We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melville Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great value for money”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Great offer for this hotel including the ferry on the website. I found this hotel great value for money against what you pay as the service and rooms were of a good standard.
The outdoor pool and jacuzzi was great though a shame all the jets didn't work but was still lovely on an evening after a day out



  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ktwinchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    501
    167
    68
    61
See reviews for
93
805
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
wells, somerset
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Great value break that included very good evening meals and relaxing by the sunny pool. Very clean throughout the hotel. Staff were always helpfull. Note that you are entitled to bath robes to go to the sauna area which was forgotten. Will go again in the summer.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n0mad57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

So I stayed here with my partner for 2 nights it was ok. I actually liked the outdated look the outdoor and indoor pool where good. The food was good too not wow and the breakfast was lovely too. Upon arrival we where greeted well and got sent to our room the room was ok was going to drink water but the water had a lipstick mark on it was not pleased at all. Can not believe it. In the night there where bunch of kids running up & down the corridor. The 2nd day no one cleaned the room which was weird. Also the 2nd day the wifi was not working at all complained at reception and was told it was fine as no one has complained. Asked guest around and they all said we are not using it (looks like they where waiting for people to complain) and then check out which was annoying I got told to pay for the ferry and the massage when it was included looks like they don't check nothing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Butt_5054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff Wales
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Spent three nights at the hotel in September. A lot has been said previously about the hotel being dated, but that does not make It bad, very similar to other hotels found in Victorian resorts all around Britain.
We had a superior room on the ground floor at the front of the hotel. The room was large clean well furnished and the bed was really comfortable. The hotel location is nice and quiet yet within easy reach of the centre of Sandown. We had one dinner and breakfast each day the food was very good no complaints at all. The swimming pool facilities are very good and we used the outdoor pool every day.
All the staff we had contact with we're very friendly and helpful.
Would return to this hotel if in the area again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tafftraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Excellent service from all staff from the start of our break to the end. Really felt the staff were extra polite and willing to do their best. Fantastic food in the restaurant. Great professional service and treatment at the spa. We did not use the leisure and pool facilities as we were out and about a lot exploring, but they looked lovely. Thank you for a lovely break!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluejeans791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanwell, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Really friendly staff, but rooms a bit dated. Dinner was good quality but a bit pricey. Breakfast was a bit measly. But the spa and swimming pools really do add to the value of the hotel. Great location with a 5 minute walk to sandown beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Back to the Island to the Melville Hall after a two year break. Helped by the glorious weather found the facilities as good as ever, great new pool with luxury poolside furniture. Enjoyed the inside pool sauna etc early morning, and first night inclusive dinner was amongst the best we have had in a long time and we eat out extensively in UK and Europe. Noel whose ability to multi task is as good as ever was his usual charming self, and our corner spa bath room was as comfortable and quiet as before. Look forward to speedy return visit Chris and Fenella Butcher

Room Tip: Corner room 1st floor with Spa bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
724 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
428 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
843 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hall Hotel

Property: Melville Hall Hotel
Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#4 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melville Hall Hotel is located a few minutes stroll from the beautiful sandy beach of Sandown Bay, almost opposite Los Altos Park. With a wide range of facilities including Utopia SPA, you are guaranteed the relaxing break you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melville Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hall Sandown
Hotel Melville Hall
Melville Hall Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing