We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My 1st Tuna Steak”
Review of Legends

Legends
Ranked #10 of 54 Restaurants in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$25
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, View, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My 1st Tuna Steak”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Great food... great service & welcoming... great price! Waitress was great fun & a laugh.. great theme and very clean

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    80
    30
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, England
Level Contributor
88 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Friendly and accomodating with a stunning view”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I was in Sandown this week as a lone traveller and needed to eat out. I visited Legends on Wednesday and was shown straight to a table looking out to sea. I was born and grew up in Sandown and having left forty years ago this is the view I miss most. Off to a good start! The Chicken New Yorker (Hunter's Chicken in most places) was tender and very tasty with a lovely smoky barbecue sauce and smoked bacon. The coleslaw and salad were good too. Fries are fries unless dire and these were fries. Then the dessert - oh my goodness I shouldn't have! Waffles with chocolate sauce, chocolate covered raisins, marshmallows and ice cream (changed to vanilla from chocolate as requested). A good coffee, a friendly chat with the owner and I was well fed and happy.

Needing another meal on Thursday I went back to Legends again. And I was greeted with welcoming smiles of recognition and very good service. I wanted a meal from the lunch menu and this was served to me with no problem at all at 8pm. Delicious is was too - see photo of my Surf 'ploughmans'. No dessert or coffee tonight but the same friendly atmosphere - and the same table looking over the sea which turned pink as the sun set on the other side of town.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SharynF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Helpful staff”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Ordered rack of ribs/chicken it was massive suggest you do not have a starter before this meal or share it. All food we ordered was cooked / presented well staff were mostly young but all very smartly dressed, well spoken and helpful.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Best steak ever”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We have visited this restaurant 3 times over the years and every time it is brilliant. Will definitely return next time we are on the Island

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveLisaHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome food”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Didnt dislike anything. Everything was excellent, staff, food and atmosphere. I would definatley go back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheSilvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Legends also viewed

Sandown, Isle of Wight
Sandown, Isle of Wight
 
Sandown, Isle of Wight
Sandown, Isle of Wight
 
Sandown, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Legends? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing