We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quaint Break...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melville Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Quaint Break...”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Last week went for a short break thru TravelZoo to Melville Hall. Great deal, including Ferry and 2 nights for an awesome price.
Rooms are a little small (we had a 'spa room'), and could do with a little updating perhaps, but for the price, you really can't complain about that.
Friendliness, service, food, and Spa were all top rate. Fantastic location, just 2 minutes walk from the beach, and a couple of nice restaurants and pubs in easy reach if you won't want to use the hotel facilities (which were excellent!).
Nothing seemed to be too much trouble, and a great base to explore the island. 2 night break is definitely not long enough, but it does mean we have plans to head back soon, and plan some more exploring.
Catching the sunset near the needles, is great, but some lovely views over Yarmouth Bay from Tennyson Road can't be beaten...

Room Tip: Look at the Superior Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BWheel72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    489
    164
    68
    59
See reviews for
93
788
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

The room we had originally booked over the phone was not the room we were allocated, so our arrival was tainted, however we were soon sorted out with a four poster room, (we had booked a superior anyway). The meals at the hotel were excellent, service was brilliant, wine waiter great overall service excellent. Two things to point out however were the very small bathrooms, and the quiet lounge area, for your free teas and coffee, floor area was often very wet and slippery (so take great care). Osborne House is definitely worth a visit and is fairly close, Ventnor Botanical Gardens and Mottisttone Gardens also worth a visit. Walking around the coast is stunningly beautiful especially around Fresh Water Bay and the Needles.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the gardens are better, we eventually stayed in room 005 which was a king size, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I wouldn't normally write reviews on hotels or places I have been, however I feel that some of the poor reviews given by some people really doesn't reflect just how good this place is!! I went to the melville hall hotel and spa on an offer i found through travel zoo and it was absolutely fantastic!! Really good value for money!! The staff were so helpful and friendly. The rooms were nice, and the food was excellent!! we had a kingsize bed and it wasn't two beds put together, it was a king bed and was lovely! We had no complaints and had a brilliant time!! the spa treatments were also lovely! Anyone after a good quality, great value for money short break, should definantly consider this place!! very difficult to leave the hotel but when we did there was lots to see and do!!! Outstanding place!!! dont be worried or put off by the small amount of bad reviews!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susie_hooves22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Had a fantastic time all the staff including the barman were fantastic (he is actually a really nice bloke once you talk to him!).The food was excellent,the room was nice and the Kingsize bed very comfy (don't be put off by the two beds pushed together comments, they are made like this and are zipped together and you get benefits in that they are in reality two seperate singles so when your partner turns over you hardly notice,a clever idea and more comfy than our Kingsize at home!).The outside pool and hottub were also great but the inside pool,tub and sauna could do with more floor cleaning and a different way into them without having to walk through the bar...there is a rear fire door perhaps that could be used?
We will definately return as it is a really fantastic small hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
94 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

we have just returned from a 2 night break at the Melville Hall. I am surprised by some of the other reviews as we had a lovely time whilst we were there. The food in the restaurant was very well prepared and a good choice offered - we could certainly find no fault with any of the the courses and the service was first rate!
The room we had was fine - the bed was a little on the small side but certainly no worse than a lot of hotels we have stayed in. The bathroom had a few nice touches - plenty of shelf space as well as good hanging space (always a bugbear of mine when you have nowhere to put your bathroom stuff).
The telly had lots of Sky channels - not that we used it much while we were there. I made use of some of the spa treatments and they were good value.
Overall I can't see what the moaning minnies are on about - we had a great time and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duffer56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Errol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Had a great time, food, room and spa all great. Only complaint was in the restaurant. The waiter who took the drink orders, couldn't be bothered to take orders, his customer service was very poor! The music in the restaurant sent us all to sleep, and could do with updating ! Apart from him, all the rest was well above average.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edgey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We booked in here for a weekend Gourmet & "Spa" break. Had a Superior room with King size bed. (In reality 2 beds pushed together). God knows what the ordinary rooms were like. The hotel is badly in need of a makeover and is the usual sad and pretentious English 3 star.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BignoseWorthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
825 reviews
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
804 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hall Hotel

Property: Melville Hall Hotel
Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#4 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melville Hall Hotel is located a few minutes stroll from the beautiful sandy beach of Sandown Bay, almost opposite Los Altos Park. With a wide range of facilities including Utopia SPA, you are guaranteed the relaxing break you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melville Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hall Sandown
Hotel Melville Hall
Melville Hall Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing