We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very unimpressive”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Fat Harry's

Fat Harry's
Ranked #45 of 54 Restaurants in Sandown
Cuisines: Fast food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Gourmet Fish and Chips Restaraunt serving Gluten free foods cooked in a seperate oil fryer.Delicious.Why is'nt it listed.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very unimpressive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

The staff were unfriendly. Fish and chips were disappointing. The batter was soggy and the fish was small and thin. Back home it would have been classed as fish strip. The chips were greasy and not very well cooked. WIll not return and neither would I recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alb9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    44
    22
    29
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not a place to eat in!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Definately not gourmet! Ok fish and chips - but had run out of ketchup (which they charge extra for even when you eat in!). They had no pies at all. We ended up having 4 fish - 3 were nice and fluffy but the 4th was dry and either overcooked or had been sat for some time!
A very average take away in my mind.
I may be being harsh as this was about 8:30pm after the Sandown Procession and they were very busy.
But a bit of a let down.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Salbiljock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beckenham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Gourmet restaurant" avoid!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I think the reference on the front of this shop to"Gourmet fish and chips" is stretching the definition somewhat! A recent visit showed a disorganised restaurant on the serving and preparation side only to be followed by possibly the worst fish and chips I have ever tasted. The experience failed at ever step with a poor quality fish, soggy chips (oily and greasy)..................shall I go on?! If there is a school for fish and chip shop management then I suggest this outfit take the qualification!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tom c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No better than any other”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Claim to be gourmet fish restaurant I have had better in Fish Shops that claim nothing but A Chippy fish was small chips ok.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gluten free fish and chips”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

After numerous visits to Fat Harry's over the years and being told the gluten free options are available all the time I couldn't wait to go there this time. What a disappointment! No gluten free available because they ran out of oil! How can a fish and chip shop run out of oil? Will be reluctant to return again after this big let down!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sssju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fat Harry's also viewed

 
Sandown, Isle of Wight
Sandown, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Fat Harry's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing