We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melville Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Booked via a Travelzoo deal so this included a three night stay, dinner on first night, breakfast each day, use of the spa and ferry crossing. Driving into the car park you are faced with a 60's style building (which we thought oh dear!!) and on the right a more modern part with the reception and sauna. Plenty of spaces to park so no problems there. Check-in was easy and even though we arrived early the room was ready. Our room (117) was a little small but perfectly adequate, spotlessly clean and comfortable. This one overlooked next door bungalow's garden and another hotel some distance away. Room had the usual amenities and when we ran out of anything the staff gave us more. Bed was comfortable and the room quiet at night. Dinner on the first night was lovely and service was excellent. Breakfasts were nice, well cooked and the service was equally good. There is a lounge next to the dining room and this was peaceful place to sit in comfy settees and read the papers/magazines which are freely available. The indoor spa comprised a jacuzzi, pool, sauna and two 'detox' boxes - there weren't many people around so no problem using these but could easily get crowded as they are not that big. The outdoor pool/heated jacuzzi is much bigger and very pleasant with plenty of places to sit and relax. Although the hotel is non-smoking they seem to allow this around the pool area so this might make a difference if you want clean air. We don't smoke so didn't particularly like to see ashtrays and cigarette butts especially when the spa is supposed to be about health and relaxation. The decor needs a bit of updating (swags and swirls in the dining room) but none of it was unpleasant. Throughout our stay all the staff we met were warm, friendly and helpful. Overall it was a good stay, excellent value and a lovely hotel...as for the Isle of Wight well it has changed quite a bit since the last time I was there and become more commercialised (i remember when you can wander around the Needles area without a theme park in sight!) and run down in others. But we were happy to relax at the hotel and it was a good place to do this so definitely recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jot75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your break.
I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and It is nice to hear good comments about the food at both breakfast and dinner and the restaurant service, and you found the staff to be warm, friendly and helpful.
We are constantly updating the hotel, I hope you will see this should we be able to host your return visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    484
    163
    65
    59
See reviews for
92
773
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Away with friends for a weekend and this proved to be the perfect spot. Spa facilities etc were ideal. Lots of seating in the bar and reception area meant that we could chat in comfort too. We ate in the restaurant on both evenings, portions are sensible, and selections offered plenty of choice. Well cooked and delicious food was matched by considerate service and comfortable seating.

The walk to both the station and the beach is downhill, but the distances are short. Enjoyed a comfortable stroll to Shanklin along the prom. So good to be out in the open air too

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasparilla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for leaving such a glowing review following your recent visit to us. Really pleased you enjoyed the spa facilities and the food. im pleased you found we had enough seating areas for you all too be able to relax after a long day exploring our beautiful island.
Melville is indeed perfectly located for exploring the Island and I hope we can welcome you back again for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel was clean, relaxing and full of friendly and helpful staff. The spa facilities were great and the outdoor hot tub was the highlight of the weekend! My boyfriend organised the trip for my birthday and I couldn't have wished for a more perfect weekend. We had a 3 course meal in the restaurant on our first night and can not recommend the lamb shank enough. The sticky toffee pudding and apple and strawberry crumble were also delicious! We would definitely return to the Melville Hall Hotel and would like to thank all of the staff for our wonderful stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank rmoncur89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review for us, I was really pleased you enjoyed your recent visit, especially the friendly staff, the food and the facilities, i'm glad you enjoyed our outdoor hot tub and you managed to make the most of it, it really is magnificent to use in all types of weather.
I was delighted to read that it was the perfect break for your birthday.
Really hope to welcome you back for your next visit.

Kind Regards
Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, Hants, UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We wanted a relaxtiing break. Perfect. Nice Hotel, Very nice Staff. Food quality is very good, but unless you drive, there is little else of a similar quality in Sandown, outside of hotels. It is about a mile from the sea front, and is on a hill, though there are very convenient buses and trains nearby. The spa is very good, and though the indoor pool is small, it was warm and comforting. It was a quiet hotel. perhaps a bit too quiet, for us, but otherwise well recommended for a short break

Room Tip: Try for a family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank papaglowing2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide a review after your recent stay at Melville Hall Hotel.
I'm pleased you managed to have a relaxing break with us and that you found the staff very nice and that you enjoyed your food, and the spa facilities.
I do hope we can welcome you back to Melville Hall in the future, again thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Booked via a travelzoo offer and liked the hotel so much that we booked another stay while we were there. Nice room, lovely food, good spa facilities and the friendliest and most helpful staff we have come across in a lit of hotel stays across the world. A lovely relaxing break and we can't wait to come back. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miketomkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you so much for leaving us a fantastic review after your recent stay at Melville Hall Hotel.
I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so and found so many things about the hotel to your liking and you booked another stay,
I'm so pleased you found the staff extremely friendly and helpful they are a great asset to the hotel and i will pass your kind comments on to them.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Melville Hall in the future.

Best Wishes
Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

A thoroughly enjoyable two nights in an attractive well run hotel. Nothing too much trouble by all the very friendly staff. A very confortable room, excellent food and a lovely facial in with the 2 night deal which included car ferry travel and a delicious 3 course dinner. The spa facilities are very good and include an outdoor pool, hot tub, indoor pool with jacuzzi, saunas, and a detox room. There are a number of lovely treatments at reasonable prices but I can recommend the 30 minute facial and the relaxation room with a selection of hot and cold drinks. Sandown seafront is a short distance away with a good selection of restaurants and cafes. The courtyside on the I.O.W is pretty and there are some lovely views at the highest points.I thoroughly recommend this hotel and spa.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your kind feedback.
I'm glad that you had a relaxing break and enjoyed all of our facilities on offer. Our relaxation lounge is available to all our guests and I'm happy you made use of the complimentary herbal teas on offer.
Utopia Spa offer a range of different treatments and I'm pleased to hear that these were enjoyed to a high standard. I will pass on your thoughtful comments to all of our staff and we hope to welcome you back again to Melville Hall.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

A very enjoyable relaxing break in a welcoming and comfortable hotel. I can recommend the facial treatment and the use of the spa facilities. Very relaxing. Short walk to the seafront and surrounded by pretty gardens and a park nearby. Food was delicious. I will be returning again this year to enjoy the Hotel and the Isle of Wight.

Room Tip: I was very happy on the third floor but as there is not a lift it is not for the "not so mobile...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
It's lovely to hear such positive feedback.
It's great that you enjoyed use of the facilities in the hotel and you left feeling relaxed. I will ensure the Chef is aware of your kind words and you had a delicious meal in the Summerhill Restaurant.
We hope to welcome you back to Melville Hall in the summer so that you can make use of our wonderful outside experience pool.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hall Hotel

Property: Melville Hall Hotel
Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#4 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melville Hall Hotel is located a few minutes stroll from the beautiful sandy beach of Sandown Bay, almost opposite Los Altos Park. With a wide range of facilities including Utopia SPA, you are guaranteed the relaxing break you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Melville Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hall Sandown
Hotel Melville Hall
Melville Hall Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing