We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melville Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel was clean, relaxing and full of friendly and helpful staff. The spa facilities were great and the outdoor hot tub was the highlight of the weekend! My boyfriend organised the trip for my birthday and I couldn't have wished for a more perfect weekend. We had a 3 course meal in the restaurant on our first night and can not recommend the lamb shank enough. The sticky toffee pudding and apple and strawberry crumble were also delicious! We would definitely return to the Melville Hall Hotel and would like to thank all of the staff for our wonderful stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank rmoncur89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for leaving such a lovely review for us, I was really pleased you enjoyed your recent visit, especially the friendly staff, the food and the facilities, i'm glad you enjoyed our outdoor hot tub and you managed to make the most of it, it really is magnificent to use in all types of weather.
I was delighted to read that it was the perfect break for your birthday.
Really hope to welcome you back for your next visit.

Kind Regards
Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

569 - 575 of 1,278 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

We wanted a relaxtiing break. Perfect. Nice Hotel, Very nice Staff. Food quality is very good, but unless you drive, there is little else of a similar quality in Sandown, outside of hotels. It is about a mile from the sea front, and is on a hill, though there are very convenient buses and trains nearby. The spa is very good, and though the indoor pool is small, it was warm and comforting. It was a quiet hotel. perhaps a bit too quiet, for us, but otherwise well recommended for a short break

Room Tip: Try for a family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank papaglowing2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide a review after your recent stay at Melville Hall Hotel.
I'm pleased you managed to have a relaxing break with us and that you found the staff very nice and that you enjoyed your food, and the spa facilities.
I do hope we can welcome you back to Melville Hall in the future, again thank you for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Booked via a travelzoo offer and liked the hotel so much that we booked another stay while we were there. Nice room, lovely food, good spa facilities and the friendliest and most helpful staff we have come across in a lit of hotel stays across the world. A lovely relaxing break and we can't wait to come back. Thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miketomkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you so much for leaving us a fantastic review after your recent stay at Melville Hall Hotel.
I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so and found so many things about the hotel to your liking and you booked another stay,
I'm so pleased you found the staff extremely friendly and helpful they are a great asset to the hotel and i will pass your kind comments on to them.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Melville Hall in the future.

Best Wishes
Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

A thoroughly enjoyable two nights in an attractive well run hotel. Nothing too much trouble by all the very friendly staff. A very confortable room, excellent food and a lovely facial in with the 2 night deal which included car ferry travel and a delicious 3 course dinner. The spa facilities are very good and include an outdoor pool, hot tub, indoor pool with jacuzzi, saunas, and a detox room. There are a number of lovely treatments at reasonable prices but I can recommend the 30 minute facial and the relaxation room with a selection of hot and cold drinks. Sandown seafront is a short distance away with a good selection of restaurants and cafes. The courtyside on the I.O.W is pretty and there are some lovely views at the highest points.I thoroughly recommend this hotel and spa.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for your kind feedback.
I'm glad that you had a relaxing break and enjoyed all of our facilities on offer. Our relaxation lounge is available to all our guests and I'm happy you made use of the complimentary herbal teas on offer.
Utopia Spa offer a range of different treatments and I'm pleased to hear that these were enjoyed to a high standard. I will pass on your thoughtful comments to all of our staff and we hope to welcome you back again to Melville Hall.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

A very enjoyable relaxing break in a welcoming and comfortable hotel. I can recommend the facial treatment and the use of the spa facilities. Very relaxing. Short walk to the seafront and surrounded by pretty gardens and a park nearby. Food was delicious. I will be returning again this year to enjoy the Hotel and the Isle of Wight.

Room Tip: I was very happy on the third floor but as there is not a lift it is not for the "not so mobile...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

It's lovely to hear such positive feedback.
It's great that you enjoyed use of the facilities in the hotel and you left feeling relaxed. I will ensure the Chef is aware of your kind words and you had a delicious meal in the Summerhill Restaurant.
We hope to welcome you back to Melville Hall in the summer so that you can make use of our wonderful outside experience pool.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Brilliant 4 night break at this lovely hotel. All amenities are top class as are the staff. Always available to help. Spa is fabulous although it was a little too cold for the pool outside, but the indoor one and jacuzzi made up for this. This was our first visit to the I.O.W so we didn't know what to expect from the hotel, but rest assured we will go to the Melville again and can highly recommend it to any couple seeking a relaxing break.

Room Tip: book one with the spa bath. After a days walking it was great to relax with a glass of Shiraz and le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time a leave a wonderful review for Melville Hall Hotel.
It's lovely to hear you had a pleasant first experience to the Island and would be back to stay with us again. We hope you left feeling relaxed and pampered after spending time in Utopia Spa.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Good location, service very good, staff excellent, food lovely (our 3-course meal was included on our first night),breakfast excellent with a good choice! Our room was a little disappointing! (basic double with 4-poster bed - but no drapes so what was the point?) Spa treatment was excellent - we both had a hot stone back massage! We were disappointed with the size of the pool, you couldn't really swim in it! However the sauna & infra-red cabinets were good! This is an excellent hotel in a good location and worth using if you manage to get it on a deal! Unfortunately the décor lets it down as it's a little dated! Great location though and walking distance to both Sandown & Shanklin. Mantel

Room Tip: Don't choose a basic room, worth upgrading so you get a robe & slippers included. (though yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mantel1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for your review on Melville hall Hotel.
I do apologise that you were disappointed with the bed in your hotel room and the indoor pool. We have looked into these issues and will be ordering new drapes for the bedroom. Unfortunately we do not advertise the indoor pool as a swimming pool as it is actually a plunge pool. However we do apologise that it was not what you had expected.
I'm glad that you enjoyed your treatments with Utopia Spa, I will pass on your kind comments to the therapists.
We hope to welcome you back to Melville Hall in the near future.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
750 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
5.6 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
876 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
944 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hall Hotel

Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: £47 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deserve some pampering? the friendly Melville Hall Hotel & Utopia Spa is the number one choice for a relaxing holiday with lovely bedroom suites, free breakfast, excellent restaurant, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, free Wi-Fi, free car park, and all just a few minutes walk from Sandown beach and High Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Melville Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hall Sandown
Hotel Melville Hall
Melville Hall Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing