We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melville Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We had a one night mid-week stay to go walking. Friendly staff. Hotel in good location, big room and OK bathroom. Loved being given towel and robe for leisure suite, which was fine as long as it's not your main reason for choosing this hotel. Good choice of evening menu well cooked and presented. Excellent breakfast, wished I had apetite to eat more! Had to park the car on double yellow over night as poor parking by other guests meant there was no room for my Smart car. I couldn't get the WiFi to work although signal strength was excellent, didn't bother to inquire about it as quite nice not to be able to check emails!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JinnyJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    489
    164
    68
    59
See reviews for
93
788
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I stayed at the Melville Hall hotel at short notice recently, using an online website to make the booking. From the other reviews I was expecting a rather stately old-school hotel. Well, there was plenty of old-school about it, but not in the way I was expecting.

The room I was allocated was at the end of a corridor, and its bed took up - literally - 80% of the floor area. The windows were open and the wall heater was off when I arrived (mid-afternoon), so it was very cold in there. The bathroom's two windows were both open and it was freezing - it was a laminated / plastic floor so that walking on it in bare feet was a soul-chilling experience.

The bar was OK, service fair (I wanted to taste three wines before deciding, and while the barman wasn't effusive about this request, he was accommodating).

Dinner was fine, and the lamb shank excellent. I asked for some olive oil - i like olive oil and salt with bread - but the gentleman came back from the kitchen telling me "the chef doesn't use it" and giving me a little bowl of rape seed oil instead. I didn't try this. I am surprised there is no olive oil in the kitchen, but the gentleman serving was completely charming and helpful. The coffee was certainly not fresh but I was quickly brought another pot - so quickly that it must have been from another coffee machine in the kitchen that also had coffee standing in it. I define "freshly brewed coffee" as coffee that is brewed when you ask for it, or at least in the moments before you ask for it, not coffee that is sitting in a pot getting ever more stale. The first pot was definitely stale.

Breakfast was good - full English, perfectly fine coffee, hot, and hot milk - freshly brewed this time, I expect, as I was the first person in for breakfast. The lady serving was utterly charming.

Look at the carpet of the dining room. It is bespattered, flecked with the debris of a thousand meals. It did make me think, like the room, that the hotel is in need of a general wash-and-brush-up / full-on refurbishment.

The people working at the hotel were all efficient, helpful, and can-do. I would say that the hotel itself is a bit tired now, but perhaps my expectations were too high...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We booked a 2 day break to this spa hotel to relax after Christmas. We love the IOW and booked this at short notice. We took advantage of a special offer, and it appeared to be excellent value for money, but we had no great expectations as it seldom pans out that "special offers" are as good as they seem. How wrong we were, the staff are fantastic, the food is very, very good and the spa is great. You could spend a lot of money on a "trendy" spa venue and still not get the experience we enjoyed, I can recommend Melville Hall very highly.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We had a special Spa break here and it was very good. Room was bright and clean, bathroom as well, Spa bath !! Great facial and massage. Staff very helpful. Thoroughly recommeded.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Had a lovely time at the spa excellent food in the restaurant and very pleasant staff, would recommend to anyone looking to relax and enjoy a welcome break.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
270 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Stayed at the hotel on a special offer package and was very impressed. The hotel was efficiently run and comfortable. The staff are well trained and very professional.

Our room was somewhat small, at the top of the feature tower, although it did have a large bathroom, and great views across to the downs. However, as we were out all day, and made full use of the spa facilities and free coffee in the lounge, the room size was not really important. This particular room is probably more suited to single use, but was perfectly adequate as a bedroom.

Dinner in the hotel was superb. It was nice to eat well staying on site and not need to drive off to find a restaurant elsewhere.

We appreciated the fact that there was plenty of tea and coffee supplied with a kettle in the room, and also in the lounge area - including a good range of fruit teas, and fresh water coolers available throughout.

Spa treatments were good, and the detox cabins were a novelty. Sauna and jacuzzi were good, though indoor pool was really only a plunge pool, not somewhere to exercise!

Overall, an excellent stay and would visit again.

Room Tip: Pay for an upgraded room if you want more space in your bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kompo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Stayed with my sister between Christmas and New Year. We were on a package that in included dinner bed and breakfast plus a spa treatment each and the ferry from Southampton, so very good value. Food and service in the restaurant excellent, all the staff are really friendly and helpful at the hotel. We tried the outdoor hot tub which was lovely and warm, the complimentary robes the hotel provide were much appreciated for when you get out though especially in December! The indoor pool is small but kept nice and warm so we also made good use of that. This was my second stay at the hotel and I will be back again.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cafetoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
825 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
808 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hall Hotel

Property: Melville Hall Hotel
Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#4 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melville Hall Hotel is located a few minutes stroll from the beautiful sandy beach of Sandown Bay, almost opposite Los Altos Park. With a wide range of facilities including Utopia SPA, you are guaranteed the relaxing break you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Melville Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hall Sandown
Hotel Melville Hall
Melville Hall Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing