We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay”
Review of The Lawns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lawns
Ranked #16 of 30 Sandown B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This was our first time on the Isle of White and we couldn't have chosen a better guest house or location. Our room was great, the lounge/bar was a comfortable place to relax with a drink and the restaurant area where breakfast is served was light and airy. Breakfast was generous, setting us up for a full day of being out and about on the island. Michelle, the owner, was a fabulous host and we would definitely stay here again!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CareerJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    23
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
44
61
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at The Lawns. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here. The warm welcome, the comfortable rooms and the delicious breakfasts made for a memorable stay and we shall definitely be visiting again. The Lawns is a great base from which to explore the Isle of Wight and offers a peaceful setting to relax at the end of the day.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Marky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitchurch, Shropshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed at the Lawns for three nights recently.We had such a warm and friendly welcome from Michelle the new owner, a comfy settee, pot of tea and biscuits before being shown to our room. Our double room was spacious with a view over the garden and to the sea. Crisp white bed linen and lovely white fluffy towells in the spotlessly clean ensuite. Breakfast to die for just a pity she didn't do evening meals!! Loads of parking and the location is such that you can leave your car and quite easily walk to the shops and beach in 3 to 4 minutes. The hotel even has an 'honesty' bar (unmanned and you are trusted to write down what you have had from the bar which is then added to your bill) handy for a night cap after you've walked back after having dinner in the town. This really is an ideal hotel/BnB to stay while visiting the lovely Isle of Wight.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crossx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dulverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We chose this hotel in Sandown for a short IOW break mainly on the previous Tripadvisor comments, and we were not dissapointed. We were welcomed by the owner Nick who offered us a hot drink in the lounge, and after which he carried our bags into our room.

The bedroom and bathroom were both very clean and well presented, though I did find the corner sink a little small (room 3). The Breakfast room was very well decorated and light with a great selection of fresh fruits, yoghurts and cereals to choose from, plus a cooked breakfast if you wanted it.

All in all, just what we were looking for. A clean hotel with friendly staff and at a decent price. We found that so many of the larger hotels on the IOW look very run down from the outside, and judging from many Tripadvisor reviews are rather run down inside too. So, a good choice for anyone wanting a good place to stay in Sandown.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard_BEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lawnshotel, Owner at The Lawns, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Many thanks Richard for your review. It was a pleasure and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind Regards Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

My partner and I have just returned from a 4 day break on the Isle of Wight, which was our first holiday for over 10 years. We had loved the look of this hotel from the start when we first started to look at booking the trip and when we arrived there it did not disappoint. The hotel itself was tastefully decorated yet still managed to retain a lovely homely feel.
We had booked one of the hotel's special breaks, which included ferry crossing, and from our first point of contact with Nick everything was dealt with efficiently and quickly and in a warm friendly manner.
We were greeted on our arrival by Nick with a most welcome cup of tea, before being shown to our room. The room and en-suite bathroom were lovely - clean, bright and decorated in the same tasteful style as the rest of the hotel. the bed was very comfy - normally I struggle to sleep well anywhere else but in my own bed, but I had the best nights sleep there.
Breakfast was delicious, with wide choices to suit all tastes and Nick was attentive without being intrusive.
I would highly recommend this hotel for a number of reasons. It is advertised as a family hotel and it certainly is this, although we did never meet Stella! Credit must go to both Stella and Nick for making our trip as wonderful as it was, thank you both!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lawnshotel, Owner at The Lawns, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Thank you for your lovely review and staying with us at The Lawns. Hope to see you soon. Take Care Nick & Stella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2012

I have just returned from a 4 night trip to I O W. We are 2 widows who had never shared a holiday or a room but our stay at the Lawns was truly lovely, from beginning to end. We had all you could expect from an excellent hotel with the warmth and unobtrusive care one would want at a great B&B. Nick even managed to find my lost mobile phone! Our sunny,large,comfortable,modern, well furnished and decorated en suite room was cleaned to perfection every day and the breakfasts were scrumptious. Sandown was not my preferred location but we had easy motoring access to lots of lovely places and above all 4 great nights'sleep in a quiet,secure and very pleasant environment. If you want excellent value and a great stay, look no further than Nick and Stella's excellently managed Lawns Hotel.

Room Tip: People with mobility issues can have their needs met with a specially equipped ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolxmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lawnshotel, Owner at The Lawns, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Thank you for your review Ladies (Personal joke). Thank you Carol & Joanne. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. See you soon. Kind Regards Nick, Stella & Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed here during our short break on the IOW a couple of weeks ago. We had a very warm welcome and were recommended some great place to eat. Our room was lovely, very clean and quiet, with a good view. The breakfast was really nice, I had something different each day and all were equally as nice. We were very comfortable here and the family were very friendly. I would definately stay here again and recommend to others!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lawnshotel, Owner at The Lawns, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Thank you Sophie for your lovely review. All the best Nick, Stella & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.3 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#11 of 29 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Belmore B&B
The Belmore B&B
#2 of 30 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bell Lodge
The Bell Lodge
#1 of 30 in Sandown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lawns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lawns

Property: The Lawns
Address: 72 Broadway, Sandown PO36 9AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lawns 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect to “relax and unwind” at The Lawns.Built in 1865 as a gentleman’s residenceThe Lawns is situated in a pleasant areaof Sandown within a short walk of all local amenities. With a personalised welcome for all guests The Lawns features 13 bright en-suite rooms, comfortably furnished with the modern traveller in mind. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lawns Hotel Sandown
The Lawns Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing