We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melville Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good value and great food”
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Travel zoo deal which was great value. Less than warm reception contrasted by superb restaurant service and food. Room was a little "tired" but ok comfortwise

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    501
    167
    68
    61
See reviews for
93
805
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Hotel ambience was very welcoming and staff confirmed this. Nothing was too much trouble. Excellent restaurant service and food was exceptional. Excellent value for money and good position.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Stayed for 5 days in July. Quiet location with easy parking. Had a standard room which was on the small size with a standard double bed. Asked to be transferred to a superior room but non were available. Several minor problems with the room but sorted out Immediately. Meals are excellent & dining room staff take good care of you without being over fussy; in fact we found all the hotel staff extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordon a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Everything was wonderful! staff very friendly, food excellent, the rooms very comfortable and spotless! We could not wish for anywhere better for our holiday with family! We hope to return as soon as we can! Thankyou to everyone at the Melville!

Room Tip: We asked if there was superior twin for two adults on the ground floor and that is exactly what we g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed for 2 nights on August bank holiday weekend on the travel zoo half board deal which also included the ferry from Southampton. Really good value for money with freshly cooked breakfast and good selection on the evening menu. Spa bedroom was really nice and it was useful to have a robes included to go down to the pool. We used the indoor pool both mornings (outdoor pool looks amazing but it was a bit cold outside so we used the lovely warm indoor one instead!) I had a massage at the spa which was really relaxing. All the staff were really friendly and helpful. We will definately be going back!

Room Tip: Book a spa bedroom, it includes a ensuite spa bathroom and robes for use in the spa/pool areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cafetoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

I booked a last minute break for myself and teenage daughter. Was a bit worried that the hotel wouldn't meet both our needs. For me, some relaxing time. For teenager...... who knows! It had enough of the 'Wow' factor to impress her, and I was very happy with the facilities. Staff were friendly, food very good and pool areas lovely.

Only 5 mins walk from Sandown station, and 10 minutes to beach.

Rooms clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Our room was booked as last twin available, and was clean and comfortable, so can't comment on o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fionachad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Melville Hall was easy to find after a pleasant half hour cross-country drive from Cowes.
First impressions were of an attractive front garden and entrance, with friendly and helpful staff at reception.

Our bedroom was smaller and darker than we had expected, with a disappointing view onto the back of the hotel. We had paid extra for the en suite spa bath, and later had to ask for assistance in operating this.

Everything else was at the hotel was of a high standard, especially the restaurant with its imaginative menu and efficient but friendly service. Unfortunately the outdoor pool was closed while undergoing extensive refurbishment, but the indoor pool. although small was very pleasant and relaxing to use, with fantastic views looking out over the garden.

A much appreciated feature of the hotel was the provision in the foyer lounge of hot drinks and biscuits, fresh fruit and newspapers freely available throughout the day.

Melville Hall is well located close to a park and the local railway station, and just a short walk to the shops and sea front. It's an ideal base for a relaxing short break, and we look forward to making a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
724 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
428 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
843 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hall Hotel

Property: Melville Hall Hotel
Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#4 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melville Hall Hotel is located a few minutes stroll from the beautiful sandy beach of Sandown Bay, almost opposite Los Altos Park. With a wide range of facilities including Utopia SPA, you are guaranteed the relaxing break you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melville Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hall Sandown
Hotel Melville Hall
Melville Hall Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing