We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 nights at the Melville Hall Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melville Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Penzance, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“3 nights at the Melville Hall Hotel”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My husband and I booked this mini break for his birthday and our wedding anniversary. We stayed for 3 nights and had a really good time, totally relaxed. We used the outdoor pool and the hot tub and I also had treatment in the spa. The food in the restaurant was excellent and the staff were charming. The bed was very comfortable and not too firm and our room looked out over the swimming pool which was very pleasant. There wasn't a lift but staff were available to carry suitcases upstairs if you needed them. We would visit again if we had the opportunity,

Room Tip: A room overlooking the pool is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muriel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    498
    166
    68
    61
See reviews for
93
800
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We had a great stay at the hotel, and the bedrooms were very clean and well equipped, the reception was very efficient, and staff very friendly.
The dining room was very pleasant, and the food was very good, both at breakfast, and dinner.
We did not use the pool, or the hot tub, but plenty of the guests enjoyed these facilities.
We would defiantly go back to this hotel, in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rayhart1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2013

had a lovely midweek break. heated outside and hot tub were very inviting.we stayed as part of a package,the hotel was well decorated through out and very clean. the restaurant was full at dinner which is always a good sigh.food was great
and well priced.lovely bottle of ros'e to wash it down with.i would visit again if ever we came back to the isle.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I brought a group of eight people to this spa hotel and we all agreed that it was an excellent place to spend our short island break. It's situated off the main road so it's peaceful, but it's just a short downhill walk to the sea front. Best of both worlds. The rooms were varied but all good. The hotel facilities were again, good, but in some areas, could do with a touch up. The spa facilities were excellent and we made good use of them. Breakfast was very good, and plenty of it. If I go to that area again the first place I will look up will be the Melville Hall Hotel.

Room Tip: All of our rooms were on the second floor facing the car park. Well recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SB5253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Only stayed for two nights, room very nice, food was fantastic, lovely pool and jacuzzi, staff was very helpful. Nice location, central to everything.Train service on the doorstep, nice park at the bottom of the road, short walk to the seafront, where there is a pier and nice beach, also a few restaurant. will be going back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra2543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

took a short break through TravelZoo offer and didn't expect a lot. Well first impressions were good with a warm and informative welcome at reception. The room (231) was right at the top and in the old section although the ensuite (nearly as large as the bedroom) was in the link to the new bit and down some steps... not a problem for us. The room well presented and although not particularly big was perfectly ok for our short break. Although on the front and this was advised against in some reviews because of the road noise - I do not know where the noise came from as the road was cul de sac and the hotel near the bottom so there was very little traffic and even the railway line nearby could hardly be heard. We live in a rural area so are not used to a lot of traffic noise but were not disturbed. Food was good and a good selection of meals although we did have slower service when the restaurant was full this was still not too bad and gave a break between courses. Overall a good experience and would consider again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Have been to a spa day at this hotel many times. Fabulous outdoor pool and hot tub also indoor pool. Lunch was really lovely. Coffee and tea available all day included in spa day price. Treatment are really good too. Going to go again in the next few weeks.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islanders1629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
828 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
836 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hall Hotel

Property: Melville Hall Hotel
Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#4 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melville Hall Hotel is located a few minutes stroll from the beautiful sandy beach of Sandown Bay, almost opposite Los Altos Park. With a wide range of facilities including Utopia SPA, you are guaranteed the relaxing break you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Melville Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hall Sandown
Hotel Melville Hall
Melville Hall Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing