We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melville Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Booked this break on Travelzoo (27th July to 29th July). It was very enjoyable but a few hiccups mainly due to the shortage of staff - breakfast cold one day but next day when more staff it was fine. Need to book treatments in advance, which we did , otherwise not possible to book extra treatments. The weather was very good so were able to use the outdoor pool and spa. Would go again.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

882 - 888 of 1,278 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2012

I took my teenage daughter for a spray tan at this hotel. I waited with my 11yr old daughter in the waiting area of the hotel, having been told to wait their by staff. My 11yr old is very well behaved and sat calmly in silence. Staff then ejected us from the hotel because I had an under 14yr old child with me. I pointed out that I was waiting for my other daughter and that my 11yr old was very well behaved, this did not figure in their decision making process and we had to endure the indignity of standing outside in the cold damp car park, waiting for my daughter.

This is not only an inflexible hotel, but one that seems happy to insult and inconvenience its paying customers. I shall never return nor should anyone with children or young people.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank howesoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

My wife and I have just spent 4 days at this hotel (26th to 30th July) we were very pleased with the room which faced the front of the hotel. An unusual feature in the lobby was a spectacular marine aquarium. The food and service was good and friendly. The outdoor pool and spa were very clean, warm and well cared for and included a powerful swin jet and massage spout.. The indoor pool was small but warm and cleam and the sauna and detox cabinets were great. Whilst we were there the weather was hot throughout but these facilities were not crowded so we could enjoy them comfortably. We would definately use this hotel again and will be recommending this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We booked this hotel 5 weeks in advance. It was nothing like it is discribed on laterooms. The hotel is very old fashioned - and has not been refurbished in a very long time. The rooms were tiny with no airconditioning. The pool is overlooked by neighbouring houses - meters away from the pool. Resembles a care home. We refused to stay.

Room Tip: This hotel is in the middle of town. We paid for an upgrade - sea view if possible!! Well it was def...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
3  Thank bernadettemulligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Good hotel very clean rooms a little dated. Food very good we stayed on a travel zoo package. Had a few blips manicure not bvery good so had another one done at no extra cost. pool area very nice and modern furniture. Hotel needs more staff , would stay again despite some of the service being slow because of the short staff.

Travelled with a girl friend

Madelaine S

Room Tip: room 129 has one double and one single bed very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maddyoldwindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Just come back from a great weekend. Really enjoyed it, the only fault we had was the hotel was great and wonderful food. There was just not enough staff. So therefore we had to wait for service. otherwise we had a great time and have booked to go back next month

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorraine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

We came for two nights. First impressions of the exterior was really good, but on entering reception you realize you are back in 1970's. Rooms are extremely disappointing but hotel salvidged by its nice pool area and outdoor jacuzzi. Charging for throw away sleepers just irritate.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonia131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
750 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
5.6 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
876 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
944 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hall Hotel

Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: £47 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deserve some pampering? the friendly Melville Hall Hotel & Utopia Spa is the number one choice for a relaxing holiday with lovely bedroom suites, free breakfast, excellent restaurant, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, free Wi-Fi, free car park, and all just a few minutes walk from Sandown beach and High Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Melville Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hall Sandown
Hotel Melville Hall
Melville Hall Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing