We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit”
Review of Merrie Garden

Merrie Garden
Ranked #20 of 58 Restaurants in Sandown
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Excellent food + setting. Friendly staff. Shame there is a breakdown of communication between the kitchen & waiting staff. Very long waiting time after ordering food and when plates were cleared, ordered desserts were completely forgotten. 1.5 hrs for a 1 course meal + drink are unacceptable.

Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MerrieGardenIOW, Relief Assistant Manager at Merrie Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback, we are very sorry that it took far too long for your meals to come out. we would love to discuss matters further with you, if you would like to contact us on 01983 405 997 just ask for Alice.
we thank you again in advance for your feedback, looking forward to seeing you again in the near furture all at the Merrie Gardens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

584 - 588 of 744 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We gave this restaurant a try and was pleased all round with the Service & Food. I am very supprised as we went here 3 times in one week during or stay in Shanklin. The reviews seem a bit harsh on here as we never had any problems nor could see that anyone else had any to complain about.

We would go back again when we next visit the Island :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MerrieGardenIOW, Relief Assistant Manager at Merrie Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback, we are very glad that you enjoyed your holiday to the Isle of Wight as well as your visits to us in the process, thank you for your lovely feedback.
look forward to seeing you again some time in the near furture for your next holiday : )

All at the Merrie Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have visited this establishment a few times recently mostly for convenience and unfortunately the quality of the food still leaves a lot to be desired. The vegetables appeared to be cooked frozen ones, not fresh. In their defence I can only say that the staff were very attentive when we arrived, but in my opinion this establishment needs new chefs and MUST use fresh vegetables.

We won't be going back during the summer but may try it again in the autumn to see if any improvements have taken place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Valerie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MerrieGardenIOW, Relief Assistant Manager at Merrie Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback we deeply appricate it, we will try to make the suggestion you have put forward happen so that when you return you deeply enjoy your visit wanting to return as soon as possible thank you again, look forward to seeing you soon.
All of Us at the Merrie Gardens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

As the saying goes. It does what it says it will. Merrie gardens sets is stall out and fully delivers. Very cheap meals but big portions. 20 onion rings and choice of dips. Great rotisserie chicken and gammon and very up market desserts. The teas and coffees are better than most coffee shop chains and a lot more reasonable. Service very good. Staff very friendly.
Give it a go . value it fire what it is.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank charlotte056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MerrieGardenIOW, Relief Assistant Manager at Merrie Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback on us here at the Merrie Gardens, we are very glad that you enjoyed your visit. We also love the desserts, our favourite at the mintue is Blackcurrant and Lemon Pudding.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

All at the Merrie Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We hadn't trued this place yet and were out and looking for a place to grab a bite. We were so impressed! Truth be told, we really didn't have the highest of hopes, but we were certainly oroved wrong. The service was attentive and cheerful and the seating was comfortable.
I had a chicken burger with cheese and pesto and my husband had a huge hamburger. Each came with a huge amount of fries and onion rings and were absolutely delicious. We certainly will be back and the best thing is that it is close to home!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MerrieGardenIOW, Relief Assistant Manager at Merrie Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you so much for your feedback, we love to hear that you have enjoyed yourself here at the Merrie Garden :)
we will make sure that this message is passed on to all here, so that they can see that are making your experince enjoyable :)
We look forward to seeing you again very soon, possible to try some of our delicous Rotisserie Chicken, We all highly reccomend the BBQ Rotisserie Chicken very yummy.

Thanks again, All at the Merrie Garden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Merrie Garden also viewed

Ryde, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 
Sandown, Isle of Wight
Newchurch, Sandown
 

Been to Merrie Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing