We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience”
Review of The Lawns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lawns
Ranked #21 of 31 Sandown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This hotel is not what I would call 4 star really. The decor and the quality of service was more like 3 star. The food wasn't to my taste and we had to wait some time for breakfast each morning but I could forgive that. The thing that made our stay poor was the way the booking was organised.

I was told the deposit was taken out of my account some time prior to the holiday and then on the last day (on checking out) was told the deposit had not been taken after all and in fact only 77p had been taken! This meant on leaving the hotel I was £77 down on where I thought I'd be. The management didn't see fit to tell me that my deposit had not been taken when I was told it had. No apology, in fact, a junior member of staff was sent to tell me the bad news.

I would not stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank sally6820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed at The Lawns with our three sons for a few nights and wish it could have been longer. The staff were great, rooms spacious and immaculate and breakfast fab! A lovely place to stay and we would most definitely stay here again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CovertCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

A big thank you to Michelle the owner and all her staff. Stayed here for 3 nights in June, was welcomed with a lovely cup of tea and cake. The room was fantastic, very clean with everything you needed to make your stay good. Breakfast was lush. Michelle was very helpful and went out of her way to ensure her guests were comfortable. Will stay again most definitely.

Room Tip: Room 4 is a delux room with pleanty of space, located on the first floor. You can see the sea from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

A friend and I stayed at The Lawns for 3 nights in early June. We shared a lovely twin room that looked out over the garden and, being higher up, gave us a view of the sea. The railway station, town and beach are all within easy walking distance. Breakfast was very generous with lots of choice and the service we received was friendly and efficient. All in all, a delightful place to stay. Clean, fresh, hospitable and well organised. Thanks Michelle! We hope to return later in the year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

When no one else would book 1 night because of the bestiful, you did and we were very happy with the accommodation as we found it very clean and tidy. We booked the family room which had plenty of space for all of us. Breakfast was excellent. Hospitality was also excellent. Would we stay here again , definitely.

Room Tip: Family room was very light and peaceful as it was at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skoorb23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We had the pleasure of staying here for a few nights in September, everything was lovely, the rooms, the perfect breakfast, the location which was close to the train station and also close to town and also Michelle the new owner who is a perfect hostess. Well done all the staff at the lawns, we will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andybLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed at The Lawns for 4 nights in August, the new owner Michelle had recently taken over and she is a really nice, helpful lady, who goes out of her way to ensure the guests are well accommodated for. The rooms were clean, well serviced and had everything you need for a comfortable stay. It has a good size car park too. The breakfasts are freshly cooked, using good quality produce. The staff are attentive and very polite. I would highly recommend The Lawns to anyone reading this review. It's in a central location in Sandown with plenty to do and the Isle of Wight is a great holiday place. I would definitely stay here again should the opportunity arise. Good luck Michelle, hope all your plans come to fruition. Moira & Nigel (Saudi Arabia)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moira L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.2 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
746 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#11 of 29 in Sandown
451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Westfield
The Westfield
#4 of 31 in Sandown
134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
#14 of 29 in Sandown
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lawns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lawns

Address: 72 Broadway, Sandown PO36 9AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Sandown
Price Range: £45 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lawns 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect to “relax and unwind” at The Lawns.Built in 1865 as a gentleman’s residenceThe Lawns is situated in a pleasant areaof Sandown within a short walk of all local amenities. With a personalised welcome for all guests The Lawns features 13 bright en-suite rooms, comfortably furnished with the modern traveller in mind. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lawns Hotel Sandown
The Lawns Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing