We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely break away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melville Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely break away”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My partner and I had a lovely stay at the Melville. The staff were always very friendly and welcoming. Our room was simple but all we needed, and the whirlpool bath very relaxing. We didn't eat so can not comment on food. The spa was perfect for us - never over crowded and open til late which was great - especially enjoyed the outdoor jacuzzi on a chilly evening.
Nice location - lovely views from out window and only a 5min walk to the beach front and shops. Would stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allons-y484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review after your stay at Melville Hall Hotel.
I was pleased to find that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff to be friendly and welcoming, I was glad that you were able to make the most of the spa and made the most of the outdoor jacuzzi it really is beautiful out there even if it is a chilly evening like you said. I will be sure to pass you kind comments on to all the staff.
Kind Regards,
Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    500
    167
    68
    61
See reviews for
93
804
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I usually holiday abroad but due to a year of ill health we decided we needed a holiday nearer home . The Melville Hall Hotel was such a find . A wonderful Hotel with great staff food to die for everything was perfect .in the words of Arnie WE WILL BE BACK .

Room Tip: A Room at the front of the Hotel on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davebabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review after your recent stay at Melville Hall Hotel.
I was so pleased to read that you enjoy your short break with us and that you found everything to be perfect, just the way your holiday should be.
I'm delighted to hear that you will be back and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed with my husband for a break away from home and work on the Island and have to say the hotel was lovely. Adults only gives it a relaxed and quiet feel. The spa is fabulous. Had 2 fabulous treatments. A jug of Pimms by the pool. Afternoon tea which was superb. And a wonderful breakfast. We were kindly upgraded to a four poster room which was a lovely touch. Few maintenance issues in the room which we reported...no hot water, no bulb in the dressing table lamp, marks on the wall, dusty table and in a general need of a bit of a dust round the edges, which if we'd paid full price for may have been a niggle but an upgrade we cannot complain. Breakfast was lovely, sitting alongside the pool area with the glass doors open on a sunny morning followed by a swim before home. What could be better. Staff really helpful and quiet, nothing is too much trouble. We left rebuilt and refreshed. Planning our next trip. Thank you team Melville Hall.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beach2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review after your recent stay at Melville Hall Hotel.
I'm glad you were able to make the most of one of our great value packages. I'm glad you found your upgraded room comfortable, the food excellent and the staff friendly, attentive and helpful - meaning you had an excellent break away. I have addressed the issues you had in your room so thank you for bringing them to my attention. I'm delighted to hear that you will be back and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Came across this little gem by chance... Fantastic staff and customer service. The food in the restaurant is to die for and the facilities surpass it's competition. Rooms are comfortable, well kitted and spacious with high ceilings, large en-suites and excellent showers. I didn't have chance to use the spa facilities but they looked amazing and all the guests were very much enjoying themselves. I would highly recommend this hotel and will revisit time and again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wood-Knit-Bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for leaving such a wonderful review for Melville Hall Hotel on TripAdvisor.
It's great to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and the staff were friendly and efficient. It's lovely to have such good feedback on the hotel bedrooms and the facilities available.
We hope to welcome you back to Melville Hall soon so that you can make use of all our Spa facilities on offer.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

A most welcoming prospect, the Melville Hall Hotel under blue skies. The welcome was also warm. Fabulous swims in the outdoor pool, comfortable room, lovely food and friendly staff. Great local walks and plenty to do on the Isle of Wight.

Room Tip: The stairs are steep and no lifts, but all the rooms seem good and the location is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
We love to hear good feedback and it's wonderful to see your review on TripAdvisor! We're glad you enjoyed every aspect of your stay to the meals in the Summerhill Restaurant to the warm welcome our Receptionists gave you upon arrival.
We hope to see you back very soon.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freshwater, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I are islanders but needed a relaxing get away. We had a bargain stay as it was out of season time. The staff were wonderful and could not do enough for us. The spa is small but don't let this put you off as it's wonderful we had treatments and had a four course meal and a nights stay with a 4 poster bed! Just what we needed.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for leaving a review for Melville Hall Hotel.
It's lovely to hear that, as Island residents, you had a relaxing nights break from the stress of everyday life. I'm glad you made the use of the leisure facilities during your stay and had excellent treatments at Utopia Spa. I hope you went back home feeling refreshed and revitalized after your short stay just down the road!
Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I booked a 2 night 3rd night free B & B stay at the Melville for a short break for my wife and I as we had stayed there 3yrs ago for my wife,s birthday we enjoyed our stay then and we did again this time and hope to return again for a 3rd. trip.
We stayed in room 113 (some people may be put of by number not us ) which was nice, cosy and quite only complaint t.v. hung to high and needs servicing.
All the staff good and helpful ,breakfast meals we had were on the ball (don,t understand complaint from misc1980 about no choice there are lots of options )
All in all good place to stay and relax

Room Tip: At the end of the day a room is some where to sleep in so no need to go expensive and expect the wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Melville Hall.
It's wonderful to have such great feedback on everything throughout the hotel. It's great to hear that Room 113 met all of your needs and so did the staff throughout your stay.
We do excellent special offers to returning guests and regularly send out emails so that everyone is aware. It's great you thought out 3 for 2 night offer was superb value for money.
We hope to welcome you back to Melville Hall Hotel for your third trip soon.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
724 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
426 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
842 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hall Hotel

Property: Melville Hall Hotel
Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#4 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melville Hall Hotel is located a few minutes stroll from the beautiful sandy beach of Sandown Bay, almost opposite Los Altos Park. With a wide range of facilities including Utopia SPA, you are guaranteed the relaxing break you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melville Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hall Sandown
Hotel Melville Hall
Melville Hall Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing