We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melville Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Friendly hotel in a quiet situation with excellent food. Comfortable room, and the spa was lovely too. Nice sheltered out oor pool area, and gardens to front of hotel with seating. Good value for money - we had a lovely relaxing break and I am sure we will be back sometime soon.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,031 - 1,037 of 1,277 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed on a two night deal which included free ferry crossings with car. The hotel is a little dated, but clean. Dont bother paying the supplement for the "jacuzzi bath" unless you are under 5' 6". the baths are very small so impossible to relax in. There is a good size outdoor jacuzzi anyway. The food was good. I recommend the Detox cabins in the spa-an easy way to shed a pound or two!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bouqueriaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Like many, we went for the Travelzoo 2 night break, and upgraded to a better room. Our room was nicely decorated and very pleasant with a 4 poster bed, sofa and a decent sized en suite. Hotel is in a quiet location, probably 10 minutes walk from the rather run down centre of Sandown. Food was fairly decent, happily we had arranged to stay on a half board basis so we weren't affected but the prices on the daily menu were a bit on the optimistic side as there is no way i would have paid them.

Charging extra for a portion of vegetables was pathetic. I think portion control is de rigeur inn the kitchen. Breakfasts were fine.

Isle of Wight was lovely- although we may have been fortunate in going there the week before schools broke up for summer.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redmike123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We visited at Spring Bank and the weather, location and hotel were all great. The room was good and because there is no lift, the reception staff called a gentleman to carry our large suitcase up to the room.
Food and spa were both good, interesting to watch the workmen finishing off the outside pool which we had a dip in during the early morning, before breakfast began and onlookers gathered!
All the staff were very helpful and we are looking forward to another visit as there is so much to see and do on the island, we particularly want to do more walking round the coastline now we've got our bearings.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueB92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

This was a business trip so only stayed 2 nights 3 days ( took my mother for the break) . Staff very helpfull, good clean facilities, great meals and the use of the spa which i loved at the end of a hard day. Gantastic hotel to chill out and relax. will recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Had no problems with the room. Tea and coffee in the room, with Iron and ironing board. Nice and qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank britty009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We purchased a spa package to celebrate an anniversary weekend. Opted for an upgrade to a "superior, deluze bedroom", for our comfort. Room was DIRTY, tea stained scarf on side table, wine glasses were not washed or changed after use, trans on floor that remained for our weekend, which was there upon our arrival, bathroom linens in shreds, massage was not a massage at all, just an hour wasted, jacuzzi was barely room temperature. We were offered 100 pounds off a 500 pound bill for a two day, 4 meal weekend. I wouldn't pay 100 pounds for this weekend, but sadly had no choice. On a bright note, restaurant was good, with a different menu each evening, and a helpful staff, although their command of English was lacking, and they wait staff could not explain certain menu items.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ann212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

The hotel is located in a quiet residential area of Sandown, well away from the bustle of the sea front, but an easy walk from Sandown railway station and with ample parking. Staff are charming and efficient and the rooms are nicely furnished. Public areas - the hotel bar, lounge and restaurant - are cosy and welcoming. We ate in the restaurant on our first night - good food, decent wine list (although it'd be nice to see some local IoW wines on there!) - and then had our after-dinner coffees on the terrace overlooking the swimming pool, which was lovely. We didn't use the spa on this occasion but probably would on a second visit. Breakfasts were very good indeed. In terms of the town itself, Sandown's charms grow on you the longer you're there - we hired a beach hut for the day and thoroughly enjoyed the experience (the weather was amazing), and also took the promenade walk along the coast to Shanklin. Local crab dishes are well worth trying.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
747 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 51 in Shanklin
873 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
5.3 mi away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hall Hotel

Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#4 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: £51 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deserve some pampering? the friendly Melville Hall Hotel & Utopia Spa is the number one choice for a relaxing holiday with lovely bedroom suites, free breakfast, excellent restaurant, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, free Wi-Fi, free car park, and all just a few minutes walk from Sandown beach and High Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Hotels.com so you can book your Melville Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hall Sandown
Hotel Melville Hall
Melville Hall Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing