1,278 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2011

Travelled with my mother to Isle of Wight for 2 night leisure break - seemed promising. Regettably room overlooked stainless steel extractor from kitchen -so the views on the web page not recognisable. Bedroom was passable, but 'luxury whirlpool bath' was nasty - lots of mould around the bath - bathroom very dated and in need of a refurb. Staff in the dining room were fine - and the chef in the evening was certainly making an effort - the food was well presented and quite tasty. Unfortunately the breakfast chef wasn't so attentive - cooked breakfast was largely inedibly with scrambled eggs watery and insipid. The carpet in the dining room was very grubby and in need of a good steam clean - they are working on a new outside pool which looks like it could be quite good. There was a leisure suite, but on close inspection it too seemed dated and quite grubby, so we didn't use it. The hotel seems to rely largely on elderly folk as their main client base - quite a few crutches etc around, so if that's you, it should be fine - Reminded me a bit of Fawlty Towers! Beware parking under the trees outside - pigeons there appear to have the runs - took me ages to get the poo off!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunseeker201139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

such a relaxing break. Hotel perfect, staff always on hand and so friendly. Partner had a pedicure and made to feel so welcome and at ease. Room fantastic. Will go back again and again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blossom09Norwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

else but this hotel should really be kept a secret. We booked a 3 night stay with breakfast, dinner, spa treatment and ferry crossing included in the price and thought it excellent value for money. Ok the room was a bit on the small size but it was clean and comfortable. The food was delicious and beautifully served. The service was very professional- they couldn't have been more helpful and the spa was very relaxing. We spent the last morning by the out door pool lounging in big chairs with the sun shining. Why go anywhere else?

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sal.gram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Melville Hall Hotel for a two night break to explore the IOW. The hotel far exceeded our expectations; all the staff were very friendly and attentive. We stayed on a DB&B basis and the food was excellent. The hotel location was perfect, just a 10 minute walk from the beach in a very quiet residential location.

Being a seasoned business traveller in the UK and abroad, I really appreciated this good sized friendly hotel and relaxed atmosphere.

We did not make use of the leisure facilities as we were too busy exploring the Island, but it appeared popular with the other guests.

My wife had a treatment in their Spa facility and she was very complimentary about the experience.

When visiting the IOW again, this hotel will be our first choice.

Room Tip: Just ask wehn booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

All the staff at this hotel, without exception, were friendly, helpful and professional in their dealings with the guests. One had the feeling that they all really cared about the reputation of the hotel as if it were their own business. The food was excellent, nay, outstanding, for both choice and quality; the bedroom was roomy and comfortable; the spa is rather small but the treatments were first rate (thank you, Gemma!) We piad £59 a night each for bed, breakfast, dinner, spa and one treatment each - and, unbelievably, the ferry crossing was included and arranged by the staff. 11 out of 10 to you all - we shall definitely return - and we discovered that the I o W is a little gem too.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suzie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Stayed here in February (took a while to write) with my Fiance for our birthdays. We stayed for three nights on the travel zoo deal which included ferry crossing, breakfast , meals and use of spa facilities. We had a lovely room which was spacious and comfortable. Robes and slippers were provided. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The food was amazing and plentiful. The spa facilities were great although the pool quite small but the outdoor one was being refurbished while we were there. My partner loved the doctor detox box which he used for the first time. We had a lovely stay here and felt really chilled out afterwards. We would certainly stay here again and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tina1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
747 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 51 in Shanklin
873 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
5.3 mi away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hall Hotel

Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: £51 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deserve some pampering? the friendly Melville Hall Hotel & Utopia Spa is the number one choice for a relaxing holiday with lovely bedroom suites, free breakfast, excellent restaurant, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, free Wi-Fi, free car park, and all just a few minutes walk from Sandown beach and High Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Melville Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hall Sandown
Hotel Melville Hall
Melville Hall Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing