We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family hotel”
Review of Sands Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sandown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sands Hotel
Ranked #4 of 31 Sandown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2013

just back from sands hotel sandown isle of wight had a good week
in a excellent family run hotel very comfortable rooms and friendly staff
and good food location on sea front at one end of sandown just 5 minuts walk
to shops and other amenitys like pubs and coffee shops

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tom w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

We have just returned from a weekend staying at the Sands Hotel in Sandown. We were met by Lee who was obviously expecting us as he knew our names immediately. He then took our bags up to our room while Shauna explained restaurant times etc to us. The welcome was very friendly and made us feel very welcome. Our room was a lovely surprise as we had a small balcony which overlooked the beach, something we weren't expecting! The whole Hotel was spotlessly clean, all the staff were very friendly and accomodating, and it was warm and cosy, a great plus as it was minus 5 outside!! The bar was large with plenty of seating for all, and live entertainment each night. There were also cheap drinks available between certain hours, encouraging us to stay in the Hotel and not ventrue elsewhere to spend our money.
Was there a downside? Well if there was it was the food, which was very uninspiring, especially to 'foodies' like ourselves. Tinned soup, chicken and chips, frozen peas and sweetcorn, and apple pie and custard for dessert. It was all very beautifully cooked, not under or over done, and my chicken was moist, just a bit plain. We also felt a bit rushed, as we had to order our evening meal at breakfast in the morning, it was all ready to go when we arrived. I think the evening meal took about 30 mins to eat and be cleared away and that included coffee. I suspect in the height of summer, with two sittings this is a perfect way of making sure everyone gets to eat at a reasonable time.
Having said that, we really enjoyed our stay and Lee and Shauna couldn't have done more. I would recommend the Hotel for a break to our friends.

Room Tip: I can only go by our room which overlooked the swimming pool and beaches and was perfect in February...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at The Sands Hotel on 3 Occasions and have always found it to be a very pleasant place to stay, the owners Lee & Shauna go out of their way to ensure your happy with everything, the staff are very friendly, entertainment is acceptable, food is more than suffice, so all in all a good all rounder !
I shall have no hesitation in returning to this Hotel !

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leegee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

A warm welcome from Shauna & Lee, bags taken to my room, and good food also quick service and friendly staff, entertainment was ok , I had a single room which was clean and tidy with "no out look" as some rooms inevitable are,
the only downside was the tiny on suite which if you sat on the throne the wash basin was on your lap and your right shoulder was in the shower.
But I would stay there again "just not in that room"

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank huxley7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed on the bank holiday week in August for national scooter rally . Shower in bedroom was either red scolding hot or freezing no in between nightmare . Rooms very small but ok. Cleanness could do with being more thorough as it was not that clean in my room but I have stayed in worse . Breakfast was very very small also you could not get your own cereal or juice so you got one little glass and that was it , the cooked breakfast was big enough to fill up my 3 year old daughter . It was tiny first time I've ever stayed anywhere where I thought breakfast was so small after breakfast we was still all hungry , I did asked for some more from waitress on one occasion but it was declined . Plus side staff really friendly , bar was very good as well .

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012 via mobile

Spacious anld clean, this hotel will make you go home with a smile. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Termination
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed for an organised long weekend by coach and I must say that you cannot fault the care and attention Shauna and Lee and every single one of the staff gave. Nothing was too much trouble and accommodating the dietary needs of my partner was exceptional. Everyone was made to feel so very welcome right from the start and were waved off like long lost friends on departure.

For only a 2 star establishment, it goes the extra mile all the time, sure, some of the room facilities are shall we say 'compact' and possibly the style of menu and ordering arrangements could be further developed, but for value for money, cleanliness and friendliness you cannot wish for better.

There's a well stocked and efficiently run bar that provides first class appropriate entertainment and the best prices on the Island!

The whole package was a variation from our normal holidays, but given the facilities and company that we shared, we were so pleasingly enamoured! If the Sands have any availability, give it a try. You could do a lot worse.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
461 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#4 of 29 in Sandown
749 reviews
0.6 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#21 of 29 in Sandown
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 29 in Sandown
334 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
815 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Hotel

Address: 19-21 Culver Parade, Sandown PO36 8AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Sandown
Number of rooms: 70
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing