We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cheverton Copse Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My wife and i have just got back from a stay at Cheverton Copse. We thought the caravan was absolutely spotless. Having stayed at a good number of other Holiday Parks, we are aften used to seeing a stain here, or peeling 'wallpaper' there.... but no, the caravan was as good as brand new. It was also very modern and spacious.

The little things made all the difference: egg cups and a toast rack and milk jug in the caravan! Not to forget the shower.... a proper 'power shower', and double glazing and central heating.

The park was much the same.... really well maintained, and very beautiful. But above all, the family that run the park... they really make the difference. Not only do they clearly take a great deal of pride in providing the highest standards for their guests, they are very friendly and welcoming - genuinely pleased to have you as their guest.

The Isle of wight is such a fantastic place to visit anyway, with so much to do and see. But where to stay? Its Cheverton Copse without a doubt. A great base for your holiday. Genuinely could not fault it in any way whatsoever. We will definitely be back! You will NOT be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Owner at Cheverton Copse Holiday Park, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hi Dave

Many thanks for your review! We are so pleased that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us so much. We do try as a family so hard to make sure the park is presented as we would like to see it if we were staying here! We will do our best to make sure the egg cups and toast rack are part of the accommodation inventory when you come back! Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    13
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
174
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Myself, my wife and 2 daughters (2 & 4 y/o) have just spent a week at Cheverton Copse. From the caravan being spotlessly clean to the staff being so friendly and helpful. Perfect location to explore the IOW. Sandown and Shanklin both close by. Would definitely stay again and recommend the place to others. Absolutely nothing negative to say at all.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Owner at Cheverton Copse Holiday Park, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hi Jon

We would like to take this chance to thank you for your positive review and 5 star rating! We try to make sure everything is in tip top condition for our guests and I will pass on your positive comments to our cleaning team. We do hope to see you and your family again soon, maybe in the summer holidays in the future when your children can enjoy our kids club!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed at Cheverton Copse for a 2 night break and fitted our needs perfectly. Clean, spacious and well equipped caravan in a beautiful quiet location with the exception of the odd small aircraft either taking off or landing (but this only lasted a moment). Staff very helpful and welcoming. As out of season could not comment on entertainment. The grounds are so clean and well maintained. The site is very safe for children. Would definitely return.
Thank you Cheverton Copse for a very pleasant stay....highly recommend!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soniagallantry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Owner at Cheverton Copse Holiday Park, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hi Sonia

Many thanks for your recent review and positive comments. I am glad you were able to give us 5 stars! We too, see the grass aerodrome as a positive rather than a negative! Many families sit down by our new viewing area to watch the small planes take off and land, thankfully the 747 aircrafts are a little too big! Just for future reference if you would like to visit when our clubhouse is open, it is open during the Whitsun bank holiday week and the 6 weeks summer holidays, which then permits us to provide a full entertainment programme. Thank you once again for taking time out to pass on your positive feedback, it is extremely important and gratefully recieved!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crediton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed here with our kids, our relatives and friends. We had great time and had so much fun. good hospitality and really friendly atmosphere. very comfortable caravan and bed as well despite the price. we are definately coming back to stay here again. Thanks, Cheverton copse holiday park!!!

Room Tip: you can always call the reception to discuss of the rooms what you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Midori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Front Office Manager at Cheverton Copse Holiday Park, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments, it is greatly appreciated. So pleased that you enjoyed your stay - see you next time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydd, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This was our fifth year coming here and it's a fantastic site, evening entertainment is great with kids club and something for the adults, safe site for the children and the owners are lovely people. I'm looking forward to next may when we return again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharoncarr77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Owner at Cheverton Copse Holiday Park, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hi Sharon

I would just like to tke this oppourtunity to thank you for your review. Positive comments (and negative when applicable!) are very important to us. We do try hard as a family business to make sure everyone is catered for in our clubhouse during the childrens holidays. The kids clubs are a huge success and its inevitable that they all make new friends! I note that you have re booked for 2015 and we will make every effort to make sure its an even better expereince next year! Many thanks again and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Our first visit but I am guessing not our last.....This caravan park is safe, no cars on site, luggage transported on a trolley from the car. We stayed in a lovely caravan which more than lived up to expectations, it was well appointed and very, very clean, as was the whole site, I never saw any litter or overflowing bins. The laundry room was well looked after with new washing machines available, this meant that because of the wet weather and muddy clothes I could wash these and tumble dry, also washed a load to lessen the need for laundry when we got home. The staff were all friendly and helpful, but unobtrusive, the advantage of a small family run business being that they care and invest in the site which is very apparent. The small air field nearby was wonderful glancing up to see what light air-craft was going by (closes at 17:30 so not a noise nuisance).

The kids club every evening was a huge hit and Andy the entertainer was great fun with the children and laugh out loud funny for the adults. The site is 7 or 8 minutes from the beaches at Sandown and Shanklin, a Morrisons is 10 minutes along the lane. My daughter met some lovely children and on days out around the island we had to ensure we were back for the kids club!! The freedom that she was allowed was wonderful and we felt happy in the knowledge that she was never very far.

The weather was not great but it made no difference to our holiday and the only thing I would change would be packing an old pair of trainers, the grass was often wet and I was assured that wellies were no good for 'run outs' or 'hide and seek' so she had to wear her new pair!!

Room Tip: A caravan away from the clubhouse is advisable, but also consider those that are near the playground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lettermacaward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Owner at Cheverton Copse Holiday Park, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you so much for your detailed and very positive review. It is so important for us to know what we are doing right and wrong and where we can possibly improve our guests holiday experience. As a family run park, we put ourselves into your shoes and try to make everthing perfect.
I have noted that the kids club was a huge hit for your children and I will make sure that Andy has some new jokes and games for 2015! We do tend to get great feedback for the kids clubs, in our eyes this can really make a families holiday, if the kids are happy, the parents are generally happy! Unfortunately some of the units close to the clubhouse do suffer from the karaoke singing (cats being strangled) :) up to 11pm.
We will strive to make sure our standards don't drop for the coming years and hope to see you back soon! Many thanks and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed here with our three young children and despite the unpredictable British weather we had a great time. The accommodation was spotless and great value and the service from the owners was first class - our microwave broke and within 10 minutes of reporting this to reception they turned up with a brand new one. If I could suggest a couple of improvements it would be that paths to the caravans would help as it was a bit soggy under foot and it would be nice if the bar was open a bit earlier. These are only minor gripes though and we will definitely be back to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dubs247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Owner at Cheverton Copse Holiday Park, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you so much for your recent review and 5 star rating! We did have a very wet (and busy!) winter this season. Unfortuntely the relentless rain we had from December to March/April meant the park was constantly wet and soft underfoot way into the season. We have looked into pathways around the park and although it is an extremely large and expensive project we have not ruled it out, so watch this space! I am glad your microwave issue was rectified quickly, breakages do happen and we always see this as another way we can install a bit of good old fashioned faith in customer service to get it rectified immediately where possible. We have dabbled with opening the clubhouse earlier a few seasons ago, however, we found many families were either eating out or staying at the attractions and beaches till later, so decided to move it back to 7:30. Once again, thank you for your time and review, we hope to welcome you back sometime in the future! Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Isle of Wight Sandown (Merrie Gardens)
4.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#7 of 29 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aqua Hotel
Aqua Hotel
#20 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheverton Copse Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheverton Copse Holiday Park

Property: Cheverton Copse Holiday Park
Address: Scotchells Brook Lane, Sandown PO36 0JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheverton Copse Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheverton Copse is small family run holiday park located between the sandy beaches of Sandown and Shanklin on the Isle of Wight. Our aim is to provide an unspoilt countryside atmosphere where our guests can enjoy a relaxed holiday and for our efforts, we are proud to have achieved a 4 star holiday park rating and the David Bellamy Gold award for conservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Cheverton Copse Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheverton Copse Holiday Park Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing