We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Utopia Spa - best massage I have ever had!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melville Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Utopia Spa - best massage I have ever had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

Visiting friend who bought us both a day at this Spa. Hotel looked a little tired but staff excellent. As winter we could have used outdoor spa but opted for lovely heated indoor pool, spa, sauna or an infra red room which we did. Lunch included - very healthy and enormous fruit smoothies. Herbal teas available in our spa lounge area as well as continual hot packs for necks and shoulders. Hot stone massage using hot oil was absolute bliss. Having had a fall a few weeks previously hurting shoulder and "corked" thigh I felt like a new woman afterwards. Facial lovely too. We were advised to leave skin for 8 hours afterwards which we did and product used Decleor very good. Ideal place to spend day on cold winter day in UK. Tip don't put dressing gown on after swim! Dry first.

Room Tip: We didn't stay overnight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hsi52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    476
    161
    64
    59
See reviews for
91
762
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

I spent 4 days at the Hotel and had a lovely time, the staff are so friendly and do everything they can to help make your stay comfortable. They remember you and when ever they see you they always speak so that you feel at home and relaxed, the treatments are so good. I had a special deal where we each got 2 free treatments, which were great, plus my boyfriend and I spent ages in the pool area, relaxing and using the sauna facilities. The Therapists were very good and totally sensitive to our needs and made me feel very relaxed.
The overall Hotel was very clean and did not find any areas to complain about. The gardens were very nice and kept very tiday as well, can't wait to go back and use the outside pool in better weather.

Room Tip: Kingsize room's are huge. Four Poster Bed Room much smaller, but both clean and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

Melville Hall Hotel is a pleasant place to stay made by its staff who are all very friendly and efficient. The hotel itself is in need of some updating and refurbishment especially the bathrooms.

To be honest my first impression was not great but after I had experienced the staff from reception, restaurant and spa I warmed to the place and probably would re-visit.

The spa offered good treatments the other facilities were adequate and Dr Detox was good. The outdoor hot tub was a welcome treat on a sunny November day.

I have rated this as very good because there is not a good option but it is better than what I would call average.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front and with the window open you can hear the train at 6ish am and if cars lea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

This was our third visit to Melville Hall, and we were again made to feel very welcome. Although we had requested a first floor superior room at the front of the hotel, we were shown to a pleasant front facing room on the ground floor, with a four poster bed. In future we would prefer a larger bed without the four posts!
We had expected to receive a bottle of wine on arrival, but apparently that is only available if you book on line. The only two chairs in the bed room were rather worn former dining room chairs, which at our request were eventually replaced with two more comfortable chairs, but not till our last evening!
As before the food was excellent, even though the menue less varied.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for superior room. Spa rooms not worth the extra, as still very cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

This hotel is certainly not what it makes itself out to be. It looks great in the pictures which fooled me into booking it in the first place. I didn't take any pictures during my stay because it was so abysmal but now I wish I had so I could share how truly disgraceful and dirty it was! I felt totally conned as it was out of season, therefore reception closed at 8pm, along with the spa (which was supposed to close at 10pm) there was never anyone around to help when we needed it - and trust me there were a lot of problems! Dinner was completely overcooked, food was dry, home-made custard tasted of egg! Worst stay ever. And to top it all off there were extra charges on our bill at the end of our stay which we hadn't rightly accrued!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peacefulpiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

Very friendly staff. Fabulous outdoor hot tub. Lovely food. Nice comfortable beds. Great fish tank in the waiting area. Liked the robes that were issued. Pretty view of the hills from our room.

Hotel does need modernising in some areas with decor and doors. A few too many dusty and spidery corners on my visit. The blue letters on the outside of the hotel need updating as are tacky and don't indicate the classy touch that is found in the outside pool area. Indoor pool area is compact.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

Our two nights was very enjoyable >The staff were all very friendly especially in the restaurant . The food was excellent. The bedroom although on small side was spotlessly clean and comfortable . Had the pleasure of some treatments in the spa ,the attention from the staff could not be faulted. Looking forward to being able to visit again in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hall Hotel

Property: Melville Hall Hotel
Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#4 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melville Hall Hotel is located a few minutes stroll from the beautiful sandy beach of Sandown Bay, almost opposite Los Altos Park. With a wide range of facilities including Utopia SPA, you are guaranteed the relaxing break you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melville Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hall Sandown
Hotel Melville Hall
Melville Hall Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing