We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable”
Review of Carisbrooke House

Carisbrooke House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sandown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carisbrooke House
Ranked #22 of 31 Sandown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Just come back from a few nights here. The bed was very comfortable and the room was exceptionally clean. The friendly owners couldn't do enough to help, providing advice on where to visit and directions etc. The cooked breakfast was nice; hot and tasty.
I was concerned about the lack of parking after reading other reviews, but this wasn't an issue for me. I managed to find a space either on the property itself or just outside on the side road (which seemed quiet enough).
Overall our stay was enjoyable and comfortable and good value for money in my opinion.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ijustworkforhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2012

Stayed for a week with the better half around a month ago. The room was spotless with excellent facilities, obviously a very well looked after establishment. Service was 5 star and always pleased with the breakfasts layed out for us. A definite re-visit is in order, excellent price! Very ideal location, with only 30 second walk through then adjacent park down to the beach! Having read previous comments, parking really was not an issue for us, with a parking space allocated on site plus spaces all around the hotel, no more than 10 steps from the door. Definite recommendation to anyone looking for great value short or long term breaks!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Max J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed at Carisbrooke house for the duration of four nights, despite the size of the room which was slightly smaller than we had hoped the standard was impeccable! The proprietor's Mike and Terry were extremely hospitable and made us feel very welcome. One day my girlfriend couldn't attend breakfast as she was ill and they provided her with a lemsip without even being asked which we thought was a nice gesture. They recommended us on which locations on the Island would suit our needs and would be suitable with the corresponding weather. The Breakfast menu offered a reasonable selection and the food was good.
However, on a negative note we were very disappointed with the lack of parking spaces available and there was a point during our stay where we had to park the car in an inconvenient spot quite far away from the B&B. Furthermore there was a lack of entertainment in the evening and the bar was only open once in comparison to the nearby residences in which there was daily evening entertainment provided. Overall we had an enjoyable stay and would recommend other couples to stay here. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Room 2 is very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SelassiVII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed at this B&B for 2 nights at the end of July and unfortunatly we where a bit disappointed. Our room was very small and therefore a bit of a squeeze, we felt that the room could also do with some refurbishment. Shower was a bit loose and took ages to get hot water.
Food was ok, except we did notice on the breakfast menu that if you wanted any extra breakfast items there was a 75p charge per item. Ok we didn't need any extra items but when you are paying as much as you are for a nights stay Im sure an extra sausage wouldn't make much difference.
Another downside was that there was no parking just street parking we didn't notice at the time of booking.
However the owner was very nice, friendly and helpfull.
Sandown is a great place would recommend a walk on the pier and Bellamys is a great restaurant

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Had a pleasant stay in this B&B, location was convenient for us as visiting relatives nearby.

The room we had was modern and contemporary and the bed comfortable. Close to the road though so could be a little noisy with the windows open.

Hosts were friendly and helpful, and breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NPUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We booked a last minute holiday in the isle of wight just recently and found a little gem of a guest house. Very nice couple run it they could not be more helpful if they tired. The service was good the rooms lovely and clean. The food good and plentiful. We would recommend this guest house to all our friends.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eagle123056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2007

We stayed here on a school trip. The food was great and the people were lovely. Mike and Terry the owners of the hotel were happy to give us our lunch to take out as a picnic. The beds were comfortable. The hotel was warm and welcoming and we were very happy to head back to the hotel for some peace and quiet. We would like to thank Mike and Terry for a relaxing stay at their hotel in Sandown.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sharpertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
1,264 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rosemary Cottage
Rosemary Cottage
#1 of 1 in Newchurch
212 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#10 of 29 in Sandown
448 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westfield
The Westfield
#5 of 31 in Sandown
133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carisbrooke House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carisbrooke House

Address: 11 Beachfield Road, Sandown PO36 8NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Sandown
Price Range: £44 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Carisbrooke House Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing