We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem...”
Review of The Lawns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lawns
Ranked #19 of 31 Sandown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed at the Lawns for three nights recently.We had such a warm and friendly welcome from Michelle the new owner, a comfy settee, pot of tea and biscuits before being shown to our room. Our double room was spacious with a view over the garden and to the sea. Crisp white bed linen and lovely white fluffy towells in the spotlessly clean ensuite. Breakfast to die for just a pity she didn't do evening meals!! Loads of parking and the location is such that you can leave your car and quite easily walk to the shops and beach in 3 to 4 minutes. The hotel even has an 'honesty' bar (unmanned and you are trusted to write down what you have had from the bar which is then added to your bill) handy for a night cap after you've walked back after having dinner in the town. This really is an ideal hotel/BnB to stay while visiting the lovely Isle of Wight.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crossx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2012

We chose this hotel in Sandown for a short IOW break mainly on the previous Tripadvisor comments, and we were not dissapointed. We were welcomed by the owner Nick who offered us a hot drink in the lounge, and after which he carried our bags into our room.

The bedroom and bathroom were both very clean and well presented, though I did find the corner sink a little small (room 3). The Breakfast room was very well decorated and light with a great selection of fresh fruits, yoghurts and cereals to choose from, plus a cooked breakfast if you wanted it.

All in all, just what we were looking for. A clean hotel with friendly staff and at a decent price. We found that so many of the larger hotels on the IOW look very run down from the outside, and judging from many Tripadvisor reviews are rather run down inside too. So, a good choice for anyone wanting a good place to stay in Sandown.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard_BEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lawnshotel, Owner at The Lawns, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Many thanks Richard for your review. It was a pleasure and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind Regards Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

My partner and I have just returned from a 4 day break on the Isle of Wight, which was our first holiday for over 10 years. We had loved the look of this hotel from the start when we first started to look at booking the trip and when we arrived there it did not disappoint. The hotel itself was tastefully decorated yet still managed to retain a lovely homely feel.
We had booked one of the hotel's special breaks, which included ferry crossing, and from our first point of contact with Nick everything was dealt with efficiently and quickly and in a warm friendly manner.
We were greeted on our arrival by Nick with a most welcome cup of tea, before being shown to our room. The room and en-suite bathroom were lovely - clean, bright and decorated in the same tasteful style as the rest of the hotel. the bed was very comfy - normally I struggle to sleep well anywhere else but in my own bed, but I had the best nights sleep there.
Breakfast was delicious, with wide choices to suit all tastes and Nick was attentive without being intrusive.
I would highly recommend this hotel for a number of reasons. It is advertised as a family hotel and it certainly is this, although we did never meet Stella! Credit must go to both Stella and Nick for making our trip as wonderful as it was, thank you both!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lawnshotel, Owner at The Lawns, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Thank you for your lovely review and staying with us at The Lawns. Hope to see you soon. Take Care Nick & Stella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

I have just returned from a 4 night trip to I O W. We are 2 widows who had never shared a holiday or a room but our stay at the Lawns was truly lovely, from beginning to end. We had all you could expect from an excellent hotel with the warmth and unobtrusive care one would want at a great B&B. Nick even managed to find my lost mobile phone! Our sunny,large,comfortable,modern, well furnished and decorated en suite room was cleaned to perfection every day and the breakfasts were scrumptious. Sandown was not my preferred location but we had easy motoring access to lots of lovely places and above all 4 great nights'sleep in a quiet,secure and very pleasant environment. If you want excellent value and a great stay, look no further than Nick and Stella's excellently managed Lawns Hotel.

Room Tip: People with mobility issues can have their needs met with a specially equipped ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolxmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lawnshotel, Owner at The Lawns, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2012

Thank you for your review Ladies (Personal joke). Thank you Carol & Joanne. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. See you soon. Kind Regards Nick, Stella & Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed here during our short break on the IOW a couple of weeks ago. We had a very warm welcome and were recommended some great place to eat. Our room was lovely, very clean and quiet, with a good view. The breakfast was really nice, I had something different each day and all were equally as nice. We were very comfortable here and the family were very friendly. I would definately stay here again and recommend to others!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lawnshotel, Owner at The Lawns, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Thank you Sophie for your lovely review. All the best Nick, Stella & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

My family and I enjoyed a nice short break in IOW in August. The Lawns made a good base. The room was clean and well furnished. It was a little cramped as our daughter (14 months) slept in the room with us in a travel cot, although we had been well warned in advance of booking that it would be a tight squeeze. Nick was on hand when required to advise and assist us during our stay. Breakfast was very good and the service in the dining room was second to none. The lounge area was a nice space in which to relax in the evening. In summary, the Lawns had the facilities of a sizeable hotel but with the warmth and personal touch you hope to get in a B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lawnshotel, Owner at The Lawns, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Thank you Matt for taking the time to write your review. We are happy you had a nice time staying with us and look forward to welcoming back to The Lawns in the future. All the best Nick, Stella & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

On arrival we received a very warm welcome in this family run hotel. The room and bathroom was beautifully decorated and very clean and quiet, also our room was tidied each day whilst we were out. The breakfast was well cook and well served, especially at the weekend when William, the son of Stella and Nick, helped out. I am hopefully returning to The Isle of Wight later this year and would certainly stay at The Lawns again. I have already told my family and friends what a lovely hotel this is and I am sure they would stay here if they visit the island.
Thank you Nick, Stella and William for making our stay such a pleasant one.

Room Tip: I would assume all the rooms would be as nice oas the one I stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fudgefudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. It is so nice to have such lovely guests who appreciate what we do here. It makes all the hard work worth while. Look forward to welcoming back to The Lawns soon. All the best Nick, Stella & William.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.2 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
750 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#9 of 29 in Sandown
456 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sandown
332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
455 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lawns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lawns

Address: 72 Broadway, Sandown PO36 9AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Sandown
Price Range: £45 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lawns 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect to “relax and unwind” at The Lawns.Built in 1865 as a gentleman’s residenceThe Lawns is situated in a pleasant areaof Sandown within a short walk of all local amenities. With a personalised welcome for all guests The Lawns features 13 bright en-suite rooms, comfortably furnished with the modern traveller in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with getaroom.com so you can book your The Lawns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lawns Hotel Sandown
The Lawns Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing