We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent in every detail.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lawns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lawns
Ranked #16 of 30 Sandown B&B and Inns
london
Level Contributor
1 review
“Excellent in every detail.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We had the pleasure of staying here for a few nights in September, everything was lovely, the rooms, the perfect breakfast, the location which was close to the train station and also close to town and also Michelle the new owner who is a perfect hostess. Well done all the staff at the lawns, we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andybLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    23
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
44
61
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed at The Lawns for 4 nights in August, the new owner Michelle had recently taken over and she is a really nice, helpful lady, who goes out of her way to ensure the guests are well accommodated for. The rooms were clean, well serviced and had everything you need for a comfortable stay. It has a good size car park too. The breakfasts are freshly cooked, using good quality produce. The staff are attentive and very polite. I would highly recommend The Lawns to anyone reading this review. It's in a central location in Sandown with plenty to do and the Isle of Wight is a great holiday place. I would definitely stay here again should the opportunity arise. Good luck Michelle, hope all your plans come to fruition. Moira & Nigel (Saudi Arabia)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moira L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
169 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Thank you Michelle, the new owner, for a first class welcome with a cup of tea and biscuits Also a big thank you to Will for ensuring hubby's bacon was really crispy every morning and to Lisett for looking after our room for us. If you are looking for fantastic accommodation, brilliant breakfasts, friendly and helpful staff with nothing too much trouble then you will enjoy staying at The Lawns. Good luck with your new venture Michelle.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meandmybloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

This was our first time on the Isle of White and we couldn't have chosen a better guest house or location. Our room was great, the lounge/bar was a comfortable place to relax with a drink and the restaurant area where breakfast is served was light and airy. Breakfast was generous, setting us up for a full day of being out and about on the island. Michelle, the owner, was a fabulous host and we would definitely stay here again!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CareerJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at The Lawns. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here. The warm welcome, the comfortable rooms and the delicious breakfasts made for a memorable stay and we shall definitely be visiting again. The Lawns is a great base from which to explore the Isle of Wight and offers a peaceful setting to relax at the end of the day.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Marky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitchurch, Shropshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed at the Lawns for three nights recently.We had such a warm and friendly welcome from Michelle the new owner, a comfy settee, pot of tea and biscuits before being shown to our room. Our double room was spacious with a view over the garden and to the sea. Crisp white bed linen and lovely white fluffy towells in the spotlessly clean ensuite. Breakfast to die for just a pity she didn't do evening meals!! Loads of parking and the location is such that you can leave your car and quite easily walk to the shops and beach in 3 to 4 minutes. The hotel even has an 'honesty' bar (unmanned and you are trusted to write down what you have had from the bar which is then added to your bill) handy for a night cap after you've walked back after having dinner in the town. This really is an ideal hotel/BnB to stay while visiting the lovely Isle of Wight.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crossx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dulverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

We chose this hotel in Sandown for a short IOW break mainly on the previous Tripadvisor comments, and we were not dissapointed. We were welcomed by the owner Nick who offered us a hot drink in the lounge, and after which he carried our bags into our room.

The bedroom and bathroom were both very clean and well presented, though I did find the corner sink a little small (room 3). The Breakfast room was very well decorated and light with a great selection of fresh fruits, yoghurts and cereals to choose from, plus a cooked breakfast if you wanted it.

All in all, just what we were looking for. A clean hotel with friendly staff and at a decent price. We found that so many of the larger hotels on the IOW look very run down from the outside, and judging from many Tripadvisor reviews are rather run down inside too. So, a good choice for anyone wanting a good place to stay in Sandown.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard_BEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lawnshotel, Owner at The Lawns, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Many thanks Richard for your review. It was a pleasure and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind Regards Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Belmore B&B
The Belmore B&B
#3 of 30 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westfield Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lawns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lawns

Property: The Lawns
Address: 72 Broadway, Sandown PO36 9AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lawns 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect to “relax and unwind” at The Lawns.Built in 1865 as a gentleman’s residenceThe Lawns is situated in a pleasant areaof Sandown within a short walk of all local amenities. With a personalised welcome for all guests The Lawns features 13 bright en-suite rooms, comfortably furnished with the modern traveller in mind. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lawns Hotel Sandown
The Lawns Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing