We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would visit again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Melville Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Would visit again.”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Had a fun time with my girlfriend here. The hotel is aimed for older people as most of the couples staying were older than us. But this didn't affect our stay.
It was a very relaxing, quiet stay which is just what we needed. The facilities were good, most of all the outside hot tub. :-) average price on food and the bar. Would return again in the future. 7\10

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azza158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at Melville Hall Hotel.
I'm so glad you found the peaceful relaxation you were looking for, the facilities at the hotel are great and I'm glad you were able to make use of some of them especially the outdoor hot tub.
I am so pleased you really enjoyed your stay with us, as well as finding the bar and restaurant great value for money.
We do hope that you will choose to stay with us again when you are looking for another restful break away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    501
    167
    68
    61
See reviews for
93
805
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
LEICESTER UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Just had 2 night stay 5&6th March absolutely brilliant from the moment you arrive to the minute you leave room perfect leisure room excellent good opening times restaurant food fantastic but above all the professional way all the staff go about making your stay perfect would recommend everybody go there I will be returning

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FILBERT27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Melville Hall Hotel & Utopia Spa on your recent visit to the Isle of Wight and for taking the time to submit a review.
I am glad that you had such an excellent stay with us and I really appreciate your kind comments regarding the staff im glad they made your stay more enjoyable.
Thank you once again for staying with us again and we very much look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We have just come back from a 4 night break at the Melville Hall Hotel to celebrate my 65th birthday. I couldn't fault the hotel in any way. It was warm, comfortable and the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome - they even laid on a birthday cake for me. The spa facilities are excellent and we both enjoyed a superb massage while we were there and I found it hard to drag myself out of the hot-tub by the indoor pool. There is an outdoor one as well but I wasn't brave enough to use that one in February!!! We didn't take our car over to the island but went over on the fast cat from Portsmouth, then onto the train at Ryde pier. The station is just down the road from the hotel, making it a convenient journey. Our room was spotless with a really comfortable bed and we even had a spa bath in the room which was great. Los Altos park is virtually next door to the hotel and a lovely place to stroll around although while we were there, the mud left over from the recent bad weather made it a bit difficult. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted a quiet break in comfortable surroundings, with spa pampering available should you want it. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: As far as I am aware, all the rooms are to a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GwynethSangster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Melville Hall Hotel & Utopia Spa on your recent visit to the Isle of Wight to celebrate your birthday.

I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff were very welcoming, I hope you enjoyed your birthday cake!
I'm glad you found the room clean and that you were also able to make use of the indoor spa facilities and the spa for treatments and found both of your treatments excellent. i will certainly pass you kind comments on to all the staff. I do hope that you will visit Melville Hall again,
Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Just returned from a very relaxing break at Melville Hall Hotel and just felt the need to state what a pleasant break we had. The Hotel is not modern, but we did not expect or want that, as it was very much in keeping with the Isle of Wight experience. The rooms are very comfortable and spotlessly clean, although a bit tired. The linen was crisp and white, as were the towels in the bathroom (great first impressions). We find little things make your stay and there were copious amounts of tea and coffee availaible in the room, with the added addition of a teapot, so much better than tea made in a mug.
Would definitely recommend the Restaurant to anyone as there was plenty of choice on the menu (if it is on the menu the Lamb Shank needs to be tried) and as there was 4 of us we did try most things over the 2 nights which were all very tasty and well presented. Staff in all the areas were pleaseant and very attentive throughout the day and night, taking into account that we were at the Hotel out of season.
We did all enjoy one of the Spa treatments and again this was a very pleasnt experience, although we did not use the outdoor pool or Jacuzzi, but we did see other guests making the most of the heated jacuzzi.
All in all a great stay and I have already recommended the hotel to other friends and hopefully we will return during warmer times to enjoy all of the facilities

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide a review after your recent stay at Melville Hall Hotel.
I'm glad you found the room clean and that you enjoyed the complimentary refreshments,I was really pleased to see that you enjoyed the food and that you were all able to enjoy your meal, you are right the lamb Shank is definitely worth a try. The staff will be delighted to receive your feedback that you found them pleasant and helpful- they are a great team and will be thrilled to hear that.
I'm pleased that you enjoyed the spa treatments, maybe next time you stay you could try our fabulous outdoor Jacuzzi and heated swimming pool. Thank you for the recommendation to your friends.

Kind Regards
Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

I booked a one night stay at Melville Hall that included breakfast and a three course dinner; it was great value for money and the staff were extremely polite and welcoming.
The food was delicious and served promptly, the restaurant had a good atmosphere despite being "off season".
We didn't have any treatments but did make use of pool and sauna - all facilities are in good working order and very clean.
Would definitely return - with another good offer.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tara Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay at Melville Hall Hotel.

Im so glad that you found our staff to be extremely polite and very welcoming and that the offer was on was great value - just how it should be.
Im so pleased that you enjoyed your meals and that it was served promptly and i appreciate your kind comments regarding the staff. The facilities at the hotel are great and I'm glad you were able to make use of some of them.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Melville Hall in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We had a very pleasant break here, including the ferry crossing, a 3 course dinner, 2 spa treatments and excellent breakfasts in a winter spa package.
The room itself was basic but comfortable, and we didn't expect anything else for the price!
Staff both friendly and professional. Well trained.
The food was very good: freshly cooked breakfast with plenty of choice and a varied menu for dinner.
Sandown itself is rather run down, but close to many other places including Shanklin.
Good to have the spa, which is small but with plenty of sauna space! All very clean.
All in all, a relaxing break for very little money when you consider how much was included.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barkingside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such lovely feedback. I'm so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that you found it to be amazing value.
The staff will be pleased to hear that you found them to be well trained, friendly and professional. The chef will also be pleased that you enjoyed his meals
I'm glad you were able to leave us feeling relaxed after your break.
I hope to be able to welcome you back to Melville Hall and Utopia Spa in the future.
Kind Regards
Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014

From the moment we arrived we were looked after brilliantly by all the staff.the spa part of the hotel is also very good and very reasonabley priced.
the hotel it self is very clean top marks agian to staff,food was also a very good standard,you must try afternoon tea what a treat that was,cant wait to go agian.

Room Tip: we were in a superor room well worth the upgrade,it faces the front but no problem sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dasb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent stay with us at Melville Hall.

I was really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit, and that you found the spa facilities very good and reasonably priced, we do aim to offer fantastic value to our guests.
I am so pleased to hear that you felt you were looked after excellently by the staff its great to hear the positive feedback and i will certainly passed your comments on to them all.
I'm delighted to hear that you will return again and will look forward to welcoming you back again. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
724 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
428 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
843 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hall Hotel

Property: Melville Hall Hotel
Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#4 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melville Hall Hotel is located a few minutes stroll from the beautiful sandy beach of Sandown Bay, almost opposite Los Altos Park. With a wide range of facilities including Utopia SPA, you are guaranteed the relaxing break you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Melville Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hall Sandown
Hotel Melville Hall
Melville Hall Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing