We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I wouldn't stay anywhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cheverton Copse Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Lydd, United Kingdom
1 review
“I wouldn't stay anywhere else”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This was our fifth year coming here and it's a fantastic site, evening entertainment is great with kids club and something for the adults, safe site for the children and the owners are lovely people. I'm looking forward to next may when we return again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharoncarr77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Owner at Cheverton Copse Holiday Park, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hi Sharon

I would just like to tke this oppourtunity to thank you for your review. Positive comments (and negative when applicable!) are very important to us. We do try hard as a family business to make sure everyone is catered for in our clubhouse during the childrens holidays. The kids clubs are a huge success and its inevitable that they all make new friends! I note that you have re booked for 2015 and we will make every effort to make sure its an even better expereince next year! Many thanks again and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    13
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
173
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Our first visit but I am guessing not our last.....This caravan park is safe, no cars on site, luggage transported on a trolley from the car. We stayed in a lovely caravan which more than lived up to expectations, it was well appointed and very, very clean, as was the whole site, I never saw any litter or overflowing bins. The laundry room was well looked after with new washing machines available, this meant that because of the wet weather and muddy clothes I could wash these and tumble dry, also washed a load to lessen the need for laundry when we got home. The staff were all friendly and helpful, but unobtrusive, the advantage of a small family run business being that they care and invest in the site which is very apparent. The small air field nearby was wonderful glancing up to see what light air-craft was going by (closes at 17:30 so not a noise nuisance).

The kids club every evening was a huge hit and Andy the entertainer was great fun with the children and laugh out loud funny for the adults. The site is 7 or 8 minutes from the beaches at Sandown and Shanklin, a Morrisons is 10 minutes along the lane. My daughter met some lovely children and on days out around the island we had to ensure we were back for the kids club!! The freedom that she was allowed was wonderful and we felt happy in the knowledge that she was never very far.

The weather was not great but it made no difference to our holiday and the only thing I would change would be packing an old pair of trainers, the grass was often wet and I was assured that wellies were no good for 'run outs' or 'hide and seek' so she had to wear her new pair!!

Room Tip: A caravan away from the clubhouse is advisable, but also consider those that are near the playground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lettermacaward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Owner at Cheverton Copse Holiday Park, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you so much for your detailed and very positive review. It is so important for us to know what we are doing right and wrong and where we can possibly improve our guests holiday experience. As a family run park, we put ourselves into your shoes and try to make everthing perfect.
I have noted that the kids club was a huge hit for your children and I will make sure that Andy has some new jokes and games for 2015! We do tend to get great feedback for the kids clubs, in our eyes this can really make a families holiday, if the kids are happy, the parents are generally happy! Unfortunately some of the units close to the clubhouse do suffer from the karaoke singing (cats being strangled) :) up to 11pm.
We will strive to make sure our standards don't drop for the coming years and hope to see you back soon! Many thanks and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed here with our three young children and despite the unpredictable British weather we had a great time. The accommodation was spotless and great value and the service from the owners was first class - our microwave broke and within 10 minutes of reporting this to reception they turned up with a brand new one. If I could suggest a couple of improvements it would be that paths to the caravans would help as it was a bit soggy under foot and it would be nice if the bar was open a bit earlier. These are only minor gripes though and we will definitely be back to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dubs247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Owner at Cheverton Copse Holiday Park, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you so much for your recent review and 5 star rating! We did have a very wet (and busy!) winter this season. Unfortuntely the relentless rain we had from December to March/April meant the park was constantly wet and soft underfoot way into the season. We have looked into pathways around the park and although it is an extremely large and expensive project we have not ruled it out, so watch this space! I am glad your microwave issue was rectified quickly, breakages do happen and we always see this as another way we can install a bit of good old fashioned faith in customer service to get it rectified immediately where possible. We have dabbled with opening the clubhouse earlier a few seasons ago, however, we found many families were either eating out or staying at the attractions and beaches till later, so decided to move it back to 7:30. Once again, thank you for your time and review, we hope to welcome you back sometime in the future! Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Another first class holiday at Cheverton Copse. A group of us stayed here for May half term age 10 months to 68 years and all had an amazing time. The kids loved playing on the park and kids club. We all had a great time in the bar with bingo, dog racing and karaoke. Caravans all great and so clean. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners. We have booked again for August and can't wait.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Owner at Cheverton Copse Holiday Park, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hi Tina

Thank you very much indeed for your review and positive comments. I remember your group very well in the clubhouse, a great crowd and intent on having a good time. I remember the karaoke singers being good (mostly!)
We are very proud and priviliged that you have chosen to come back to us in August, hopefully the weather will be amazing and I will make sure you recieve better tips for the dog racing night! Kind Regards and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

2nd trip at Cheverton Copse and the family had a brilliant time. We booked a static a caravan via Mobile Home Lets website so we booked direct with the owners. It was great value for money. Cheverton is ideal for the family with good entertainment for all

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Owner at Cheverton Copse Holiday Park, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hi Gareth

I would like to take this oppourtunity to thank you for your recent review and 5 star rating!
We do try hard to cater for the whole family in the clubhouse and I am glad this has been noticed.
I was pleased to read that the whole family had a great time and that we might see you for a 3rd time soon?! Thanks again and best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

What can I say about this park. It has a beautiful countryside setting, fabulous genuine family owners who cannot do enough to make sure your stay is amazing. The cleanest accommodation I have ever stayed in. The 5* rating is truly deserved.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tomfestool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Owner at Cheverton Copse Holiday Park, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hi Tom

Thanks so much for the recent comments and review which gave us 5 stars!

We are extremely proud of our location and park setting, the groudsman (Mike, Danny & Andy) work ever so hard to make sure every blade of grass is the correct shade of green and cut to the perfect length! As a family park we try to treat each guest as an extended member of the family and endevour to make everything go perfectly. We do pride ourselves in the condition and cleanliness of all of our caravans, I will pass on your feedback to the cleaning team!

Thanks again and we hope to see you sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

This was our first experience in staying in a caravan and I was so pleasantly surprised!
The park has parking away from the caravans which meant the kids can run free with no worries about people pulling in and out in their cars. The grounds are well kept and caravans are clean and well equipped.
We have one that overlooked the playground which meant we could see the kids from inside. The staff were great and although the bar/club etc were not open, there was still a warm friendly feel to the place.
I would definitely go again and although there is no pool, everything is so close that you don't need to travel far to anything.
I even had a flying lesson at the airfield next door!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honest_Mrs_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Isle of Wight Sandown (Merrie Gardens)
4.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 31 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aqua Hotel
Aqua Hotel
#20 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheverton Copse Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheverton Copse Holiday Park

Property: Cheverton Copse Holiday Park
Address: Scotchells Brook Lane, Sandown PO36 0JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheverton Copse Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheverton Copse is small family run holiday park located between the sandy beaches of Sandown and Shanklin on the Isle of Wight. Our aim is to provide an unspoilt countryside atmosphere where our guests can enjoy a relaxed holiday and for our efforts, we are proud to have achieved a 4 star holiday park rating and the David Bellamy Gold award for conservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Cheverton Copse Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheverton Copse Holiday Park Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing