We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great guest house”
Review of Whitecliff View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Whitecliff View
Ranked #20 of 31 Sandown B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great guest house”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed at this guest house over the jubilee weekend and were very happy with our stay there.The room we had was furnished with a four poster bed,nicely decorated,modern shower room and lots of little extras like a hairdrier,iron and even a dvd player. Breakfast was great with a good choice of cereals, fruit juice,full english etc and was served in a small dining room that faces out onto a nice patio area with ponds and fountains.To sum up a good value guest house friendly owners and we would recommend to others,thanks.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazzy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    10
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
6
16
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cambs
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

we stayed here for two nights and the only issue that myself and my friend had was that there was no bathroom door...
as much as i love my friend to bits i didnt really fancy hearing having a number two as with him me..
the breakfast was great and the owner was very helpful..
fell in love with the cats xx

Room Tip: ask for a bathroom door
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yolande38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Rooms are small, warm and cosy. There is a heater, hair dryer and iron in the room- if not you can ask.

You can hear what is going on outside your room and if people are coming and going but it is what you would hear in a house and this is to be expected in a small b&b

The owners are friendly and accommodating and will try to cater for your needs in terms of breakfasts and there is a variety of breakfasts too

*They do have cats

There is three parking spaces and at times we had to park away from the b&b but never to far!

I personally thought the room was very clean, towels, sheets, floor, bathroom were clean and bins were emptied each day.

Shower was in good condition
* we were in room 1 - which had a curtain at the door for the ensuite, not an actual door- this is different in each room

Do not expect a great view from room 1
Over all very happy with location as it was in the middle of everything we needed
Would definitely recommend and stay again!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st albans
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

very small room with no view and paper thin walls so could hear everything that happened in the hotel. pleasant owner who was keen to make us comfortable. I tried to have a shower at 7.30 am and the water was stone call. when I mentioned it at breakfast the owner looked at his watch, (by this time it was 8.10 and said 'oh yes the water has just come on so you could try again in a little while'.
take ear plugs and get up after 8.15 if you want a hot shower

I had a very swift breakfast and checked out.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wendy1StAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Dear Julie and Darren

Just a thank you for looking after me so well for the last 2 weeks. The room was lovely and breakfast was scrummy.
Gemmax

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GemmaKent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We stayed 2 nights at this B&B. The room was very clean(esp. the shower) ans cosy. Very close to sandown station and also to public transport links. 10 mins walk to the pier. Overall - good value for money and I'd definitely recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Room no.1 is very clean and cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank n2cool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
428 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sandown
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Nightingale Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
#10 of 29 in Sandown
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitecliff View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitecliff View

Property: Whitecliff View
Address: 14 Leed Street, Sandown PO36 8JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Whitecliff View 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Whitecliff View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitecliff View Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing