We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Melville Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We decided to book into this hotel at the last minute as a valentine surprise from my husband as i would be working on the real day !
From start to finish we were made to feel very welcome and nothing was to much bother, the staff our a credit to the hotel.
Room was clean and welcoming !
Afternoon Tea was a joy ! and Dinner was lovely !
Will definetly return.
Thankyou !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you for writing a review following your recent stay at Melville Hall.

I'm so pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that you were made to feel welcome throughout your stay. im glad you enjoyed your afternoon tea and evening meal,
Myself and the team try our best to promote a welcoming atmosphere and really enjoy looking after our guests and ensuring they have a pleasant stay. I will pass your lovely comments on to the staff. They are a great asset to our hotel and I know they will appreciate your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Melville Hall in the future.

Kind Regards

Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

594 - 600 of 1,278 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

From the moment we stepped into reception till we left we were made to feel very welcome. Complimentary tea and mince pies on arrival and the staff could not be anymore helpful or attentive. Everywhere was spotless and the facilities good. Food was excellent. Thank you to all. Would definitely stay again The hotel always has good offers on for accommodation and ferry travel.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennyanddave_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you for leaving your review on Tripadvisor following your stay in February with us at Melville Hall, I am so pleased you really enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff were very attentive and helpful throughout your stay, we do pride ourselves on customer service.
I will pass your kind comments on to all members of staff and look forward to welcoming you back to Melville Hall in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The service we recived was of the very best quality, the staff were both polite and helpful, the spa was good, the food was excellent, location was idilic and tranquil, the room was spotless although a little dated but with such great all round service that was just a minor...I would defently return, but next time stay longer..

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brookhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you for posting such a nice review following your short break with us, its great to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay.

Really pleased you enjoyed the food and the spa and that you found our staff to be very polite and helpful, We are constantly updating the hotel, I hope you will see this should we be able to host your return visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Checking in was very pleasant and professionally including some helpful info for my stay on the IOW. The room was very clean and had a B&B feel to it. I used the Spa and pool which was good and although I didnt stay for dinner the breakfast was very good. Recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolfgang21years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your break.

Myself and the team try our best to promote a welcoming atmosphere and really enjoy looking after our guests and ensuring they have a pleasant stay.

It's also great to hear that you enjoyed your breakfasts during your stay with us and were able to make the most of the leisure facilities.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Melville Hall in the future.

Kind Regards

Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We spent two nights as part of a deal, which included evening meals, breakfasts and two spa treatments, all in all it was excellent value, as the food was terrific.
The staff were all friendly and very helpful and were looking forward to our next stay there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilcolledge249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review following your stay at Melville Hall Hotel.

Glad you found the package to be of excellent value-Best value can always be found by booking direct with us, whether it is a 1 night getaway or a relaxing spa break.

I am pleased that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful during your stay.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Melville Hall for another visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The Melville hall really welcomes you. The staff are friendly and attentive. The food was delicious and beautifully served. The packages they offer are excellent value for money also. The spa treatments are professional and the staff really pamper you .

Room Tip: 002 was a very comfortable double on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sallysatnav154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review following your stay at Melville Hall.

We really try to impress our guests and I was so pleased to see that you found our team very welcoming, friendly and attentive - just how it should be!

Indeed we offer some excellent value packages and I was pleased you found this to be the case. Best value can always be found by booking direct with us, whether it is a 1 night getaway or a relaxing spa break.

Really pleased to see you enjoyed your spa treatments and left us feeling pampered - hope it won't be too long before you return and we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Our deal for 2 nights, dinner, facials and breakfast was good value as was the reduced fare on the ferry. The staff were all very friendly and cheerful and eager to help. The room had very high ceilings, efficient heating and a large bathroom. The windows are original sash type and rattle around in the wind if not firmly closed and our bathroom lights stopped working. The bed was very comfortable and the room was well supplied , tea and coffee , wifi, TV etc. Our facials were very relaxing and the whole atmosphere very pleasant. Minor issues were difficulty parking because drivers are not required to park in bays so leave little room for others, there was no real ale at all despite having the hand pump , the food was good but not fine dining so I would have been disappointed if I was paying full price, there was a lot of noise in the dining room when other guests parked themselves in front of the big screen and watched trashy TV at full volume which staff were unable to do anything about . None of this would stop me going again with the right offer.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LargelyMonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review for us.

I was really pleased to see you found the deal to be great value - we always have fantastic offers, often better than any voucher site - if you subscribe to our offers via our website, so your next stay may be even better value.

I was sorry to hear you were disturbed in the restaurant by the big screen in the bar lounge - we will be reviewing this immediately along with your rattling windows, once again my sincere apologies.

We have put signage in the car park to help guide guests to park more efficiently so there should be plenty of space available on your next visit, I hope it won't be too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
750 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
5.6 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
876 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
944 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hall Hotel

Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: £47 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deserve some pampering? the friendly Melville Hall Hotel & Utopia Spa is the number one choice for a relaxing holiday with lovely bedroom suites, free breakfast, excellent restaurant, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, free Wi-Fi, free car park, and all just a few minutes walk from Sandown beach and High Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Melville Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hall Sandown
Hotel Melville Hall
Melville Hall Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing