We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful holiday house, very conveniently located”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Beach Haven

Front Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front Garden
Sandown Bay double bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
Front Garden
Sandown Bay
double bedroom
dining area
Bunk Bedroom
Side view from bungalow
Lounge
Sandown Dinosaur museum
Sandown Crazy golf
Sandown Pier 2
Sandown Pier
Hall
kitchen
Twin Bedroom
Garden
View of Beach Haven from the Downs
View of the Bay from the Downs
Culver Down
Beaches and Culver Down
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Sandown, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Arkle09
UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good location, adequate but dated property with room for much improvement.”
Reviewed 19 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The written reviews at the property appear to have been ignored and unusually Trip Advisor did not perform its normal follow-up questionnaire to me.
For a £567 September booking my wife and I would have expected greater attention to facilities, comfort and detail than Beach Haven offers.
Lack of slip mats at either entrances when the carpeting is light cream - poor. Cutlery drawer handle - missing. Kettle - plastic smell when boiled. No bread bin or adequate provision to store dry goods in kitchen. No waste paper bins. Dunelm Mill bucket-style furniture in lounge - excruciating after 20 minutes seated! Lounge window collides with exterior wall tiles - no warning. Hair-dryer box but no hair dryer. Full waste bin on arrival!! No bedroom chairs in place. No advice on triggering water-heating. Soiled wall adjacent to bathroom WC. Cracked window pane in bathroom. Loose hand basin. 15 minute walk to beach - why call it 'Beach Haven'? No internet access. Single mattresses appear of some 30+ year vintage.
Good points - yes, warm and secure. Up-market dining table & chairs. Accessible to the remainder of IOW easily. Despite heavy criticism of the bungalow it proved an enjoyable week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Broad location
Liked least: Lounge seating
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback, we do appreciate our guests contacting us with both positive and any negative comments about their holiday experience. As regards your comment that we do not follow up on previous comments we would like to reassure you that this is not the case. We are also somewhat disappointed that you did not bring any of the matters to our attention during the course of your stay and we would have been in a position to rectify issues were we aware of them. I am sure that you will note that previous guests have commented on how quickly we have responded to any problems.
With regards to some of the specific issues you raise we would like to make the following comments:
a) Location - the location is clearly stated on the website and the distance is accurate. Other guests have noted that the beach is 5 mins walk away along a quiet road and others have commented that it is well located for the beach. Obviously how long it will take depends on how fast an individual walks and if it took you 15 mins to do the same walk as others took 5 mins we cannot alter the position.
b) Hairdryer. We were unaware that one of the hairdryers was missing and can only assume that it was taken during the course of this season. However, presumably you found the other one ok? Both bedrooms have hairdryers provided.
c) The mattresses are not 30 years' old but 4 years' old. They meet all fire safety standards.
d) You are correct that one window in the lounge does not open fully and thank you for drawing to our attention the need for a warning notice. However, the lounge is dual aspect and there are several other opening windows available providing for ventilation when required such that there is no need to open the window referred to.
e) We were unaware that a drawer handle was missing and will arrange for it to be replaced - thank you for letting us know.
f) Thank you for the comment regarding door mats and front and back door. We will arrange for door mats to be provided.
g)Nobody has mentioned any problem with the plastic smell from the kettle before now and we had not noticed it either when visiting before the start of the summer. We will investigate it.
h)No bread bin - we have never found need to use one at home. Nobody has mentioned the requirement before and many guests comment on how well Beach Haven is equipped.
I) No waste paper bins. We believe there should be waste bins provided in both the kitchen and the bathroom unless these have gone missing. We will look into providing one in the lounge.
j)Cracked pane in the bathroom window. Thank you for notifying us of this we shall investigate further although as the glass is double glazed we assume that the crack is in only either the outer or inner pane?
k)No internet access. The property is not advertised as having internet access.
j) No boiler instructions. Thank you for drawing this to our attention. The instruction manual should have been available as the boiler is less than a year old, we will ensure that instructions are provided. However, the system is very simple and straightforward and we could have given you details over the phone. We are pleased to note though that you found the accommodation warm.
k)We are sorry that the bathroom wall was soiled adjacent to w/c. We should investigate the issue with the cleaners and ensure that any problem is rectified.
l) Loose hand basin. Thank you for notifying us of this and we will investigate further.
m)Lounge furniture. Pictures of the furniture are provided on the internet and comfort is a subjective matter. We have had no previous complaints in the last 6 years as to the comfort of the lounge furniture.
n)We are sorry that the waste bins had not been emptied on your arrival at Beach Haven. The Island Council has a fortnightly waste collection alternating between general waste and recycling. It may be the case that the bin requiring emptying fell on the next week of the cycle. However problems can also arise if guests place the incorrect waste in the bins (eg put recyclables in the general waste or vice versa) or place the wrong type of waste out for collection on that week. In either case the Council will not collect the rubbish and this is beyond our control.

We hope our answers herein has at least reassured you that we do take on board all of our feedback seriously. Where it is negative we try to resolve the issues, where positive we try to ensure that we do more of the same. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and found the bungalow warm and secure, we just wished that you had let us know about the matters raised during the course of your stay and we are sure that many of them could have been resolved rather than leaving you to dwell upon them.
Kind regards
Trevor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fourperso...
St Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location, large family friendly garden, internal decor needs a revamp.”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Handy location for the beach. Good sized, secure garden for the kids. Owners responsive to feedback about maintenance issues. Decor a little tired, old kitchen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzi R
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday house, very conveniently located”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I was very impressed with the size and facilities at this property, especially the extensive garden. It was very conveniently located within walking distance of the beach and several local attractions. A very enjoyable place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size and garden
Liked least: No internet access
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - so much in walking distance.
Liked least: Information lacking about dustbin emptying.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing