We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melville Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melville Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

I stayed at the Melville Hall Hotel on Wednesday and Thursday.The staff were extremely helpful and incredibly friendly.Steve was extremely helpful as I wanted to explore the island.The treatments were brilliant and I had a relaxing and very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coastalerosion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    468
    160
    63
    59
See reviews for
90
750
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

Stayed over on a saturday & sunday evening on a "special offer" 2 night break. Great value for money. Helpful staff, decent food, and good facillities throughout the hotel. We both had Massages as part of the deal and these were very pleasent. Reception very helpful, as were the Restaurant staff. Overall would happily recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

This establishment is rated as 3 stars and that is very much as far as it goes. Its a solid enough 3 stars however. We booked a 59 p.p. package - arriving on friday night

Pluses:
- nice, spacious and cozy room - a touch better then what you would expect of 3 stars. Standard bathroom - all well cleaned.
- Late closing time for the pool / spa (10pm)
- CAN be a good value for money IFF you pre-book your health package early enough - otherwise you will miss out. But be watchful of 10£ supplement per person on the weekends.
- Easy access / parking
- Service (reception / restaurant / bar) - welcoming and pleasant.

Minuses:
- The pool/spa area is tiny and in need of a re-fresh + renovation. There's yellow patches in places, rust in some. The whole thing feels like an afterthought and it really get too crowded to enjoy on the weekends. Of all spa hotels that I have visited, this was the smallest and simply not 'attractive' to enjoy and relax to.
- They do get a lot of guests on the weekends. We did not pre-book any of the health packages ( our fault), and found out upon arrival then there is nothing available for the next two days. To be honest, this might surprise a few as you would expect that the hotel would have enough staff to provide the service. But, again, with facilities that tiny, it does not surprise me.
- The breakfast had an 'ok' variety but it was average in quality. Even the local weatherspoon's would have a fresher and tastier english breakfast. Once, again, you can eat it, but you won't get much pleasure from it.
- If you add the car ferry price, miss out on the health treatment, add 10p.p. supplement it may indeed work out better to find something 4/5 stars off the island.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WILTSHIRE
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

I booked into the Melville Hall via Internet as i was attending a nearby Exhibition as did a number of my business acquaintances.

The show finished late so we all arrived at the hotel rather late as a consequence.

Check in was superb and a very friendly girl gave me a great welcome.

Then my troubles began...i thought i would go to the bar for a drink. There was a chap behind the bar in Steward apparel ....i could see him....but it seems he couldn't see me. He wandered off with a bottle of wine to serve in the Restaurant (four couples) and returned a few minutes later to serve me a drink as apparently i had now become visible.

Phone home, shower, change and then back down to the bar for 8:15pm for a slap up Dinner....right? Wrong!

The Steward with the selective eye sight informed my Business acquaintance and I that the hotel do not accept any new sittings in the Restaurant after 8pm.

Needless to say we complained stating that we were Residents and that surely we could be squeezed in?!

He was having none of it and became quite indigent that we were even questioning ancient hotel policy.

At this point i gave in and asked to see the Bar or Room Service menu...but guess what...."That facility does not exist in this hotel".

Please reference Fawlty Towers Episode 'The Kipper and the Corpse 1979' Doctor enters the bar asking for food late and is told by Sybil that Chef has locked the sausages away but Sandwiches are available and is even given a choice of fillings.
Oh dear Melville Hall......upstaged by spoof hotel set in the 70s!!!
You would of thought being close season the Hotel would be happy to increase revenue?

So at 8:30 pm (the complaining went on a bit!) we were left with no Dinner and no other option of food from the hotel. We asked reception for the number of a Takeaway that would deliver but after returning to the bar and dialling it proved to be unobtainable.....at this point i lost it and decided i couldn't be bothered..... The pair of us ate a large bag of Burts crisps supplied by a rep who collected some from his car...another two bottles of London Pride and then off to bed.

Breakfast was excellent as was the friendly serving staff.

Check out was good and friendly. I did complain to the nice lady that i thought the Dickensian Dinner policy was a joke and asked for email details of the manager to complain before placing any review on this site.
I emailed the next day stating that i would not place a review for two days....i heard nothing....so......

The room was ok.
Staff with the exception of the Bar Steward were all great including Spa staff who i passed on the corridors, who were all smiles.
All areas clean.
Excellent IOW Festival Memorabilia wall in the bar.

BUT Please please Melville Hall drag yourself into the 21st Century and put your guests first and not your ancient policies.
It is WE by staying and paying that are doing you the favour...not the other way around!

I will not get the chance to see any improvements if any...because i wont be going back!

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank deeperblue82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

Having read the reviews we were looking forward to a 2 day spa stay at the Melville Hall. However we did no get that far. Having tried to book online without success, I tried to contact the hotel direct. The phone rang for ages before an answerphone requested your details and someone would ring back. No-one returned my call, so the next day I again tried to contact the hotel again to no avail,not even an answerphone. I eventually got an answer some 36hours after initial contact but the person was unable to answer my queries stating the member of staff I required to speak to was busy. That was a fair comment, however I just needed to see if the dates I required were available otherwise there was no point in persuing the matter further. They were able to check this and confirmed they were. I was unable to put a reserve on until the other member of staff could speak to me! That other member of staff didnt contact me until some five and half hours later! Then there was no availability!! Hence there was no booking. So we have booked elswhere.....not impressed!

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

We had 1 night stay. Unfortunately, because we did not read the literature correctly, we were unable to take advantage of the treatments offered. The very helpful receptionist said she would ask a couple of the therapists if they would come in early the next day, but hey! This was our error not theirs so we did not want to put anyone out. We had full access to the pool, spa, and sauna and to be honest, that was fine by us. The room was lovely. Very homely and the beds were the best I've ever slept on.So comfortable! Even my companion didn't complain about her back aching! We will be returning and also reading the literature more carefully next time! We recommend whether for a spa break or just to stay.

Room Tip: We chose a superior twin room. It was of good size and well decorated. The shower was a dream
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

For a relaxing weekend within an excellent atmosphere good service from the staff at the hotel you will feel chilled and refreshed. The evening of arrival we relaxed in the pool, Dr Detox and sauna before going for a lovely four course meal. Ensure you have a massage or treatment to add to the weekends enjoyment. We were a little apprehensive at the three star but found the hotel worth the stay and recommend this as a place to enjoy and would go back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hall Hotel

Property: Melville Hall Hotel
Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#4 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melville Hall Hotel is located a few minutes stroll from the beautiful sandy beach of Sandown Bay, almost opposite Los Altos Park. With a wide range of facilities including Utopia SPA, you are guaranteed the relaxing break you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, SpeedyBooker.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Melville Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hall Sandown
Hotel Melville Hall
Melville Hall Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing