We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melville Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We were very warmly welcomed by the staff who couldn't do enough for us. We felt at home immediately we stepped inside the hotel. We would definitely visit again. It was so convenient for everything; the beach, the transport and the shopping. It wasn't too commercalised but there was plenty to keep everyone happy. There were really nice places to stop for a coffee overlooking the sea.

Room Tip: We overlooked the front which was very quiet and pleasant
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,258)
There are newer reviews for Melville Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

722 - 728 of 1,258 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013

Booked a weekend break, 2 night B&B with one night 3 course dinner and a Spa experience.
Cannot fault the staff, all attentive and wanting to please.
The food, especially the evening meal was probably amongst the best I have eaten whilst staying at a hotel and infact had the same one again on the second night because I enjoyed it so much.
The room we had was spaceous and comfortable but perhaps could benefit from a little TLC/updating.
Overall a thouroughly enjoyable weekend and would not hesitate to recommend for a short break.

Room Tip: Corner rooms appear to be bigger, no real issues with noise as off the main road.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayflower011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We first stayed here in February and were impressed at how friendly and helpful the staff were. The rooms were comfortable and the spa facilities excellent. In addition we had treatments which left us feeling relaxed and content. We were so impressed we returned for a second visit in April, the hotel was slightly busier but the friendly greeting and care we received on arrival and throughout our stay was second to none. We will definately recommend the hotel to friends and will look forwards to our next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malarkin_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We stayed this weekend, my daughter and I. We are not due to leave until tomorrow and do not want to leave. The hotel is a 5 minute stroll from a glorious sandy beach. Lovely walks at your fingertips. The staff at the hotel are wonderful reception staff are friendly and courteous,spa staff are just as wonderful as my local spa staff, where all treatments costs three times the price. Dimmed lights, soft music, soft warm towels...come on, what more do you need?? The restaurant food is really good, the choice is plentiful, presented beautifully, large amounts and again, just as good as a 5 star would deliver. The room is SPOTLESS as is the on- suite, bed is a bit hard but by the end of a full day of beaches, pampering and good food, you will sleep like a baby. We are already planning a return for 8 weeks time , and we have not even left yet!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eaton1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Had a mini break at this small hotel on the Isle of wight. Wonderful, the food was very good and well presented but it was the staff who made it memorable, they couldn't have been more helpful and cheerful with it, really did make all the difference, so well done and thankyou for a memorable wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisrichards13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

After reading the reviews on this site we were concerned at what we would find. Luckily when we arrived we discovered that most of the reviews must have been written by people whose glasses are always half full or who expect 5 star treatment/quality everywhere they go! We were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff and were checked in very quickly. The room was nice but could do with a small amount of TLC particularly the en-suite, but this did not detract from our weekend.
The dinner on our first night, part of the offer, was as good as or better then you get in some top restaurants. The food was cooked and presented to a high standard and the service from both the waiting staff and the barman were very attentive.
Luckily when we stayed the weather wasn't too bad so we decided to use the outdoor pool area, though we weren't brave enough to leave the hot tub to venture into the pool! Would recommend you give it a try if you have the benefit of nice weather when you stay. The indoor leisure area was good, although unfortunately when we were there the hot tub had a fault, but at least they had the outdoor one.
The spa treatments we had were very good and relaxing. The back, neck and shoulder massage was just what I needed after driving for four hours.
Overall this hotel is a good place to stay for a long weekend of relaxing and spa treatments, as long as you aren't like most on here who expect more than what they book!
I would like to thank the staff and management at the hotel for a nice relaxing holiday, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_engineer-83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Enjoyable 2 night break at this comfortable hotel on the edge of Sandown and close to the railway station. Good evening meal with tasty crab cakes and followed by delicious pork main course. Breakfast was filling but my wife missed a selection of fresh fruit as an alternative to cooked breakfast.
Small but well equipped spa facilities with pool and sauna. Very good facial treatment from enthusiastic young beautician !
Good hotel for young & older couples.

Room Tip: Bring slippers or flip flops for the spa
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
736 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
433 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 51 in Shanklin
852 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hall Hotel

Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#4 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: £76 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melville Hall Hotel is located a few minutes stroll from the beautiful sandy beach of Sandown Bay, almost opposite Los Altos Park. With a wide range of facilities including Utopia SPA, you are guaranteed the relaxing break you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Melville Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hall Sandown
Hotel Melville Hall
Melville Hall Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing