We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing cafe”
Review of Browns Family Golf

Browns Family Golf
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Browns Family Golf and Cafe is a Pitch and Putt golf complex set on the beachfront at Sandown, Isle of Wight. It has two full 9 hole pitch and putt courses, with average hole lengths of 60-90 yards. It also has two 18 hole putting courses, each featuring fairways and greens, with varying degrees of difficulty to challenge golfers of all ages and abilities. The cafe is open to everyone whether playing golf or not. It caters for Coffees, teas, home made cakes, cream teas, light lunches and a variety of home made specials.
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“relaxing cafe”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Thought we would pop along to see how the new management were fairing at browns golf course, think they have done a fantastic job getting the place open and into an operational state given the lack of interest and investment displayed by the previous management. They have only been open a week and are starting to tame the many acres of jungle they have inherited With all holes playable . Had a relaxing coffee in the vast, bright spacious cafe overlooking the downs which was pleasant. Looking forward to visiting again to see how this much needed reinvigoration of one of sandowns historic facilities develops.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank lfbp-neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    47
    9
    10
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shanklin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Browns has been rescued!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Saw their new Facebook page so thought we'd have a look today to see if there'd been any improvement since last year (if only to reassure ourselves it hadn't disappeared completely into the undergrowth that used to be the pitch & putt!). It looked really welcoming as soon as we approached, with bunting & lots of seating outside. Water bowls for dogs, sunshades at some of the outside tables, the greens properly mowed - what a difference a year makes! After our round of putting (the result of which I'll gloss over.....hmmm), we ventured into the cafe - how bright it is now with different types of seating & a play area for children. My 3 cheese ploughman's lunch was really tasty and the rest of the menu looks inviting too so will have to go back to work my way through it. Service with a smile seems to be the norm here so well done to this family for taking this sad place by the scruff of the neck & doing something positive with it. Just need to get proper Browns doughnuts back, the fountains running again & my life will be complete!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great cafe esp with kids”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We visited on a busy bank holiday with a toddler (after spending the morning at Dinosaur Isle next door). It doesn't look much from the outside, but we were so pleased we went to investigate anyway. There was a good selection of food to choose from, including plain options for kids. We had pasta, quiche and a sandwich, followed by a carrot cake. The food was very tasty. The best part for us was the large space for children to play at the end of the cafe - out of the way of other customers, and an absolute godsend for people with kids. There was a great range of toys and games to choose from and play with. A brilliant place to visit. Would certainly recommend. (For people without kids too - happy children make for a happy dining experience for everyone!)

Helpful?
2 Thank KStanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great value for money! Lovely home cooked food!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Visited today! Owners very friendly, who informed me they only just taken over the place! Food fantastic,, seafood taster plate very nice I would def recommend it! Partner had bembridge crab sandwich,our kids well catered for too with toddler plate ( mixed finger food) and pasta! All the family loved the pitch and putt! And the afternoon ended with a locally made very tasty ice cream! Well worth a visit!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nichola d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Neglect at Browns”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Went to Browns over May Bank Holiday, having been there many times before. What has happened. ?! The whole course was overgrown and neglected, so no way would we pay to use this facilty in its current state. What used to be 2 separate courses on pitch n' putt is now only one, with what used to be the 2nd course completely overgrown, with evidence of hole numbers still in situ, poking above the long grass and weeds!! It is clear that the owners have no idea how to maintain the area for the benefit of residents and visitors, in what used to be an enjoyable environment.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Browns Family Golf also viewed

Sandown, Isle of Wight
Sandown, Isle of Wight
 
Sandown, Isle of Wight
Sandown, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Browns Family Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing