We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melville Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Deal”
Reviewed 2 November 2012

It was indeed a good deal, although a mistake was made with the bill as we left. The staff were very friendly, but also very young and I'm not sure they were all that experienced hence the mistake.
The room was quite large and well equipped with storage space. The beds comfortable and the linen clean and good quality. The bathroom however could do with a little attention.
I was surprised to read in other reviews that the food was poor. This was certainly not my experience, apart from the scrambled eggs at breafast, which tasted as though they had been microwaved. I was quite surprised that no alternative to butter was offered at breakfast, but was served when requested. The creme brulee and the malteser cake, at dinner, were heavenly.
The treatments included in the offer were great, room warm and comfortable and the girls friendly and did their utmost to put one at ease.
The swimming pool is very small, but as there were few people staying when we were there it did not matter. I liked the dressing gowns that were provided which meant that you did not change or shower there, but go back to your room an there was no need to use lockers.
There were a lot of stairs and corridors, but unless you are unfit or have no sense of direction this is not a problem, however there was a strange smell in some of the areas. I think coming from the kitchen.
All in all it was a good stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the ground floor if you have a problem with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suey48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    489
    164
    68
    59
See reviews for
93
788
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel though travelzoo. The photos were misleading - the hotel felt like faulty towers. The staff were polite and helpful. The rooms were small, badly positioned tv and toilet roll. Calling it a spa hotel was a bit much; beauty treatments, a small wierd shaped pool, a two person jacuzzi and a sauna. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone under 50 years old. The town sandown it was in - is horrid.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Have just returned from enjoying a hotel / spa frerry deal at the Melville Hall Hotel on the Isle of Wight. The treatments were half price and excellent; and the food in the hotel is very good indeed. The sea front is about a five minute walk. I would thoroughly recomnmend this hotel and all it offers.

Room Tip: Our room was 235 and had a great view over the hills, but it was on the top floor and there is no ll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ed555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We had a very good time at Melville Hall on a two-night break with Travelzoo.. It's an impressive building, set in attractive grounds with ample parking.The staff (except for the young lady who presented our bill) were charming and helpful, altogether very pleasant to deal with.

Our room was spacious and quite well appointed, even though accessing it was a bit tricky, and, although the bathroom needed updating and the cold tap dripped, the beds were very comfortable and we slept well.

The dining room was attractive and the table linen was exceptionally good - quite unusual for a 3* hotel. The waiter was very polite, maybe a little more formal than was necessary. and the breakfast lady was lovely. I really thought the food was excellent.

The spa was fine and I used the outdoor jacussi and pool which was good for swimming , the indoor one really only being a plunge pool. The sauna workek very effectively and I loved the treatments, which were complementary as part of the offer.

The one blemish was a misclculated bill, the fact that the receptionist refused to investigate it when we queried it, and, a very minor quibble, the fact that she charged for a paper that we hadn't ordered and didn't need. The bill has since been rectified.

Considering the fact that our ferry-crossng was included in rhe price this hotel offered exceptional value for money..

Room Tip: Make sure you're fit if you have a top-floor room. No lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexGeoffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Stayed here for the weekend and had a really lovely time. OK, it's not the newest hotel in the world but as long as you're not expecting the Ritz then it is absolutely ideal for a weekend break. Within walking distance of the town center, railway station and bus links. The bar and restaurant staff were very friendly and the breakfast was superb. Had read the reviews before we went and really didn't understand some of the comments. If you want a 5* hotel break then pay 5 times the price and go for it! Otherwise, this was very good value for money and I would be more than happy to go return for another stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front so you are away from the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2012

My partner and I stayed in this hotel for a birthday treat, the rooms are very tired and not very clean. The decor of the hotel is that of a retirement home that has not had a lick of paint since 1970. The food is poor and the staff look as if they would rather be elsewhere. The "Spa" consists of a tiny pool and two little cabins-sauna room. I felt upset that this was not how it looked on the internet. Do not book this hotel if you want a relaxing spa day/break.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fluff_pie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

My Husband and I have just returned from a 3 day/2 night Spa break at this hotel booked via Travel Zoo offer. I didn't know what to expect having read some previous reviews of the hotel and was a bit hesitant but I couldn't have been more surprised. Everything was great, lovely superior room, very clean. All the staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. A four course dinner on the first evening was included as was buffet breakfast each morning, the food was excellent and the buffet breakfast had a very good selection of cereals, fresh fruit etc and also full english and other cooked items. The spa facilities were also very good, lovely warm pool and even an outdoor heated spa if you wanted to use it. There were two 30 minute treatments per person included in the price and even the ferry was included. All in all we had an excellent break which was tremendous value for money - I don't know how they do it for the price. Would thoroughly recommend and will be returning.

Room Tip: Room 126 is very nice superior room with four poster bed on the first floor over looking the front l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geraldandval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
825 reviews
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
807 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hall Hotel

Property: Melville Hall Hotel
Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#4 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melville Hall Hotel is located a few minutes stroll from the beautiful sandy beach of Sandown Bay, almost opposite Los Altos Park. With a wide range of facilities including Utopia SPA, you are guaranteed the relaxing break you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Melville Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hall Sandown
Hotel Melville Hall
Melville Hall Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing