We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best caravan park in the UK for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cheverton Copse Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best caravan park in the UK for families”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is our 10th visit and every holiday here has been excellent. The entertainment caters for all ages and is varied. The site is impeccably well kept and is an ideal base to explore the whole island. It's unique that cars are kept away from the caravans so the children are all safe to play from an early age. See you in 2015

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rummers348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    13
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
174
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic week's stay on this site. The site was immaculate and really well looked after. The caravan was lovely and clean. Our boys loved the freedom to play out every night with lots of other similiar aged kids and we were able to relax knowing that they were safe. If we hadn't already booked our holiday next year we would be returning to Cheverton Copse. We would reccommend the site to any family who wants a safe, quiet and relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliej0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Owner at Cheverton Copse Holiday Park, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your comments. Its great to hear that you got to relax and that the boys were busy and happy, thats what holidays should be all about!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandon
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

First time we have stayed at Cheverton and overall impressed with the location of the site and the cleanliness of the accommodation. The grounds are kept immaculate, and I noticed the bins are cleaned daily.

Now for a few points, I would like to raise not negative more constructive.

When we stayed we noticed the amount of Eastern Europeans staying at the site who where obviously using the site for working accommodation.

Unfortunately these groups, the majority being male would congregate mainly on the benches nearest the children park, and would be drinking or smoking throughout the evening.

This would always bring concern to myself when my kids wanted to play on the park, and felt a little uneasy.

Just a suggestion it maybe worth allocating families around the park areas, and contract workers away for the park areas which I am sure would satisfy all parties.

The other suggestion I would make is to maybe open the bar and entertainment a week earlier, having looked around there was loads of kids around to justify this, and I am sure everyone would benefit from this.(just to note it was clear that the entertainment was not on when we was attending so we did allow for this)

Overall a good family run site which I would recommend to any of my friends with kids.

Just like to add my eldest child said when we left " it's been the best holiday ever which was made by playing with the other boys in the evenings on the campsite" so who can argue with that for a recommendation !

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 115DDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Owner at Cheverton Copse Holiday Park, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are very glad that it was "the best ever holiday" for your family
and we look forward to seeing you again soon at Cheverton Copse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was our first holiday with our 8 month old and this park made it very easy for us! The caravans were clean, well maintained and spacious, the staff at the park could not do enough to help, ensuring there was space in the second bedroom for our travel cot, providing a highchair and helping us when we had difficulties with the wifi.
The grounds are lovely, clean, and safe for children to play. The location was a great base to explore the island.
We have told all our friends about this park and hope to return again and one day return in the school holidays to experience the entertainment on offer.
For the price we paid it was excellent value for money.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stace15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Owner at Cheverton Copse Holiday Park, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hi and thank you so much for your 5 star rating! We were extremely chuffed to read your glowing review! As a family business, we try to make your holiday as memorable and as hassle free as possible. We would love to welcome you back during the holidays, where the young member of the family can enjoy our kids club (make sure they like sweets, as these are given out on a more than regular basis!) Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Reading all the positive comments of this holiday park encouraged me to book a mid-week break at this park, unfortunately we were far from impressed, especially with the smelly toilet of the caravan we stayed in, the stench of stale tobacco smoke was extremely unpleasant, and as you are not supposed to smoke in the caravans (we are all non smokers) it was even more unsavoury. We also found in one of the cupboards a packet of filters for roll-ups which I also handed in along with the keys, a pair of (assumedly used sterile gloves) which I refused to touch, and an old kettle (the latter of which was no threat to health) I did comment to the owners on leaving the camp who in all fairness did say I should have mentioned it before as they could have used smokebombs to deal with the problem!
However the cleaners can't be very vigilent in their cleaning otherwise they would have tried to deal with the problem, or reported it accordingly. The kitchen floor was filthy, so too was the shelving in the bathroom along with other areas. We stayed in the most expensive caravans, as originally thought the holiday party would be bigger, though the 2 bedroomed caravans looked more superior.
I notice that most of the reviews are from people who holidayed during the school holidays, and hence the bar was open with entertainment provided, however the bar wasn't open when we visited. (Mid season), with several caravans occupied. I realise this is a 'Relax and Explore' choice, but we stayed in a 'Relax and Explore' holiday park the same time last year, and they had their bar open, which also provided meals. Speaking to fellow holiday makers, they too were also disappointed that the bar was closed.
Last but not least, my daughter in law felt very intimidated by a group of males who appeared to often leer at her, don't think they are fellow holiday makers as on the rotary clothes drier between the caravan we had and one of the caravans where some of the 'group' stayed often had clothes pegged to it, and one or two of the shirts were covered in oil or other dirty marks. I would like to add that my daughter in law was not dressed in a provocative manner, however if she was, it still doesn't give them the right to leer and stare at her or other females. Literally all she was doing was watching after our grand-daughter playing.
It's such a pity it was a let-down as overall it's a nice site, with good play areas for little ones, and with pleasant surrounding countryside, and liked watching the planes either take off or land at the small airport nearby.

Room Tip: Caravan 37 has a very smelly toilet due to secret smokers over time. Caravan poor design, and poky...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucy_Ouzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Owner at Cheverton Copse Holiday Park, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We are very disappointed that your review was poor, and as you can see, the only one we've had since starting Trip Advisor.
We do emphasise the point of bringing to our attention anything that is not as it should be when you settle into your accommodation. This is in printed in your welcome booklet provided in your accommodation.
We strive to turn any negative points raised upon checking in, into a positive, by either moving our customers or arranging for extra cleaning to be undertaken immediately. We checked the accommodation for smoke smells in the toilet but assume this had dispersed after the 4 nights you had stayed.
The clubhouse is advertised as only being open from the 26th July for the summer holidays. If this had been a requirement, it might have been better to select a park that has year round entertainment. We have tried to open the bar out of season, but it just isn't feasible until the summer holidays. (This is standard practice on the Isle of Wight with the smaller run family parks like ourselves).
We do occasionally have contract workers staying on site, and they are free to smoke outside of the caravan, as smoking is prohibited inside our accommodation. We have had no other complaints about noise or problems with these customers, again if this had been brought to our attention we could have dealt with this matter sympathetically.

We did bring the cleanliness issue to our contact cleaning team and they have been told to pay particular attention to check all drawers and cupboards to make sure everything is removed from previous guests. I apologise if our high standard of cleanliness was not met on this occasion.

In closing, we are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us as much as all of the other reviewers have, it is so disappointing that we didn't have the chance to remedy your problems if they had brought to our attention sooner, its similar to eating & finishing your meal at a restaurant and then complaining that you didn't like it.

We do hope we get a chance to prove that we do have one of the best parks on the island, if you would like to discuss a future booking with me directly, please call me on 01983 403161.
Kind Regards Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We spent a week at Cheverton Copse Holiday Park in one of their 2 bedroom caravans. It was the first summer holiday we've taken with our 8 month old baby and we had a lovely, memorable time. The accommodation was clean and surprisingly spacious for a caravan, which was fitted out well and had everything you need for a self-catering holiday. The site itself is peaceful and an excellent base for families. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Owner at Cheverton Copse Holiday Park, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your positive review! Its great to see young families taking caravan holidays, hopefully the 8 month old was able to experience the small slide on our pirate ship on mum or dads lap!
We strive to make sure everything is clean and tidy and the park is in tip top condition and we are glad that you would recommend us to others! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great clean and spacious caravans, we stayed in gold during May school hol. Very spacious site, not a massive place but adds to the charm and tranquility, there's good kids parks with bar and entertainment in the eve (check first as it is seasonal). We love camping but the weather wasn't good so we wanted somewhere that felt similar and we found it here. We shall be back May next year.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CWTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Owner at Cheverton Copse Holiday Park, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you also enjoyed the clubhouse with entertainment! We are very much looking forward to seeing you and the family next year!

Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Isle of Wight Sandown (Merrie Gardens)
4.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#7 of 29 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aqua Hotel
Aqua Hotel
#18 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheverton Copse Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheverton Copse Holiday Park

Property: Cheverton Copse Holiday Park
Address: Scotchells Brook Lane, Sandown PO36 0JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheverton Copse Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheverton Copse is small family run holiday park located between the sandy beaches of Sandown and Shanklin on the Isle of Wight. Our aim is to provide an unspoilt countryside atmosphere where our guests can enjoy a relaxed holiday and for our efforts, we are proud to have achieved a 4 star holiday park rating and the David Bellamy Gold award for conservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Cheverton Copse Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheverton Copse Holiday Park Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing