We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely nights stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melville Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed with my husband for a break away from home and work on the Island and have to say the hotel was lovely. Adults only gives it a relaxed and quiet feel. The spa is fabulous. Had 2 fabulous treatments. A jug of Pimms by the pool. Afternoon tea which was superb. And a wonderful breakfast. We were kindly upgraded to a four poster room which was a lovely touch. Few maintenance issues in the room which we reported...no hot water, no bulb in the dressing table lamp, marks on the wall, dusty table and in a general need of a bit of a dust round the edges, which if we'd paid full price for may have been a niggle but an upgrade we cannot complain. Breakfast was lovely, sitting alongside the pool area with the glass doors open on a sunny morning followed by a swim before home. What could be better. Staff really helpful and quiet, nothing is too much trouble. We left rebuilt and refreshed. Planning our next trip. Thank you team Melville Hall.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank beach2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review after your recent stay at Melville Hall Hotel.
I'm glad you were able to make the most of one of our great value packages. I'm glad you found your upgraded room comfortable, the food excellent and the staff friendly, attentive and helpful - meaning you had an excellent break away. I have addressed the issues you had in your room so thank you for bringing them to my attention. I'm delighted to hear that you will be back and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

507 - 513 of 1,264 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Came across this little gem by chance... Fantastic staff and customer service. The food in the restaurant is to die for and the facilities surpass it's competition. Rooms are comfortable, well kitted and spacious with high ceilings, large en-suites and excellent showers. I didn't have chance to use the spa facilities but they looked amazing and all the guests were very much enjoying themselves. I would highly recommend this hotel and will revisit time and again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wood-Knit-Bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for leaving such a wonderful review for Melville Hall Hotel on TripAdvisor.
It's great to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and the staff were friendly and efficient. It's lovely to have such good feedback on the hotel bedrooms and the facilities available.
We hope to welcome you back to Melville Hall soon so that you can make use of all our Spa facilities on offer.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

A most welcoming prospect, the Melville Hall Hotel under blue skies. The welcome was also warm. Fabulous swims in the outdoor pool, comfortable room, lovely food and friendly staff. Great local walks and plenty to do on the Isle of Wight.

Room Tip: The stairs are steep and no lifts, but all the rooms seem good and the location is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
We love to hear good feedback and it's wonderful to see your review on TripAdvisor! We're glad you enjoyed every aspect of your stay to the meals in the Summerhill Restaurant to the warm welcome our Receptionists gave you upon arrival.
We hope to see you back very soon.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My fiancé and I are islanders but needed a relaxing get away. We had a bargain stay as it was out of season time. The staff were wonderful and could not do enough for us. The spa is small but don't let this put you off as it's wonderful we had treatments and had a four course meal and a nights stay with a 4 poster bed! Just what we needed.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for leaving a review for Melville Hall Hotel.
It's lovely to hear that, as Island residents, you had a relaxing nights break from the stress of everyday life. I'm glad you made the use of the leisure facilities during your stay and had excellent treatments at Utopia Spa. I hope you went back home feeling refreshed and revitalized after your short stay just down the road!
Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I booked a 2 night 3rd night free B & B stay at the Melville for a short break for my wife and I as we had stayed there 3yrs ago for my wife,s birthday we enjoyed our stay then and we did again this time and hope to return again for a 3rd. trip.
We stayed in room 113 (some people may be put of by number not us ) which was nice, cosy and quite only complaint t.v. hung to high and needs servicing.
All the staff good and helpful ,breakfast meals we had were on the ball (don,t understand complaint from misc1980 about no choice there are lots of options )
All in all good place to stay and relax

Room Tip: At the end of the day a room is some where to sleep in so no need to go expensive and expect the wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Melville Hall.
It's wonderful to have such great feedback on everything throughout the hotel. It's great to hear that Room 113 met all of your needs and so did the staff throughout your stay.
We do excellent special offers to returning guests and regularly send out emails so that everyone is aware. It's great you thought out 3 for 2 night offer was superb value for money.
We hope to welcome you back to Melville Hall Hotel for your third trip soon.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband booked a two night stay here in a four poster, superior room as a birthday surprise.
Although the staff were all very pleasant and helpful, the hotel was very tired and old fashioned and our room was definitely not what I had expected from a 'superior' room at just under £150 a night. It was small and all in desperate need of modernising.
The breakfast was fine but no choice at all if you did not go for the cooked option which was a shame for me.
The pool area was nice enough but again, all a little shabby round the edges.
I feel a little let down that we paid so much for this average hotel which is not in a great location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misc1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

A friend and I had a lovely stay at this hotel. It is a little tired and in need of some refurbishment but the professionalism and friendliness of the staff more than makes up for it. All staff in both the hotel and spa were absolutely lovely and nothing was too much trouble. The spa treatments we both had were amazing and we both felt completely relaxed by the time we left. We came on a really good value offer which included bed, breakfast, dinner, lunch, spa voucher (£35) and ferry travel all for £89 per person. Only negative was that we chose to upgrade to a superior twin room but were surprised to find such a small room with twin beds pushed together. Difficult to imagine how small the standard rooms are. Also air con would be nice....room was very hot but then it was a very hot day. Absolute bargain. We will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandys1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for leaving a review of Melville Hall Hotel on TripAdvisor.
I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and all the staff you met were friendly and professional. It's great to hear you made use of the facilities available in Utopia Spa and the treatments you had were first class.
Unfortunately because of the nature of the building we are unable to offer air conditioning, however, an extra desk fan is available from reception at request.
We hope to welcome you back to the Isle of Wight and Melville Hall soon.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
746 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
861 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hall Hotel

Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#4 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: £59 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melville Hall Hotel is located a few minutes stroll from the beautiful sandy beach of Sandown Bay, almost opposite Los Altos Park. With a wide range of facilities including Utopia SPA, you are guaranteed the relaxing break you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Melville Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hall Sandown
Hotel Melville Hall
Melville Hall Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing