We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melville Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Slough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Booked this on a deal with Amazon - 2 nights bed and breakfast with evening dinner included for the first night and a half hour spa treatment each free. This is a 3 star hotel and it doesn't really warrant any more. The spa treatment was a lovely touch, dinner well was ok but nothing to rave about. The room well net curtains really needed to be put in the bin, signs of wear and tear and could really do with a make over but as said you get what you pay for. The shower was fantastic. Staff good, breakfast ok. Not sure I would go back to the same hotel friends that were with us said it was a little " Faulty Towers" .

Room Tip: We paid an extra £40.00 - £20.00 per night to upgrade to a four poster - wish we hadn't bothered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    498
    166
    68
    61
See reviews for
93
800
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

On arrival at the hotel we were warmly welcomed by reception staff. Our accommodation was lovely with a very comfortable bed, spacious room and really warm. Food in the restaurant was exceptional with a menu that offered a wide variety to choose from. Spa treatments were enjoyable and relaxing and the therapist was lovely. The indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna were a great treat. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We booked this hotel via a Groupon deal, if we hadn't got the discount we would of been VERY unhappy.

The receptionist when we arrived was very unfriendly, the room was adequate but bath was left dirty, the two single beds pushed together had ripped bedding and when we left I unfortunately left some jewellery in the room and the cleaners "didn't find it".

The photos on the website make the hotel look much better than it actually is.

The spa - small but adequate, jacuzzi had filthy brown water :-(.

Restaurant - dinner was nice, breakfast was ok but would need to get in early to get any fruit.

Overall not a great hotel but if you get a cheap enough deal then it does the job.

Room Tip: Ask for a double bed rather than two single beds pushed together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 201Stacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

What a lovely place,even taking into account the snow. Never been to the Isle of Wight before and this was a pleasant introduction. The hotel was like something out of the 1970's but definitely one of the nice things. The food was good, wholesome and very well presented and served with a very nice atmosphere by a waiting on team who couldn't do enough for you. This was matched by reception and cleaning staff who genuinely seemed to take a pride in their efforts
The island is very peaceful with some pretty and interesting little towns where the people are warm and friendly.
If you get the chance give it a whirl especially with a Groupon

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Took my mother in law and daughter for a swim, sauna etc and then a 30 minute treatment each. The treatments and staff were excellent. The pool area is small and in desperate need of a refurb. It felt like going to a public swimming pool rather than a spa.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoppyAug73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Had a 2 night stay at this spa-hotel through a website deal. The staff were really friendly and helpful so we immediately felt welcome. The room was nice enough and the en-suite with spa bath was very nice and clean. However, there was no soundproofing at all, so heard everything in the corridor and the light came through under the door, which woke my husband & I up constantly on the first night. Second night we put a dressing gown along the gap under the door which helped. Either that, or we were so knackered we slept straight through! The room also got ridiculously hot even with the window open - not sure why. The food was very nice, although I think breakfast portions could be bigger. A nice fish selection on the dinner menu. The spa was smaller than we expected, so when we walked in, the sauna, detox booths and jacuzzi were full and continued to be hogged, so we just used the pool (which is pretty small) for a bit, grabbed 10 minutes in a detox booth when it became free and then left. I think a steam room would be a welcome addition (my personal favourite in a spa!). Had a facial and scalp massage which were brilliant! For spa hotel facilities, probably wouldn't stay again, but a good base for somewhere to stay and great treatments.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londonshaz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

hotel is ok
looked on website there ratings were pretty good so thought i would give them a try..
not as clean as wold be expected from any hotel, food was ok but again nothing better than a takeaway but a bit more expensive.
would i stay again ?
would not go and look it up

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
828 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
836 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hall Hotel

Property: Melville Hall Hotel
Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#4 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melville Hall Hotel is located a few minutes stroll from the beautiful sandy beach of Sandown Bay, almost opposite Los Altos Park. With a wide range of facilities including Utopia SPA, you are guaranteed the relaxing break you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Melville Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hall Sandown
Hotel Melville Hall
Melville Hall Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing