We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing spa break with friends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melville Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Have been several times before to this hotel and once again thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff very helpful and pleased to see us. The food and restaurant staff were first class and we all thought the three star rating should have been a four star rating. The leisure suite, spa facilities and treatments were excellent with plenty of choice and value for money. Hotel location is in a very quiet area so we were able to get a good nights sleep and the adults only rule is an excellent one (although we do like children). The only negative thing I would comment on which has nothing to do with the hotel is the appalling state of the roads. After a drive around the island getting lost several times due to poor signage we all felt we had been sat in a tumble drier - thoroughly beaten up!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol_Starkey, Public Relations Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments and of course for choosing Melville hall Hotel & Utopia Spa to visit again. It's always a real pleasure for the staff to welcome back guests. So pleased you once again found everything to your liking. The location is perfect for relaxation so glad you were able to get a great nights sleep.
Sorry you found the roads so bad - hope the relaxing hotel ambiance was able to counter that. We will pass on your comments
Very much hope that we will see you again sometime soon in the future for another visit.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

637 - 643 of 1,264 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

We booked a special offer short break to this hotel, not sure what to expect. We got 1st class service from all the staff, happy and extremly helpful. The food was excellent and fresh, the rooms warm and clean, and the facilities were great for such a small friendly hotel. We did have the added advantage of excellent weather for the time of year so also used the outdoor pool and jacuzzi. Can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: Room 128 is a good size twin room with a very nice bathroom, fine to share.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol_Starkey, Public Relations Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments and for choosing Melville Hall for your break. We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us and found everything to your liking. The weather has been wonderful for this time of year so I'm glad you were able to experience the fabulous outdoor spa experience pool and hot tub.
We too can't wait for you to visit again! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We booked this with our friends all of us over 65 had read comments on tripadvisor so was curious it was delightful staff were wonderful food great no complaints from us and we would love to return so don't let negative reviews put anyone off

Room Tip: We had a room at the front and it was very quiet
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol_Starkey, Public Relations Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you so much for your comments and for choosing Melville Hall for your break. We are so pleased to hear your group enjoyed their stay and found the staff wonderful and the food great. We are delighted to hear that you will visit again and very much look forward to seeing you when you return and will ensure you have a great stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I booked this as a surprise treat for my husband's birthday and indeed we both had a great time. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and any requests were dealt with in a prompt manner, including changing the return ferry for us when we decided to stay on another day.
The breakfast had a good variety and really set us up for the day ahead. Dinner in the restaurant which was included for one night was excellent and the service could not be faulted. I made use of the Spa facilities and came away feeling more relaxed and that I really had a break from everyday life.
Outside were plenty of chairs and sun loungers available for use.
Overall the room was very clean and the bathroom facilities were freshened up everyday. It is in a very peaceful location and we both slept well and the bed was very comfortable.
The location of the hotel is handy for both bus services and trains if you do not have a car.
We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to friends and family, and I cannot understand some of the adverse comments other reviewers have made.

Room Tip: I choose a Superior room as it was a special treat for us, but in future I feel the standard room wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol_Starkey, Public Relations Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Melville Hall for your husband's birthday treat and for taking the time to provide feedback on your visit. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you would have no hesitation in recommending us. So glad that you took time out to enjoy the spa facilities and that you felt the benefit from these.
We do hope you are able to come and visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Booked three day break by phone, very helpful , and managed to "Shoehorn" us in at short notice, explained that we would have to change rooms after our first night, no problem.
Ferry booked and included with first night was Dinner, excellent three course meal.
Both rooms 002 and 125 were clean, but both lacked a Room safe, also not all the lights worked!

The meals were excellent, and and a wide choice for Dinner, we both made full use of the Spa, Saunas, Massage and Manicure etc, clean and tidy.
For us best Tourist attractions were Osborne House and the Garlic Farm, (once we had found it) Roads were very poor and signs were often in short supply, those we did see were often covered by vegetation.

The shops seemed very dated and many just full of Tourist tat, the best were at Osborne House and Godshill, a good Tesco outside Ryde and very good Waitrose near Cowers ferry port,
We would happily go back to this Hotel but the Roads do need improving!

Room Tip: Both rooms were good but all lights should work and rooms Safes were sadly lacking,do book on the ph...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRIAN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol_Starkey, Public Relations Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Many thanks for your review Brian. So pleased we were able to accommodate you for your break and delighted to hear how helpful you found our team to be.
Thank you for highlighting the problem with the lights - we have re-introduced maintenance reporting to ensure we avoid a similar issue in the future.
We'll also be sure to pass on your comments regarding the road signage.
Glad you enjoyed your stay and do hope to see you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

On arrival we were asked to pay our bill for the week! Not a particularly welcoming arrangement! As has been mentioned in other reviews, the hotel is somewhat tired looking and the room we occupied, although it was a reasonable size, was not particularly clean. Plenty of dust in behind the bedside cabinets and in the upholstry of the chairs. The bathroom had seen better days in that the repairs were not up to much, the showere had bits missing and the loo brush was pretty disgusting. We only had dinner in the restaurant on the one occasion, as the food was pretty bland and expensive. However, breakfast was always very good, with plenty of variety. Would have liked to see more fresh fruit available and the yoghourts in a cooler or a bowl of ice, so they were kept cool, rather than luke-warm. The location of the hotel is excellent, handy for the beach, bus/train services and local shops. The staff were always helpful and friendly and provided plenty of ideas for places to see in the local area etc. The Isle of Wight is a great place to visit and we will no doubt return. However, The Melville Hall will not be on our shortlist of hotels for our next visit to the island!

Room Tip: Avoid Room 237 - Tired bathroom: no net curtains, noisey (dirty) extractor fan, toilet flush in need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_304_908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

A very cramped 'superior' room that had not been cleaned properly was followed by waiting for our main course for over an hour along with the other guests. We cut short our 3 night stay and left the next morning

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TimDAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
745 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
860 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hall Hotel

Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#4 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: £60 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melville Hall Hotel is located a few minutes stroll from the beautiful sandy beach of Sandown Bay, almost opposite Los Altos Park. With a wide range of facilities including Utopia SPA, you are guaranteed the relaxing break you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melville Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hall Sandown
Hotel Melville Hall
Melville Hall Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing