We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Spa Day!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Melville Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Spa Day!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Thanks, Hannah, for giving us the VIP treatment when we came for our spa day recently! Very much enjoyed it and liked the way that everything ran seamlessly. Thanks also to the therapists - we really enjoyed our massages and facials, etc.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Fizzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol_Starkey, Public Relations Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent spa day and delighted to hear how everything ran seamlessly for you. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    484
    163
    66
    59
See reviews for
93
774
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wisborough Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel which had been booked on our behalf as part of a weekend group visit to the IOW. On arrival we received a warm and efficient greeting from the reception staff. The dining room and bar areas are clean and well-furnished. The food is good too. The outside pool area and spa is fabulous but we didn't get time to use the facilities unfortunately. Our room was very clean and comfortable but there was a bit of black mould in the bathroom. What we did appreciate was how well equipped the room was, everything we would like and more. Would definitely revisit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jax235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol_Starkey, Public Relations Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to feedback on your recent stay at Melville Hall. We are delighted to hear that you found the staff to be warm and efficient and the hotel clean and well furnished. What a shame you didn't get time to use the wonderful pools! You must try these out on your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Spent the weekend here with a large group of friends - package included breakfast & dinner. The food was very good, particularly the evening meals which were presented well; adequate in quantity and piping hot. To serve that many people at one time, Roger the Chef and his staff deserve a medal. We had one of the largest King rooms - adequate but nothing special and certainly less than we hoped. Internet access was imperative this weekend and to say it is available in all rooms is like saying, "similar to the Mediterranean, Britain gets sunshine". We complained and very quickly, the hotel responded by getting an IT man out (twice) but unless one sat on the very small loo or stood by the door, it was painfully slow if not non-existant. On the whole, a nice weekend but in summer without aircon, I'd have to give it a miss despite the two lovely pools.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triple777uk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Tripadvisor following your stay at Melville Hall. I am sorry that I was not able to improve the connectivity of the wifi for you but following your stay we have reviewed the wifi and will be investing in installing a more substantial system which will offer a more reliable service throughout the hotel. Unlike most hotels we will not be charging our customers for wifi to recoup the investment, I believe it is imperative to offer best value to our guests and this new system will help facilitate that.

I was very pleased to hear you enjoyed the food at the hotel, it was indeed a pleasure to cater for "Jolly Good Tours" once again, and we had some lovely feedback from the group you were a part of.

I hope that should Jim look to return to Melville Hall (we have hosted his group previously with great success), that you may consider a return visit, and will be able to see the improvements we have been making to all aspects of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Have been several times before to this hotel and once again thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff very helpful and pleased to see us. The food and restaurant staff were first class and we all thought the three star rating should have been a four star rating. The leisure suite, spa facilities and treatments were excellent with plenty of choice and value for money. Hotel location is in a very quiet area so we were able to get a good nights sleep and the adults only rule is an excellent one (although we do like children). The only negative thing I would comment on which has nothing to do with the hotel is the appalling state of the roads. After a drive around the island getting lost several times due to poor signage we all felt we had been sat in a tumble drier - thoroughly beaten up!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol_Starkey, Public Relations Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments and of course for choosing Melville hall Hotel & Utopia Spa to visit again. It's always a real pleasure for the staff to welcome back guests. So pleased you once again found everything to your liking. The location is perfect for relaxation so glad you were able to get a great nights sleep.
Sorry you found the roads so bad - hope the relaxing hotel ambiance was able to counter that. We will pass on your comments
Very much hope that we will see you again sometime soon in the future for another visit.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We booked a special offer short break to this hotel, not sure what to expect. We got 1st class service from all the staff, happy and extremly helpful. The food was excellent and fresh, the rooms warm and clean, and the facilities were great for such a small friendly hotel. We did have the added advantage of excellent weather for the time of year so also used the outdoor pool and jacuzzi. Can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: Room 128 is a good size twin room with a very nice bathroom, fine to share.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol_Starkey, Public Relations Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments and for choosing Melville Hall for your break. We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us and found everything to your liking. The weather has been wonderful for this time of year so I'm glad you were able to experience the fabulous outdoor spa experience pool and hot tub.
We too can't wait for you to visit again! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We booked this with our friends all of us over 65 had read comments on tripadvisor so was curious it was delightful staff were wonderful food great no complaints from us and we would love to return so don't let negative reviews put anyone off

Room Tip: We had a room at the front and it was very quiet
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol_Starkey, Public Relations Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you so much for your comments and for choosing Melville Hall for your break. We are so pleased to hear your group enjoyed their stay and found the staff wonderful and the food great. We are delighted to hear that you will visit again and very much look forward to seeing you when you return and will ensure you have a great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I booked this as a surprise treat for my husband's birthday and indeed we both had a great time. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and any requests were dealt with in a prompt manner, including changing the return ferry for us when we decided to stay on another day.
The breakfast had a good variety and really set us up for the day ahead. Dinner in the restaurant which was included for one night was excellent and the service could not be faulted. I made use of the Spa facilities and came away feeling more relaxed and that I really had a break from everyday life.
Outside were plenty of chairs and sun loungers available for use.
Overall the room was very clean and the bathroom facilities were freshened up everyday. It is in a very peaceful location and we both slept well and the bed was very comfortable.
The location of the hotel is handy for both bus services and trains if you do not have a car.
We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to friends and family, and I cannot understand some of the adverse comments other reviewers have made.

Room Tip: I choose a Superior room as it was a special treat for us, but in future I feel the standard room wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol_Starkey, Public Relations Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Melville Hall for your husband's birthday treat and for taking the time to provide feedback on your visit. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you would have no hesitation in recommending us. So glad that you took time out to enjoy the spa facilities and that you felt the benefit from these.
We do hope you are able to come and visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hall Hotel

Property: Melville Hall Hotel
Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#4 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melville Hall Hotel is located a few minutes stroll from the beautiful sandy beach of Sandown Bay, almost opposite Los Altos Park. With a wide range of facilities including Utopia SPA, you are guaranteed the relaxing break you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Melville Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hall Sandown
Hotel Melville Hall
Melville Hall Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing