We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but fun” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amazon World Zoo Park

Amazon World Zoo Park
Ranked #3 of 20 things to do in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This all-weather recreation of the Amazon rainforest houses over 200 species of animals and birds.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Small but fun”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We spent a pleasant couple of hours here with 2 young children. It's a small zoo on a small island, so it's best to manage expectations - there are no big animals here, but plenty of smaller ones (meerkats, lemurs etc) as well as some creepy-crawly areas that could be avoided if you wish. The first part is set up like a little jungle and is quite humid. Nice to see so many different birds roaming relatively freely, but it didn't look like the caiman and dwarf crocodile had much space. Talking of space, a disproportionate amount of it is given over to the nocturnal (and elusive!) armadillos.
The ticket for a family of four was around £30 which seemed reasonable value for money, and included the 'unlimited returns within a week' offer. To be honest though we felt we'd seen it and done it all in a couple of hours

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mumofchaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    406
    300
    128
    58
    63
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

family holiday visit
We enjoyed every minute we where there.

my husband and daughter got to meet a lemur up close and personal and one also tried to help my hubby with his walking stick by checking if it tasted good.(kept grabbing it and licking it,)

we really enjoyed our visit it wonderful to be able to get up close and personal with these wonderful creatures.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank cristal954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Great for the kids, have visited it several times over the years and site is still growing and improving.
My only comment is the owners need to try a bit harder to maintain their existing areas and animal enclosures to keep the whole park to a high standard and more could be done by way of toys/play things to stimulate some of the animals.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“An enjoyable day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Came here on the first day of my holiday at the end of July 2014 and it was a very enjoyable half day out.

Managed to enter using tesco vouchers which was an added bonus. After getting inside the venue weaves you around whilst walking through a range of different enclosures with a great variety of wildlife and animals. Particularly enjoyed the chance to go inside one of the enclosures and have the animals walking right up and around you, even jumping onto some of the other people also in the enclosure.

As a whole it was a great day with lots to do - fun for all ages!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic place great value and good fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Visited on Saturday over Cowes week and had a marvellous time. My girls loved the whole experiance expecially the ring tailed lemurs, they where very friendly and being able to walk in their enclosure with them all climbing over us was grwat fun.

Ice cream was reasonably priced and entry I thought was very reasonable.

It offers you a weeks return ticket for no extra cost and the staff were very helpfull with answering questions.

Only criticism is the insects area very dark kept tripping over people and also the tomb area was very dark but apart from that strongly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Troy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amazon World Zoo Park also viewed

Sandown, Isle of Wight
Newport, Isle of Wight
 
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
Sandown, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Amazon World Zoo Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing