We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, dated Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melville Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
berkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Staff, dated Hotel!”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We got a deal from LivingSocial for a two night break with dinner 1 night and breakfast, ferry crossing and mini spa treatments included. We upgraded our spa treatments and were both very happy we did so, total cost almost £250. We travelled mid April 2013.

Parking - There does seem to be a lack of parking on the premises but we always found a spot and never needed to park outside on the street, not sure if that would be the case at peak season!

Staff - The dinner staff were exceptional! Really friendly, polite and professional. The Spa girls who did our massages were very knowledgeable and gave fantastic massages. Reception were a little hit and miss and sometimes gave an 'offish' air and I found it wasn't always easy to approach them. Otherwise, all very helpful.

Room - Ok sized medium room with a wardrobe, dressing table, and 2 bedside tables. Nice big bed which was very comfy. Bathroom, although a little narrow, was a good length, excellent shower and nice sink. Seems like the bathroom was new but the room was very dated. Nothing looked tatty and grimey though so we were happy. Never heard anything from neighbouring rooms and we had a very fitful sleep both nights!

Food - The dinner on the first night was excellent (and a lot of it!) Breakfast was nice too, nothing to wow about but hot breakfast was still tasty.

Spa - Small, sometimes busy, tiny jacuzzi that couples went in one at a time. You did feel watched and timed sometimes as other people wanted to go in next, so doesn't really help on the relaxing front! The jacuzzi was very foamy and there was a filmy oil on the pool but I did see a sign that the Spa would be closed for cleaning for a few days at the end of the month, so it should hopefully be as new again and running perfect! The evenings in the spa (generally after 5pm) seemed alot quieter which was nice! The Dr Detox chambers seemed very popular and were always busy also. I didn't like being in my robe in the "relaxation" area. Reception is right there and the bar around the corner. This area is communal and anyone could sit there, not just spa members and people would walk by you to go to the bar, I find that a little mis-leading and want to relax before and after my treatment, not be cold and have people going back and forth through there.

Hotel overall - This is a dated hotel (blue curtains and carpets if that tells you anything..) Which I found really let the place down! It really needs an uplift and I wouldn't suggest it for young people in there 20's. This is more of an "oldy" hotel, quiet and dated. For a relaxed and early night, it's good to go. Unfortunately, we wouldn't stay here again and would be happy to pay more for a more updated hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muuci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    489
    164
    68
    59
See reviews for
93
788
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

As a late booking we didn't have very high expectations, their staff were very helpful & friendly both upon booking, on arrival & during our stay. But! the rooms were cold even with an extra heater. The walls are paper thin, so 'nothing' was left to our imagination....The spa area is small but again had friendly staff and it is spread out around the reception area. The pool had a layer of what looked like oil over it & not very inviting. The whirlpool whipped up so much foam - it stuck to peoples bodies like a scum, so we didn't go in there. I did like the Dr Detox boxes though. The shower room in the spa area didn't have locking doors and looked as though they hadn't been cleaned out for days-soap scum all around the shower base. The food was above average, hot and a reasonable choice for a set menu.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FallenByTheWayside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I don't normally write reviews but I feel that after this weekends visit to Melville Hall Hotel I should! We stayed on an Amazon package deal of 2 night B&B with 2 x 30 minute spa treatments and evening meal on the first night. We upgraded our room to a superior for an extra £20 per night. I was lead to believe by the booking clerk that it was larger and had a kingsize bed, had a spa bath, magazines, free wifi, glasses, corkscrew and free room service, and satellite channels, the website also boats of a larger selection of spa toiletries in the superior rooms and quality furniture and lighting. Well, it was large and had a very large and comfy bed - so large that the duvet was too small for it. But there was no magazines, no corkscrew, or glasses and as we were the last room on the run the wifi didn't reach us (but to be honest the wifi was shockingly slow even in main reception - how they can boast business breaks I'll never know). I would love to see the array of spa toiletries in the basic rooms as we only had a bar of soap and 2 small bottles of shower gel. Also be aware the Satellite channels are in fact free-view received via a dish. No SKY Sports here I'm afraid! The furniture was cheap and tacky and had seen better days - obviously people's opinions of quality vastly differs! The room was also cold and VERY VERY VERY noisy. You could hear EVERYTHING from the rooms above - the TV - they too liked corrie!!!, talking, moving about and all bodily functions. It wasn't the fault of the people above they were just doing normal stuff but to us laying wide awake at 4am both nights it wasn't what we were expecting. Don't get me wrong - I knew it was a cheap deal and at 3 stars we shouldn't expect much but if you were paying right price for that room then it would be a disgrace. The room was a bit like the whole hotel - clean but shabby, a whole revamp and some injection of atmosphere was badly needed. On the plus side the food was good and the spa treatments (even though you only got about 20 minutes - as you had to fill out forms and they left you to relax for 10) were good. We didn't use the 'spa' pool and sauna etc but it looked cramped and full and they were lots of non-residents coming in to use the facilities. What made us laugh is that the Spa reception is the same desk at the main reception and the 'relaxation lounge' is the bar. So there were lots of people walking around in robes - we felt like we were at some kind of 'all adults' resort - if you know what I mean!!! The outdoor pool and grounds looked lovely. The car park was poor. For a 30+ bedroom hotel it had parking spaces for less than half the rooms and we noticed that lots of the spaces were taken up with staff cars, leaving guests to park on the double yellow lines outside the hotel or in the side streets.

My only other gripes are the reception staff. Check-in was 2pm. We were 5 minutes early and when I asked about checking in I got a rather abrupt "check-in opens at 2pm" No "Welcome to Melvill Hall" or anything like that. When my husband mentioned the noisy room the lady got defensive, so much so that he didn't want to raise the subject of the lack of room facilities that had been described on the website. I asked whether we could take breakfast in our room, and apparently that was not what room service was and if we wanted room service (which was basically the bar lunch menu) it wasn't actually available as they didn't have the staff during off-peak periods. Please Melville Hall, DONT advertise something you are not providing.
Also the bar is staffed by the reception so if you want a drink at check-in time be prepared to wait!
The waiting staff in the restaurant were pleasant and attentive and the food was very good.


I think my main issues - apart from the noisy room - is how the website paints a picture of relaxation, quality and it being a premier hotel. Now I know for 3 stars it wont be all that but to promise things that aren't there is not good! I believe most of the people there were on similar cheap deals but there is no excuse for dropping standards. I will however congratulate them on their website - the photos make it look great and the wordings are very clever. Shame it doesn't match up with the reality.

In conclusion this was a 3 star hotel in a good location (10 minutes walk from the beach) with a spa, indoor and outdoor pool, restaurant and bar - with all these facilities there must be something preventing it from getting that 4th star!!! Please don't pay full price for this hotel - we priced up what we received on the basis that it wasn't in a package deal and for the same price (£522) we could have had one night including dinner, breakfast and a 60 minute spa treatment at the Grove in Hertfordshire, voted one of the top Spa hotels in the country - I know where we will be going next year and it won't involve having to take our ear plugs!

Room Tip: Dont go for anything from - 001 to 005 as it they are accessed by a cold, dark and smelly corridor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MatildaMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Booked this on a deal with Amazon - 2 nights bed and breakfast with evening dinner included for the first night and a half hour spa treatment each free. This is a 3 star hotel and it doesn't really warrant any more. The spa treatment was a lovely touch, dinner well was ok but nothing to rave about. The room well net curtains really needed to be put in the bin, signs of wear and tear and could really do with a make over but as said you get what you pay for. The shower was fantastic. Staff good, breakfast ok. Not sure I would go back to the same hotel friends that were with us said it was a little " Faulty Towers" .

Room Tip: We paid an extra £40.00 - £20.00 per night to upgrade to a four poster - wish we hadn't bothered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

On arrival at the hotel we were warmly welcomed by reception staff. Our accommodation was lovely with a very comfortable bed, spacious room and really warm. Food in the restaurant was exceptional with a menu that offered a wide variety to choose from. Spa treatments were enjoyable and relaxing and the therapist was lovely. The indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna were a great treat. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We booked this hotel via a Groupon deal, if we hadn't got the discount we would of been VERY unhappy.

The receptionist when we arrived was very unfriendly, the room was adequate but bath was left dirty, the two single beds pushed together had ripped bedding and when we left I unfortunately left some jewellery in the room and the cleaners "didn't find it".

The photos on the website make the hotel look much better than it actually is.

The spa - small but adequate, jacuzzi had filthy brown water :-(.

Restaurant - dinner was nice, breakfast was ok but would need to get in early to get any fruit.

Overall not a great hotel but if you get a cheap enough deal then it does the job.

Room Tip: Ask for a double bed rather than two single beds pushed together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 201Stacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

What a lovely place,even taking into account the snow. Never been to the Isle of Wight before and this was a pleasant introduction. The hotel was like something out of the 1970's but definitely one of the nice things. The food was good, wholesome and very well presented and served with a very nice atmosphere by a waiting on team who couldn't do enough for you. This was matched by reception and cleaning staff who genuinely seemed to take a pride in their efforts
The island is very peaceful with some pretty and interesting little towns where the people are warm and friendly.
If you get the chance give it a whirl especially with a Groupon

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
825 reviews
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
804 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hall Hotel

Property: Melville Hall Hotel
Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#4 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melville Hall Hotel is located a few minutes stroll from the beautiful sandy beach of Sandown Bay, almost opposite Los Altos Park. With a wide range of facilities including Utopia SPA, you are guaranteed the relaxing break you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Melville Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hall Sandown
Hotel Melville Hall
Melville Hall Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing