We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day out on the Isle of Wight”

Amazon World Zoo Park
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This all-weather recreation of the Amazon rainforest houses over 200 species of animals and birds.
bournemouth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Day out on the Isle of Wight”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We planned a visit to the zoo on our day trip to the Isle of Wight & arrived just as it opened. My daughter had fun in the play area before going into the zoo and some more fun after lunch before going back into the zoo. Love the fact that we were able to revisit during the day, with a stamp on our hand. A bit disappointed on our return, that we weren't able to go back in with the Lemurs, not sure why it was closed off. Used our Tesco vouchers for part of our admission

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank samc83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    318
    133
    60
    65
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Spent 2 and a half hours in this attraction, including 30 minute wait to get through the front door.
Once inside, the exhibits were interesting, mixing animals and birds together.
I was a little disappointed at the lack of aniamls in some areas, but that can be expected.
Some of the advertised animals were no where to be seen, unless we missed part of the park, where were the hummingbirds and birds of prey?
Children will love the place with a wide range of animal exhibits and plastic curtains to run through between these areas.
Value for money.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank munchkin1150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Went here a few weeks ago with 4 children aged 14,11,7 and 3 using club card vouchers.
To be honest after reading some other reviews we weren't expecting much BUT we were totally surprised at how good it was!
It's deceptively big there and the animals looked happy and healthy,the outside area was great with plenty of space and delicious ice cream,the baby meerkat was adorable but the best bit was the area you could walk through with the lemurs.
There was a children's play park and cafe but we didn't go so can't comment on them.
We ALL had a fantastic time there and will defiantly be going back again!

Helpful?
Thank jo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good day out.”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We went as a family of four, this cost £30. You get a stamp on your hand so you can go in and out of the park all day. There is a play area in front of the park, this could be better as its mainly climbing ropes but the kid's were happy. There is also a picnic area. We didn't try out the cafe but it looked ok. The park itself has meerkats, penguins, fish, nocturnal creatures and some gorgeous little tamarin monkeys plus other animals. I found it a lot better than the zoo which doesn't have a lot in. Overall the four of us enjoyed it and we'll probably go again the next time we visit the iow.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank strats-b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is my second visit to this attraction, having visited it 6 years ago. I was pleasantly surprised by the attraction as it has both improved and grown since my last visit. It contains mainly animals from the Amazon, there are a few exceptions. Meerkats, African penguins, wallaby's and Lemurs spring to mind. But all in all a nice little attraction. Around 50% of the attraction is under glass, an area with small exotic birds flying free (A great target for all those of us that think ourselves photographers). Intermingled with enclosures containing other animals. I saw a baby sloth here large tortoises and armadillos. The outside area has penguins, meerkats, wallaby's to name a few and a cafe with seating where drinks and ice creams can be purchased. For food there is a cafe just outside, and a large childrens play area. there is an option for a free return visit within a week plus a hand stamp so you can go to the play are and then return into the zoo.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HubertEgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amazon World Zoo Park also viewed

Sandown, Isle of Wight
Newport, Isle of Wight
 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Wootton Bridge, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Amazon World Zoo Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing