We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing quality - cheap and cheerful?”
Review of Merrie Garden

Merrie Garden
Ranked #21 of 54 Restaurants in Sandown
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sandown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Disappointing quality - cheap and cheerful?”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have visited this establishment a few times recently mostly for convenience and unfortunately the quality of the food still leaves a lot to be desired. The vegetables appeared to be cooked frozen ones, not fresh. In their defence I can only say that the staff were very attentive when we arrived, but in my opinion this establishment needs new chefs and MUST use fresh vegetables.

We won't be going back during the summer but may try it again in the autumn to see if any improvements have taken place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valerie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MerrieGardenIOW, Relief Assistant Manager at Merrie Garden, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback we deeply appricate it, we will try to make the suggestion you have put forward happen so that when you return you deeply enjoy your visit wanting to return as soon as possible thank you again, look forward to seeing you soon.
All of Us at the Merrie Gardens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    168
    96
    89
    106
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“What it says on the can.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

As the saying goes. It does what it says it will. Merrie gardens sets is stall out and fully delivers. Very cheap meals but big portions. 20 onion rings and choice of dips. Great rotisserie chicken and gammon and very up market desserts. The teas and coffees are better than most coffee shop chains and a lot more reasonable. Service very good. Staff very friendly.
Give it a go . value it fire what it is.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charlotte056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MerrieGardenIOW, Relief Assistant Manager at Merrie Garden, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback on us here at the Merrie Gardens, we are very glad that you enjoyed your visit. We also love the desserts, our favourite at the mintue is Blackcurrant and Lemon Pudding.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

All at the Merrie Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventnor, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We hadn't trued this place yet and were out and looking for a place to grab a bite. We were so impressed! Truth be told, we really didn't have the highest of hopes, but we were certainly oroved wrong. The service was attentive and cheerful and the seating was comfortable.
I had a chicken burger with cheese and pesto and my husband had a huge hamburger. Each came with a huge amount of fries and onion rings and were absolutely delicious. We certainly will be back and the best thing is that it is close to home!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MerrieGardenIOW, Relief Assistant Manager at Merrie Garden, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback, we love to hear that you have enjoyed yourself here at the Merrie Garden :)
we will make sure that this message is passed on to all here, so that they can see that are making your experince enjoyable :)
We look forward to seeing you again very soon, possible to try some of our delicous Rotisserie Chicken, We all highly reccomend the BBQ Rotisserie Chicken very yummy.

Thanks again, All at the Merrie Garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanklin, United Kingdom
1 review
“WISHED WE STAYED AT HOME”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have supported this place since it opened. Even though there has been plenty of times the waiting has been excessive. Not all out meals have been great but nothing really to moan about. Yesterdays meal however was a whole different ball game! The worst meal I have ever had. Veg lasagne (straight out of the microwave) it was just like eating a mouthful of basil! Wont be back

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb522014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MerrieGardenIOW, Relief Assistant Manager at Merrie Garden, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for feedback, we are very sorry that we did not meet our standards on this occasion. We would love to discuss matters further with you, so we are able to improve the Veg Lsagne with your feedback on the proudct. Please feel free to contact us on 01983 405 997 just ask for Alice, thank you again for your feedback looking forward to hearing from you.

All at the Merrie Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Cowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very, very slow service.”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I drive past this pub/restaurant regularly and have often thought it looks nice. Finally gave it a try today with my family but was very disappointed! We came after the lunchtime rush at about 2:30. There were a number of empty tables and no wait to be seated. The interior of the pub is in keeping with its external appearance; new, clean, well laid out etc. The staff are friendly and the high chair we received for our son was the best and cleanest I have ever seen! Our drinks order was taken immediately and all looked very promising. Although the bar was quiet and well staffed our drinks only arrived after we reminded staff that we had been waiting for over 15 minutes. Our starters came from the kitchen fairly quickly but the main courses took over an hour! Far too long to wait especially with young children. It would have been better customer service to advise of the possible delay on our arrival rather than leaving us unattended at our table for an hour. We discovered that crayons and pictures for colouring are available to distract hungry children but none were offered. We weren't even asked if we wanted more drinks during this time. Even paying the bill was slow! First the servers tablet computer crashed then three different payment terminals were needed as there was some kind of 'connection' problem with their network! Unfortunately for the Merrie Garden, there are pubs and restaurants on the island serving better food faster!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MerrieGardenIOW, Relief Assistant Manager at Merrie Garden, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for feeback, we are very sorry that you felt you recieved bad service from us, we deeply aplogise for this as our aim is to be the best around. We would love to discuss matters further with you if you would like you can call us on 01983 405 997 just ask for Alice, we look forward to hearing from you soon. Thank you again for the feedback you have given us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Merrie Garden also viewed

Sandown, Isle of Wight
Sandown, Isle of Wight
 
Newchurch, Sandown
Sandown, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Merrie Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing