We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhappy experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melville Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unhappy experience”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I just spent the weekend at this hotel with my wife and friends. We were so looking forward to it as this was our first experience of a Spa break. The rooms are disappointing, very tired and in need of updating. When I checked on our Spa appointments, which were booked some weeks before, we were told that we only had 50% of what we booked. After complaining we were eventually offered alternative dates, but there was not the availability of additional treatments that we wanted to book. Guests wandered around the hotel in bath robes, which portrayed a unprofessional layout.
All in all, we were very disappointed, and will not be returning to this hotel. The weekend was not cheap, if we had not of travelled so far, we would have requested a refund and not stayed.
S&J

Room Tip: Book the Premier Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scmgsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    500
    167
    68
    61
See reviews for
93
804
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We book our trip with Melville Hall, included in the deal was 3 spa treatments each which I booked 6 weeks in advance. Once we got to the hotel we heard other guests complaining about bookings with the spa, so we thought we'd best check ours. When we did, they had nothing under our name! First they said they would give us free dinner on both nights but the hotel is pretty dismal so the thought of eating there two nights in a row was not appealing! We said that the only reason we were staying was the spa so we wanted a refund. They said the could only offer £148 back instead of the full £200 and we had to leave!!! After much arguing, we managed to get a full refund and found somewhere else! We then went to the Lakeside Hotel which is gorgeous! Melville is dated and rooms are quite boxy. Lots of people waiting in reception with robes rather than in a nice area of the spa. We didn't get to venture that far as we left so can't comment. Terrible experience. Be careful if you are brave enough to go!

From Nic & V

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vmj12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

The hotel is rated add a the star...which is fair. The rooms are tired and in desperate need of modernising. Or superior room had a four poster which had lace drapes all around it. It just looked so old fashioned.

The carpet in the spa area needs ripping up asap and the furniture in the same area is old and in desperate need of
replacement and was covered in a thick later of dust.

One of the chairs in our room, 003, was badly stained.

We can forgive old and tired rooms but some of the hotel is unclean and that costs little to get right. The pool windows were dirty and mouldy in places too.

The one thing we will say was superb were the evening meals, which on both nights we really enjoyed. The scallops were some of the best I've ever had. The breakfast on the other hand was poor - sausage was horrible only one slice of bacon, which was smoked, and a poached egg that didn't look cooked.

We came on a Travelzoo offer which, all in all was still well worth it even though the hotel needs work...let's hope they have done these offers to help pay for the much needed upgrade, otherwise I fear the good rating on TripAdvisor will drop...

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhattBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I stayed at the Melville Hotel last weekend with a couple of friends. We came on a special deal weekend with (Travel Zoo).
This was more like a large B&B than a hotel. Our room was a bit disappointing with cobweds on the wall and mould on the net curtains.
The food was outstanding and the service in the restaurant was wonderful!
Included in our weekend break was two spa treatments for 30min's each! It would have been nice to have the full time, my treatments should have started at 11.00 but instead started about 15/20 minutes late as they had staff off sick my treatments ended promptly at 12. This was a shame as the quality was good!
My next disappointment was when I booked a eye brow shape, I had wax spilt in my hair which was then "Waxed out" leaving a small patch of hair missing. Then to be told the girl doing my eye brow's was working in the kitchen until 4 day's previous!!!!!!! Not great!!!!!
The outside pool and spa area was lovely, probably even better in the summer!
On the whole we had a good time I'm not sure if I would rush back. The location was good about a 5 min walk to the beach/pier.
If the Melville could address some of these concerns this has the making of a wonderful hotel and spa!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberleylondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We Stayed Here For a Night over our Anniversary and found the hotel and Spa was Lovely, the Food was very Nice to' the outside pool area nice and relaxing..
the location is Good'' The only downside with this Hotel was the uncomfortable and squeaky beds! After being moved into a different room after arrival as the previous one was very small, dirty & Smelt! it did'nt really get any better' the other room was a better size but it was grubby with a massive stain on the carpet as you walked into the room' and the springs on our bed were actually broken and uncomfortable! i did'nt really find the staff helpul when i noted these things! A Real Shame As Its A Nice Hotel otherwise' and we'd prob like to return if the beds were better..

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Furiousscooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This hotel delivers on good staff, a lovely spa area and fine location. The "deluxe spa bedroom" was a small double room and in the ensuite was a bath with jets. All the heating was switched off when we arrived, so it took about an hour to get the bedroom and bathroom to comfy levels. The bedroom walls have no sound insulation, so I spent a restless night trying not to hear snoring from the next room, late arriving drunks bumping and chattering along the corridor and a TV in another room. For noise reasons I would not stay here again.
However, the food was good, the service attentive and if the decor was updated and the sound insulation attended to as part of this process, I would return regularly.

Room Tip: Not worth paying more for the deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babushkava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We booked a good deal, after reading reviews on this hotel,we booked 2 nights and ended up staying !

I agree with other reviewers it is a little old fashioned, but in my opinoion it has grear charecter,
The staff are winderful, especially noel (head waiter) what a charming man. Also daniel and michael on reception, so helpful we felt so well looked after,

Overall its very good, the food is good well actually its excellent, presentation and standard is really marvellous, nearly as good as any top class restaurant.

My only complaint would be the standard of the cleaning is not up to scratch,, if this were then it would be 10/10

Room Tip: we stayed in 210 its on the end and bathroom is large
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atworthWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
724 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
428 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
842 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hall Hotel

Property: Melville Hall Hotel
Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#4 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melville Hall Hotel is located a few minutes stroll from the beautiful sandy beach of Sandown Bay, almost opposite Los Altos Park. With a wide range of facilities including Utopia SPA, you are guaranteed the relaxing break you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melville Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hall Sandown
Hotel Melville Hall
Melville Hall Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing